We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5th And San Carlos, P.O. Box 3574, Carmel, CA 93921-3574   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Solomons, MD
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Convenient Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Knowing we only had one night to spend in Carmel enroute from San Francisco to San Diego, my wife and I searched the internet at the last minute to find a charming B&B in hopes of making our short stay worthwhile. In spite of the high ratings awarded to some B&B's, most of them were either beyond our price range, full, or had received some negative comments interspersed with otherwise high ratings. We were unsure of whether to risk paying top dollar for a B&B that could potentially have a disappointing room and/or meal for the price. We felt that the BW, while not fancy, was a known quantity with a convenient location and at a price that, while higher than average BW prices, was reasonable by Carmel standards. The room lacked special ambiance but was clean and convenient to the town itself, which more than made up for the ambiance we were hoping to find. In short, we were pleased with the predictably basic value that met our expected needs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Wow, thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic and incredibly detailed response!
It is our pleasure to acknowledge that we have helped you discover Carmel's with our given location and the value we are able to provide
We are very thankful for the amazing location Best Western Carmel's Townhouse Lodge has, so we work as a team to maintain the beautiful balance between our grounds and our Hotel. We will make sure to share your kind comments with our Staff.

We will be very pleased to hear that we will be welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    177
    71
    22
    9
See reviews for
142
189
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Livermore, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I came from another hotel that did not have a room with enough space for my wheelchair. Best Western had a room with plenty of room to maneuver, at a better location, and for less money. I saved $100 over the 2 nights!! The staff was friendly, the rooms clean and they had waffles for breakfast. The location was perfect with restaurants and shops within blocks. The staff went out of their way to get me the room that I needed. I wish I could give them higher recommendations then just excellent. I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
We thank you for the kind words you conveyed about our hotel. To us the most important thing is that we deliver superior customer service. In addition, to provide you with a value as our staff works very hard to try to make the guest experience as comfortable as possible. We truly appreciate your business and hope you will choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This was the best hotel we stayed in during our trip. The location is perfect for exploring Carmel's shops and visiting the beach. The room was clean, comfortable and well equipped. There is a swimming pool...useful as you're not allowed to swim at the beach!!!!
Breakfast is in a room on the corner of the hotel and at first it seems as though you are going to a separate building. The breakfast room was clean and airy and there was a good selection of food and beverages.
A big thank you to the receptionist who was very helpful and spent time suggesting places to visit and helping us get our bearings on the map.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool also overlook a refuge collecting area I believe. I was woken early by t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
We thank you for the kind words you conveyed about our hotel. To us the most important thing is that we deliver superior customer service. In addition, to provide you with a value as our staff works very hard to try to make the guest experience as comfortable as possible. We truly appreciate your business and hope you will choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Although a motel, the rooms a really lovely with lots of those extra touches! We enjoyed the convenience of the parking as we had lots of bags and the ground floor was welcome. The hotel is so close to the town it was a simple stroll to enjoy all of the festivities. The breakfast "cafe" provides an ample selection of options and offers some privacy whilst being able to watch the world go by.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
We thank you for the kind words you conveyed about our hotel. To us the most important thing is that we deliver superior customer service. In addition, to provide you with a value as our staff works very hard to try to make the guest experience as comfortable as possible. We truly appreciate your business and hope you will choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Very quiet for a motel with a parking in front the window!
The room is big and clean .
Mattress and pillows are comfortable.Towels soft and very clean.
Breakfast is served in a private room overlooking the street.so you have a feeling of a small cafe.
Convenient location to many restorants and shops .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
We thank you for the kind words you conveyed about our hotel. To us the most important thing is that we deliver superior customer service. In addition, to provide you with a value as our staff works very hard to try to make the guest experience as comfortable as possible. We truly appreciate your business and hope you will choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

They are going through renovations, but didn't realize this upon my arrival. The lobby was pretty sparce so I wasn't expecting much upon arriving to my room. Actually, I was more than a little nervous. BUT, to my surprise, the bed was extremely comfortable. The new furniture was very nice. Flat screen TV's. Bathrooms had new tile, sinks, bath tub, the works! It was elegant looking. I was pretty surprised especially after I saw the lobby. There was parking in back as well, that we didn't even know about. Overall we were very happy with our stay and what a nice surprise it was to have a newly remodeled room!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
We thank you for the kind words you conveyed about our hotel. To us the most important thing is that we deliver superior customer service. In addition, to provide you with a value as our staff works very hard to try to make the guest experience as comfortable as possible. We truly appreciate your business and hope you will choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in May for a couple of nights. The hotel was pretty booked, so the only room they had was a "accessible" room on the ground floor. They did not tell us it was accessible but we figured it out. Not a good spot right in the (on-site) parking lot. They were able to give us a nice room on a higher floor for a few dollars more the next night, so that made up for it. We have stayed off Ocean Ave. before, which we preferred, but it was still in a good location to walk to the grocery store and other places in the village. It was clean with good amenities.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge

Address: 5th And San Carlos, P.O. Box 3574, Carmel, CA 93921-3574
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Carmel
#14 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#14 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Motel located in the heart of village, 2 blocks from shops, galleries & Ocean Avenue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Carmel`s Town House Hotel Carmel
Carmel Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.