We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the Family” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5th And San Carlos, P.O. Box 3574, Carmel, CA 93921-3574   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #13 of 21 hotels in Carmel
Danville, CA
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great for the Family”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I didn't want a fabulous luxury accommodation when in Carmel with my kids -- it just gets too darn expensive. The Best Western Town House Lodge is one of those places I've walked past for years when visiting Carmel and always wondered "why haven't I tried that place?" It's in a great location, has PARKING -- huge in Carmel. It's on the north side of Ocean and walkable to everything; steps from the Hog's Breath Inn, if that helps you place it.

We had a two-queen second floor room. The room was clean, updated and had a full bathroom and closet. Pool if you're crazy (who swims in Carmel?), continental breakfast if you want it. Was it kind of noisy? Sure, it's an old building. Was it the greatest place I've ever stayed in Carmel? Not by a long shot, but it was exactly what we needed. If you're looking for a great location, no-hassle parking that's clean and inexpensive, this is your place. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Second floor eliminates some street noise. FYI, garbage collection is on Thursday morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    141
    54
    16
    6
See reviews for
106
155
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in Carmel for two nights to see the Big Sur and Monterey Peninsula. Absolutely loved Carmel town for its quaintness and unique beach town feel.

Picked the Best Western for its reasonable price and location. We were pleased with the cleanliness of the room and everything was well appointed. However, our main gripe was that the room was really quite noisy...

The heater appeared to make a constant (quite loud) humming noise even though it was turned off. We tried different settings to this, but with no avail. Additionally the ceiling was thin and we heard upstairs walking/moving around a lot, both which did disturb us sleeping.

We did enjoy our stay in Carmel and I have never had a bad experience in a Best Western, however I think if we were to stay again I would perhaps request an upstairs room for less noise than we had.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The room it self was nice and clean. We got 2 queensize beds. The hotel have a pool that we didnt use and free parking outside. The only minor thing was the breakfast that to swedish measures wasnt to big.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

After reading the other reviews, I'm not convinced I stayed in the same place. My experience was completely different. Our room (#209) had one thing going for it: the view. Drop Dead Gorgeous View and the windows opened. Unfortunately, we had to keep them opened all night long as the smell in the room was overwhelming. I had difficulty sleeping since I realized the smell was permeated throughout the blankets. I would have liked to have taken the blanket off, but the room was chilly since we had to keep the windows opened. All due to the smell. The breakfast, while included in the price, was fine if you like cereal and a tiny pastry. It is not a place to sit down; best bet is to take breakfast back to your room or the deck (which has limited seating). Parking it tight, so it's best to leave your car and walk wherever you want to go. I'll look elsewhere for a place to sleep next time I'm in Carmel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which faces west.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

A very nice and clean hotel, we had 214 right over the pool, 2nd floor quiet and views of the Ocean. Everyone was very friendly and Continental breakfast was fresh and free. Two blocks off Ocean and a few more blocks to the beach. Would stay again.

Room Tip: 214 & 215, 2nd floor, quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
larjoy
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We were very comfortable in this hotel! Very clean and a very close to downtown shopping(2 blocks) and Restaurants(1/2 block). We did not halve the continental breakfast.We did look at what was available and it was minimal. The eating area was very tiny. There are so many great restaurants nearby so it was not an issue with us. We left around 7a.m and went to collect our bill but was not open til 8am so was a bit disappointed there. We should have checked before. If you want brekky, it starts at the same time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancover, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We are glad we selected the Town House Lodge. The room was very comfortable, and the proprietor was very accommodating and helpful. We could easily walk to the center of the village. We tried one of the restaurant recommendations (Dametra) and were delighted with it. This was the ideal place to stay for a quiet, midweek, off-season, vacation in the Monterey area. The breakfast area was small and the choices were limited, but plenty of alternatives were nearby. We'd happily return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge

Address: 5th And San Carlos, P.O. Box 3574, Carmel, CA 93921-3574
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Carmel
#14 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Motel located in the heart of village, 2 blocks from shops, galleries & Ocean Avenue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Carmel`s Town House Hotel Carmel
Carmel Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.