We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cool stay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5th And San Carlos, P.O. Box 3574, Carmel, CA 93921-3574   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card
Ranked #17 of 21 hotels in Carmel
Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
“A cool stay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The thermostat control was located directly above the heater. Regardless of what it was set on, the room never got above 65 degrees. There were no spare blankets in the room. The dial for the heat lamp in the bathroom spun down to zero in less than a minute. Extremely beautiful area. Close to down town. Clean facility. Off street parking but very tight spaces - true of most places in Carmel. Space to eat in the breakfast area is also very limited.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not for the incident you encountered during the stay. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. Extra blankets are available upon request.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    124
    50
    15
    6
See reviews for
95
132
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here. Rooms were very clean and right in the center to town. Parking lot right in front. The only thing is that it would be great if they could open up the breakfast before 8:00 a.m. 7:00 would be find.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Manager at BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you sharing the experience of your stay at our hotel . We are pleased that you stayed with us again during your visit to Carmel and you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable. We are very proud of our “awesome” staff and I am glad they took good care of you. We are working on our Breakfast times to be changed for an earlier start. We truly appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again. Please remember to contact the hotel directly for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Qld
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Absolutely beautiful. For the price found online and the location we could not have asked for more. Right in the middle of the village and a short walk to all shopping and dining we couldn't have asked for more. Very clean and although basic it always gave the appearance that a little extra effort was being made to make your experience a little special. Maybe it was just the all over vibe of this pretty town. Very close to dining and shopping and the room was very neat with a choice of upstairs or down. No need to worry about either (we had downstairs) as noise was not a concern.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Manager at BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for the review of our hotel and the many fine features that you pointed out. It is our goal to provide a great value in the Carmel area and I’m glad you enjoyed our clean, quality rooms and helpful staff. Our goal is to be value driven in Carmel and enhance the Carmel experience. We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again soon. Please remember to contact the hotel directly for the best rates and service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Stayed with my wife for a night in BW Carmel's Town Howse Lodge and I felt ok about it. While it may not be a memorable experience, it delivered enough value for the money and provided for a good night of rest after a long day. Carmel is a lovely place and this property is very well-located just two blocks away from the main street Ocean Ave. While breakfast may look unappealing at first, it turns out that (aside from the apples that did not do it for me) the food was quite good, including the waffle that you can bake yourself in 2 min. I did not fall in love with the complimentary water fountains, though, as I would rather buy a bottle of water in the vending machine if there was any water besides soft drinks in it. Complimentary wifi showed a bit unstable but worked really well during a good portion of the stay. Noise-wise, our room faced the parking lot like the vast majority of rooms and we experienced a noise-free stay (the city and the hotel were not very busy, though). If passing by, I would consider staying in again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Manager at BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for your recent review regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Thank you again for taking the time to give us a review. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Just arrived in Carmel and started looking for hotels. Went to Comfort Inn first but a really strong smell of curry in reception, don't get me wrong, I'm English and I love curry but this was OTT.
programmed the sat nav and off we went and found this place.
Asked for a ground floor and got a recently decorated (to a high standard) room with a spacious bathroom. Very comfy and well appointed.
Short walk to Hogs Breath restaurant and bar, which too was lovely, and very close to the centre of town and a fabulous dog friendly beach. This is the sort of place I would quite happily retire to. I'd stay again.

Room Tip: 124 is a disabled friendly room with an allocated parking space
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Manager at BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for your recent review regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Thank you again for taking the time to give us a review. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We spent two days in Carmel and to be honest, my husband wanted to stay in a cutesy boutique hotel with charm. I found an incredible deal through BW Carmel's Town House website and booked it and kept my fingers crossed. When we drove up I could tell my husband was disappointed but once he saw our room, he thought it was great. We were in the annex by the pool with covered parking for our car. Very quiet and private. Our room was spacious and very comfortable. We were literally steps from everything. As other posters have said, the breakfast area is small but I had a delicious waffle one morning while my husband played golf and had the place to myself. The raisin bran tasted old, probably no one eats it and it gets stale. But we didn't stay there for the breakfast, there are too many cute cafes to try. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. We will definitely go back!

Room Tip: Definitely the annex that fronts on Dolores ~ covered parking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Manager at BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for your recent review regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Thank you again for taking the time to give us a review. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge

Also Known As:
Best Western Carmel`s Town House Hotel
Best Western Carmel`s Town House Hotel Carmel
Best Western Carmel
Carmel Best Western
Address: 5th And San Carlos, P.O. Box 3574, Carmel, CA 93921-3574
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Motel located in the heart of village, 2 blocks from shops, galleries & Ocean Avenue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Best Western, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.