We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All about the location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5th And San Carlos, P.O. Box 3574, Carmel, CA 93921-3574   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Cheshire, UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“All about the location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights travelling down through California and only wish it could have been longer. Hotel is typical motel type but clean, tidy and the location is just wonderful. Negative point is that there is no air-con, so if you hit a hot spell, the room would not be comfortable. We were also in a section at the back of the hotel over the parking lot and this meant you had to cart suitcases upstairs etc but this is only a minor point. Very central and within walking distance of everything in town - restaurants, shops, beach etc. A continental breakfast was supplied in a separate, small room adjacent to the hotel. It was a bit 'untidy' when we got there but a lady appeared soon after and tidied things up and replenished stocks etc. Down side was room was sweltering (no air con) and the sun was blazing in - even with the door wedged open - maybe the management could do something about this? Otherwise, for a free breakfast it was fine. Loved Carmel and only hope we can return someday - would we stay here again. Definitely

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    156
    58
    19
    7
See reviews for
123
167
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The swivel chair was broken. The room shorted out and apparently had a history of doing so. The room had a chemical odor - probably a cleanser of some sort. I would have looked elsewhere if I hadn't prepaid.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Manager at BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
ear Guest,

We appreciate your review on Trip Advisor; also we would like to thank you for sharing your experience in our Best Western Carmel's Townhouse Lodge with our future guests.

Our guests’ observations are very important for us, because thanks to your notes we can learn, know about your experience and improve our service.

We regret if we did not impressed you with some of our services, we assure you this is not a common situation in our Lodge, and in no way represents the commitment with our valuable guests.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you again, to change your first impression and make you live the real Best Western Carmel's Townhouse Lodge experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This was a great place to stay. The rooms and bathrooms were super clean and spacious.
Quick Breakfast (yogurt, banana, danish, waffle machine, coffee, juice) was included but its kind of a small space. They were accommodating for rooms (but I wish they took pets! - they don't). Beds are comfy, but pillows and sheets could use updating. I didn't like the shampoo/cond./lotion in the room, it dried me out. I didn't see an elevator, but there are only two floors, from the outside it looks like an old 'motel'. Parking was free, but there wasn't enough spaces so we parked right on the street, which was fine. Everything in Carmel is so close (restaurants, beach, and shopping) within short walking distance to this hotel, which I loved!

Usually I like to stay in 3 or 4 star/diamond hotels, but I needed a place last minute. They chose very contemporary nice decor for the rooms that made me feel very comfortable in a nice room, so I would definitely recommend this, especially for the price, if you are looking for a very nice room in Carmel, inexpensive, with breakfast, and close to everything. They exceeded my expectations. Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Manager at BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

First, we would like to thank you for your preference at Best Western Carmel's Townhouse Lodge

We greatly appreciate all of your kind words and we are thrilled to know that you had such an amazing time here at out lodge, it is always a great pleasure knowing that we exceeded your expectations and that we were able to create this unique and memorable experience.

It is an honor for us to read you enjoyed our facilities we offer, It is thanks to our excellent staff that we are able to accomplish our goal, the total satisfaction of our guests.

Thank you again for your value review and for visiting us and we hope to have the privilege to host you once again in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I booked a suite to share with my dad and was incredibly disappointed. Usually a suite is arranged so that you enter into a common room and the bedroom is accessible via an interior door. Here, the outer door opened into the bedroom and there were glass-paneled french doors (no curtains) leading into an 8'x10' space with a fold-out couch, two chairs, a coffee table, and a side table. All the furniture made it feel cramped and the fold-out couch was very uncomfortable. The suite was also right next to the pool on the same level so the room had a very strong odor of chlorine as well. The parking lot spaces are incredibly small. The continental breakfast was adequate. Front desk staff were all polite but ultimately didn't care because I'd booked through Travelocity. So I learned two things: avoid Best Western hotels (based on another bad experience on the same trip) and avoid making hotel reservations through a third party.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Manager at BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
ear Guest,

We appreciate your review on Trip Advisor; also we would like to thank you for sharing your experience in our Best Western Carmel's Townhouse Lodge with our future guests.

Our guests’ observations are very important for us, because thanks to your notes we can learn, know about your experience and improve our service, your comments have been sent to the departments involved in order to verify our process and take the proper measures.

We regret if we did not impressed you with some of our services, we assure you this is not a common situation in our Lodge, and in no way represents the commitment with our valuable guests.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you again, to change your first impression and make you live the real Best Western Carmel's Townhouse Lodge experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Having only two days in Carmel, it was great to be able to be right in the heart of town. We could walk everywhere and leave the car parked. This property is older; but beautifully maintained. Our room was small; but cozy with very comfortable beds.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Manager at BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

First, we would like to thank you for your preference at Best Western Carmel's Townhouse Lodge

We greatly appreciate all of your kind words and we are thrilled to know that you had such an amazing time here at out lodge, it is always a great pleasure knowing that we exceeded your expectations and that we were able to create this unique and memorable experience.

It is an honor for us to read you enjoyed our facilities we offer, It is thanks to our excellent staff that we are able to accomplish our goal, the total satisfaction of our guests.

Thank you again for your value review and for visiting us and we hope to have the privilege to host you once again in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasil
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a two bedroom room very close to the stairs. A bit noisy because teenagers going up and down for a period of the night, but nothing that would make me move to another hotel. Breakfast included and ok. Very clean. Clean staff very helpful. Easy check in an check out. Very good localization. Would stay there again for sure.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Manager at BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

First, we would like to thank you for your preference at Best Western Carmel's Townhouse Lodge

We greatly appreciate all of your kind words and we are thrilled to know that you had such an amazing time here at out lodge, it is always a great pleasure knowing that we exceeded your expectations and that we were able to create this unique and memorable experience.

It is an honor for us to read you enjoyed our facilities we offer, It is thanks to our excellent staff that we are able to accomplish our goal, the total satisfaction of our guests.

Thank you again for your value review and for visiting us and we hope to have the privilege to host you once again in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thundersley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Good location to explore the town of Carmel as all in walking distant. Motel room was clean and a fair size, but it wasn't the "best" Best Western I've stayed at for the price! Cost well over £100.00 for the night, also discovered Carmel is an expensive area for eating too! So visited the local Deli in the town which had a range of lovely breads & salads. Breakfast was inc. and the food offered was good, but the small room which only sat about 18 people was packed out - obviously went in at the wrong time - 8am!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Manager at BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

First, we would like to thank you for your preference at Best Western Carmel's Townhouse Lodge

It is always a great pleasure knowing that we exceeded your expectations and that we were able to create this unique and memorable experience.

Thank you again for your value review and for visiting us and we hope to have the privilege to host you once again in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge

Address: 5th And San Carlos, P.O. Box 3574, Carmel, CA 93921-3574
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Carmel
#11 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#13 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Motel located in the heart of village, 2 blocks from shops, galleries & Ocean Avenue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Carmel`s Town House Hotel Carmel
Carmel Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.