We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5th And San Carlos, P.O. Box 3574, Carmel, CA 93921-3574   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our stay here very much! The hotel is very centrally located to everything and is an easy walk to Ocean Avenue and the beach. Once you pull in and park, you don't need to move your car. They have a walking map at the front desk to help you locate some good restaurants and shops. Many are right around the corner from the hotel. I like that they do not allow dogs on this property because while I like dogs, I don't believe they belong in hotel rooms and this provides added piece of mind that the room is clean. The area is very quiet. You do get a bit of street noise from cars passing by outside, but I didn't find it distracting. A previous reviewer mentioned that the heater makes a low humming noise that is constant and continues even when the heater is off. We did have that noise in our room. I wasn't bothered by it, but my wife found it enough to keep her from falling asleep easily. We both travel with ear plugs and with those, she was fine. I found the noise easy to tune out. The room in general was small, but nicely decorated, clean, and comfortable. We felt very much at home there. The TV channel offerings were nice; particularly with HBO available. I would suggest that they program the TVs to remove the channels that aren't available. You can keep hitting the channel button on the remote from 1 up to 999 and you might go through 30 in a row that are just a black screen that says not available. I would take those out. The staff was nice and breakfast was basic & good. The dining area is right next to the reception desk and there are only a few tables so they can fill up fast. We only took a look at the pool, which was small, but with the ocean and beach nearby, the hotel doesn't need to have a big luxurious pool. It would be fun for kids, I'm sure. I love that the parking was free and there were no issues with parking spaces. The free in-room wifi was great and worked just as good as our own at home. All in all, I'm glad we found this property and we look forward to coming back again soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    174
    68
    21
    9
See reviews for
139
185
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Danville, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I am quite familiar with most of the motel properties in Carmel, being a former resident of the Monterey Peninsula and frequent visitor. Nowadays, typically, we stay in my old hometown, Pacific Grove, as we find it more kid friendly. This visit, we opted for a change of scenery and decided on Carmel.

Prior to booking, checked my old haunts and fell ill to sticker shock. Queen/Queen standard rooms at $249-$299, midweek…..are you kidding me!! Thought it was back to Pacific Grove, when I stumbled upon Tripadvisor reviews of the Lodge, all with varying levels of positive experience. I booked the mini-suite for one night at more than $100 less than the others.

On the surface, the property is really not up to the artsy-fartsy standard of most Carmel motels; pretty plain, really. Check in was pleasant, with manager JD Desai very accommodating and helpful. The mini-suite was updated to a nice standard, with a king bed and ensuite in room one, and two twins and ensuite in room two. Both rooms had basic cable TV and mini-refrigerators. It was very comfortable, indeed, and a more than fair value for money. The property is better than centrally located, and all the galleries, shops, restaurants, beach, etc., are within walking distance.

The motel serves a light continental breakfast, that is best taken in your room after you make your selections, as the dining area is tiny. Parking is a bit dicey, as the lot is cramped, and hard to navigate when full. I parked on the street in front of the motel overnight, and felt I was in a much better spot to not suffer door dings.

If you have to have posh, tarted up surroundings and hand carved, gold leafed signage, then this is probably not your place. If however, you want a nice comfortable room in downtown Carmel, and don’t want to spend a fortune, then I highly recommend you take a look at the Town House Lodge.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Just finished a great relaxing weekend staying here. This hotel could not have been anymore pleasing. Perfect location!!! Nice service, clean and nicely remodeled. We for sure will be returning here and for the $$ u can not beat it!

Room Tip: Room 330 was roomy and nice and quiet. Awesome parking so u can walk everywhere without driving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, CA
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I didn't want a fabulous luxury accommodation when in Carmel with my kids -- it just gets too darn expensive. The Best Western Town House Lodge is one of those places I've walked past for years when visiting Carmel and always wondered "why haven't I tried that place?" It's in a great location, has PARKING -- huge in Carmel. It's on the north side of Ocean and walkable to everything; steps from the Hog's Breath Inn, if that helps you place it.

We had a two-queen second floor room. The room was clean, updated and had a full bathroom and closet. Pool if you're crazy (who swims in Carmel?), continental breakfast if you want it. Was it kind of noisy? Sure, it's an old building. Was it the greatest place I've ever stayed in Carmel? Not by a long shot, but it was exactly what we needed. If you're looking for a great location, no-hassle parking that's clean and inexpensive, this is your place. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Second floor eliminates some street noise. FYI, garbage collection is on Thursday morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in Carmel for two nights to see the Big Sur and Monterey Peninsula. Absolutely loved Carmel town for its quaintness and unique beach town feel.

Picked the Best Western for its reasonable price and location. We were pleased with the cleanliness of the room and everything was well appointed. However, our main gripe was that the room was really quite noisy...

The heater appeared to make a constant (quite loud) humming noise even though it was turned off. We tried different settings to this, but with no avail. Additionally the ceiling was thin and we heard upstairs walking/moving around a lot, both which did disturb us sleeping.

We did enjoy our stay in Carmel and I have never had a bad experience in a Best Western, however I think if we were to stay again I would perhaps request an upstairs room for less noise than we had.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The room it self was nice and clean. We got 2 queensize beds. The hotel have a pool that we didnt use and free parking outside. The only minor thing was the breakfast that to swedish measures wasnt to big.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

After reading the other reviews, I'm not convinced I stayed in the same place. My experience was completely different. Our room (#209) had one thing going for it: the view. Drop Dead Gorgeous View and the windows opened. Unfortunately, we had to keep them opened all night long as the smell in the room was overwhelming. I had difficulty sleeping since I realized the smell was permeated throughout the blankets. I would have liked to have taken the blanket off, but the room was chilly since we had to keep the windows opened. All due to the smell. The breakfast, while included in the price, was fine if you like cereal and a tiny pastry. It is not a place to sit down; best bet is to take breakfast back to your room or the deck (which has limited seating). Parking it tight, so it's best to leave your car and walk wherever you want to go. I'll look elsewhere for a place to sleep next time I'm in Carmel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which faces west.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge

Address: 5th And San Carlos, P.O. Box 3574, Carmel, CA 93921-3574
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Carmel
#13 Family Hotel in Carmel
#14 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Motel located in the heart of village, 2 blocks from shops, galleries & Ocean Avenue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Carmel`s Town House Hotel Carmel
Carmel Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.