We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and location for Carmel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5th And San Carlos, P.O. Box 3574, Carmel, CA 93921-3574   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #15 of 21 hotels in Carmel
Santa Rosa, California, Usa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great value and location for Carmel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, close to restaurants and shops and a manageable walk to the beach. We stayed in the King Suite, which is great, with a very comfortable place to hang out in the living room. Hotel staff is very nice, people at the front desk could be a little friendlier. They aren't rude, just not real friendly compared to some other places we've stayed in Carmel. But overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Denise, We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us! We pride ourselves on our beautiful and clean rooms and love that this made such a great impression for you. We hope you make another trip to Carmel so you can experience everything else we have at the hotel.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    141
    57
    17
    6
See reviews for
108
155
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Carmel was busy, but this hotel has a vacancy. Reception staff were very nice and helpful, and made us feel valued. We had a suite which was very large with 2 bathrooms & separate sitting room. The sitting room has a gas fire, but take care as my husband singed his eyebrows lighting it ( more than likely his own fault)! The bed was good, but the rooms were dated with pine furniture.... This hotel could do with updating really, but is comfortable, has free parking and WIFI & best if all is very convenient.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights travelling down through California and only wish it could have been longer. Hotel is typical motel type but clean, tidy and the location is just wonderful. Negative point is that there is no air-con, so if you hit a hot spell, the room would not be comfortable. We were also in a section at the back of the hotel over the parking lot and this meant you had to cart suitcases upstairs etc but this is only a minor point. Very central and within walking distance of everything in town - restaurants, shops, beach etc. A continental breakfast was supplied in a separate, small room adjacent to the hotel. It was a bit 'untidy' when we got there but a lady appeared soon after and tidied things up and replenished stocks etc. Down side was room was sweltering (no air con) and the sun was blazing in - even with the door wedged open - maybe the management could do something about this? Otherwise, for a free breakfast it was fine. Loved Carmel and only hope we can return someday - would we stay here again. Definitely

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The swivel chair was broken. The room shorted out and apparently had a history of doing so. The room had a chemical odor - probably a cleanser of some sort. I would have looked elsewhere if I hadn't prepaid.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Manager at BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
ear Guest,

We appreciate your review on Trip Advisor; also we would like to thank you for sharing your experience in our Best Western Carmel's Townhouse Lodge with our future guests.

Our guests’ observations are very important for us, because thanks to your notes we can learn, know about your experience and improve our service.

We regret if we did not impressed you with some of our services, we assure you this is not a common situation in our Lodge, and in no way represents the commitment with our valuable guests.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you again, to change your first impression and make you live the real Best Western Carmel's Townhouse Lodge experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This was a great place to stay. The rooms and bathrooms were super clean and spacious.
Quick Breakfast (yogurt, banana, danish, waffle machine, coffee, juice) was included but its kind of a small space. They were accommodating for rooms (but I wish they took pets! - they don't). Beds are comfy, but pillows and sheets could use updating. I didn't like the shampoo/cond./lotion in the room, it dried me out. I didn't see an elevator, but there are only two floors, from the outside it looks like an old 'motel'. Parking was free, but there wasn't enough spaces so we parked right on the street, which was fine. Everything in Carmel is so close (restaurants, beach, and shopping) within short walking distance to this hotel, which I loved!

Usually I like to stay in 3 or 4 star/diamond hotels, but I needed a place last minute. They chose very contemporary nice decor for the rooms that made me feel very comfortable in a nice room, so I would definitely recommend this, especially for the price, if you are looking for a very nice room in Carmel, inexpensive, with breakfast, and close to everything. They exceeded my expectations. Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Manager at BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

First, we would like to thank you for your preference at Best Western Carmel's Townhouse Lodge

We greatly appreciate all of your kind words and we are thrilled to know that you had such an amazing time here at out lodge, it is always a great pleasure knowing that we exceeded your expectations and that we were able to create this unique and memorable experience.

It is an honor for us to read you enjoyed our facilities we offer, It is thanks to our excellent staff that we are able to accomplish our goal, the total satisfaction of our guests.

Thank you again for your value review and for visiting us and we hope to have the privilege to host you once again in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I booked a suite to share with my dad and was incredibly disappointed. Usually a suite is arranged so that you enter into a common room and the bedroom is accessible via an interior door. Here, the outer door opened into the bedroom and there were glass-paneled french doors (no curtains) leading into an 8'x10' space with a fold-out couch, two chairs, a coffee table, and a side table. All the furniture made it feel cramped and the fold-out couch was very uncomfortable. The suite was also right next to the pool on the same level so the room had a very strong odor of chlorine as well. The parking lot spaces are incredibly small. The continental breakfast was adequate. Front desk staff were all polite but ultimately didn't care because I'd booked through Travelocity. So I learned two things: avoid Best Western hotels (based on another bad experience on the same trip) and avoid making hotel reservations through a third party.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Manager at BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
ear Guest,

We appreciate your review on Trip Advisor; also we would like to thank you for sharing your experience in our Best Western Carmel's Townhouse Lodge with our future guests.

Our guests’ observations are very important for us, because thanks to your notes we can learn, know about your experience and improve our service, your comments have been sent to the departments involved in order to verify our process and take the proper measures.

We regret if we did not impressed you with some of our services, we assure you this is not a common situation in our Lodge, and in no way represents the commitment with our valuable guests.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you again, to change your first impression and make you live the real Best Western Carmel's Townhouse Lodge experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Having only two days in Carmel, it was great to be able to be right in the heart of town. We could walk everywhere and leave the car parked. This property is older; but beautifully maintained. Our room was small; but cozy with very comfortable beds.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Manager at BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

First, we would like to thank you for your preference at Best Western Carmel's Townhouse Lodge

We greatly appreciate all of your kind words and we are thrilled to know that you had such an amazing time here at out lodge, it is always a great pleasure knowing that we exceeded your expectations and that we were able to create this unique and memorable experience.

It is an honor for us to read you enjoyed our facilities we offer, It is thanks to our excellent staff that we are able to accomplish our goal, the total satisfaction of our guests.

Thank you again for your value review and for visiting us and we hope to have the privilege to host you once again in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge

Address: 5th And San Carlos, P.O. Box 3574, Carmel, CA 93921-3574
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Carmel
#14 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Motel located in the heart of village, 2 blocks from shops, galleries & Ocean Avenue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Carmel`s Town House Hotel Carmel
Carmel Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.