We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carmel by the Sea” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5th And San Carlos, P.O. Box 3574, Carmel, CA 93921-3574   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #15 of 21 hotels in Carmel
Bay Area, United States
1 review
“Carmel by the Sea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

They are going through renovations, but didn't realize this upon my arrival. The lobby was pretty sparce so I wasn't expecting much upon arriving to my room. Actually, I was more than a little nervous. BUT, to my surprise, the bed was extremely comfortable. The new furniture was very nice. Flat screen TV's. Bathrooms had new tile, sinks, bath tub, the works! It was elegant looking. I was pretty surprised especially after I saw the lobby. There was parking in back as well, that we didn't even know about. Overall we were very happy with our stay and what a nice surprise it was to have a newly remodeled room!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
We thank you for the kind words you conveyed about our hotel. To us the most important thing is that we deliver superior customer service. In addition, to provide you with a value as our staff works very hard to try to make the guest experience as comfortable as possible. We truly appreciate your business and hope you will choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    141
    57
    17
    6
See reviews for
108
155
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in May for a couple of nights. The hotel was pretty booked, so the only room they had was a "accessible" room on the ground floor. They did not tell us it was accessible but we figured it out. Not a good spot right in the (on-site) parking lot. They were able to give us a nice room on a higher floor for a few dollars more the next night, so that made up for it. We have stayed off Ocean Ave. before, which we preferred, but it was still in a good location to walk to the grocery store and other places in the village. It was clean with good amenities.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, United States
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My recent stay in Carmel at the Best Western Town House Lodge was okay. Hotel is clean, rooms are ok, location is very good. Hotel lacks a bit of "detail"...if the rates were a bit less, it would be just fine, but not worth the $$$. Since it was my first time in Carmel, I was unsure of where to stay. If I ever return, I would definitely check out the "Inns". Part of the "Carmel Experience" is to stay at a "cozy inn"...would be worth it to spend a little more to have that overall experience. This hotel is no frills, basic, nothing to rave about- it is a place to sleep and shower, if that is all you are looking for, it is fine.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanaway, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Location was very convenient to get around on foot to the beach, supermarket and cafes around town. The rooms were comfortable and clean, like most Best Western hotels I have been to. The pools looked great, but the weather was not warm enough for a swim.
The breakfast was standard, for a Best Western, although the breakfast room was rather tight. There were no servers on site to replenish the finished items and we had to wait for coffee refills. The manager (the man) was very friendly and attentive, but the lady there seemed rushed ( a couple of times, we had long waits at the lobby which was odd, because she finally appeared from a door behind the front desk). She only appeared after another waiting customer called the office from her cell phone (right there at the desk)
Renovations were still going on despite the ad that stated they had been completed in May, 2013 (we were there in mid July, 2013). With the Lobby still unfinished, there was nowhere to sit and no 24hr coffee.
There was no microwave in the room and so we had to toss out left over food from a nearby restaurant that we otherwise could have warmed up and eaten.
We were not impressed with our stay, but Carmel is a beautiful city to visit and we hope to be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your review on Trip Advisor; also we would like to thank you for sharing your experience in our Best Western Carmel's Townhouse Lodge with our future guests.

Our guests’ observations are very important for us, because thanks to your notes we can learn, know about your experience and improve our service, your comments have been sent to the departments involved in order to verify our process and take the proper measures.

We regret if we did not impressed you with some of our services, we assure you this is not a common situation at our hotel, and in no way represents the commitment with our valuable guests.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you again, to change your first impression and make you live the Best Western Carmel's Townhouse Lodge Experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellen, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We usually stay in a Best Western: they are clean, staff is friendly and helpful and they have the amenities that are necessary. No frills though and not much charm in this Carmel Best Western. We debated whether to splurge next time in Carmel and go to a more expensive place with a view or more charm. The BW in Seaside has these attributes but the location(for the Bach Festival) is not as convenient..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Basic hotel , room was clean, bed comfortable but zero ambiance. There is no one in the office from 10PM til 8 AM, not sure what you would do if there is an emergency because no one answered the phone either , and the voice mail was full. Breakfast was basic, breakfast room was miniscule.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This property turned out to be a good option for a recent family stay in Carmel. I would say it was cleaner than average for a Best Western & the facilities were in good shape (& I believe the rooms were recently renovated). The lobby was under renovation so it was just an empty room with a desk, but the staff was friendly. We were pleasantly surprised when we asked for a view & said that they didn't have any rooms available with a sea view, but the room they put us in did have a partial ocean view. The room got warm during sunny days (no A/C), but they provide a small fan that helps. The location is good - right in town, close to restaurants. The continental breakfast was simple but convenient. Overall a good experience.

Room Tip: Some 2nd floor rooms have partial ocean views even though they are not officially ocean view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge

Address: 5th And San Carlos, P.O. Box 3574, Carmel, CA 93921-3574
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Carmel
#14 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Motel located in the heart of village, 2 blocks from shops, galleries & Ocean Avenue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Carmel`s Town House Hotel Carmel
Carmel Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.