We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lodging in Carmel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5th And San Carlos, P.O. Box 3574, Carmel, CA 93921-3574   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice lodging in Carmel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The room it self was nice and clean. We got 2 queensize beds. The hotel have a pool that we didnt use and free parking outside. The only minor thing was the breakfast that to swedish measures wasnt to big.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    174
    69
    21
    9
See reviews for
139
186
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

After reading the other reviews, I'm not convinced I stayed in the same place. My experience was completely different. Our room (#209) had one thing going for it: the view. Drop Dead Gorgeous View and the windows opened. Unfortunately, we had to keep them opened all night long as the smell in the room was overwhelming. I had difficulty sleeping since I realized the smell was permeated throughout the blankets. I would have liked to have taken the blanket off, but the room was chilly since we had to keep the windows opened. All due to the smell. The breakfast, while included in the price, was fine if you like cereal and a tiny pastry. It is not a place to sit down; best bet is to take breakfast back to your room or the deck (which has limited seating). Parking it tight, so it's best to leave your car and walk wherever you want to go. I'll look elsewhere for a place to sleep next time I'm in Carmel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which faces west.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

A very nice and clean hotel, we had 214 right over the pool, 2nd floor quiet and views of the Ocean. Everyone was very friendly and Continental breakfast was fresh and free. Two blocks off Ocean and a few more blocks to the beach. Would stay again.

Room Tip: 214 & 215, 2nd floor, quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
larjoy
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We were very comfortable in this hotel! Very clean and a very close to downtown shopping(2 blocks) and Restaurants(1/2 block). We did not halve the continental breakfast.We did look at what was available and it was minimal. The eating area was very tiny. There are so many great restaurants nearby so it was not an issue with us. We left around 7a.m and went to collect our bill but was not open til 8am so was a bit disappointed there. We should have checked before. If you want brekky, it starts at the same time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancover, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We are glad we selected the Town House Lodge. The room was very comfortable, and the proprietor was very accommodating and helpful. We could easily walk to the center of the village. We tried one of the restaurant recommendations (Dametra) and were delighted with it. This was the ideal place to stay for a quiet, midweek, off-season, vacation in the Monterey area. The breakfast area was small and the choices were limited, but plenty of alternatives were nearby. We'd happily return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I found this hotel through AAA and we got a great rate for President's Day weekend. We reserved a double room and it was more than enough to accommodate our family of 4. It is a tad bit tight in there but once you put away all your luggage, it's okay. They provided us with a pack 'n play for our 18 month old which was nice. I really don't like those rollaway cribs. My husband and I slept separately alternating with our 5 year old. This hotel is pretty central to a lot of shops and restaurants which was nice. It's only a few blocks walk to the beach which was also very convenient. I like that the parking was free but you should make sure to park there before 6 PM because their parking lot is small. Wifi was free and you get free continental breakfast. Don't expect too much for breakfast although it was enough to fuel us for the day's activities. The breakfast area is also in the lobby so it's pretty small but we just brought our food into our room and it was fine. The service was good. They answered all our questions and they were really helpful. I highly recommend this place if you just want a place to sleep and want to stay close to all of Carmel's restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff,it's a motel but the rooms have had an upgrade and are a great standard.
The breakfast is a typical American motel breakfast,pastries,cereal and coffee,nothing too exciting but you are not paying very much and with so many great places in Carmel to eat I wouldn't even bother eating at hotel.
It's in the centre of Carmel and great to park car and stroll around the charming town.
It's so close to Pebble Beach Golf resort which is well worth a visit for the views and lunch!
Would definitely stay here again when exploring Californian coast!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge

Address: 5th And San Carlos, P.O. Box 3574, Carmel, CA 93921-3574
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Carmel
#13 Family Hotel in Carmel
#14 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Motel located in the heart of village, 2 blocks from shops, galleries & Ocean Avenue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Carmel`s Town House Hotel Carmel
Carmel Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.