We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5th And San Carlos, P.O. Box 3574, Carmel, CA 93921-3574   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Sacramento
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

More like a nice hotel than a motel. Very clean and modern rooms. Walking distance to everything! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    190
    78
    24
    10
See reviews for
156
201
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
147 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This Best Western has been refurbished well. The room was quite small but well-appointed: comfortable bed, flat-screen TV, refrigerator, coffee maker. Lighting could be better. Great shower. Front desk person was helpful and provided restaurant advice. Location is ideal - only a block away from Ocean, the main street through the town. A few downsides: small parking lot and very small breakfast area. I left before breakfast was served - it didn't start until 8:00 am, which seems a bit late. In good weather, use the sundeck on the second floor.

Room Tip: There are no particularly good views at the hotel. For quieter room, ask to be away from the sun dec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Great little motel for a good value –clean, quiet rooms and great location. Check-in was easy and the person at the front desk was friendly and helpful. Once we parked, we never needed our car –the hotel is walking distance to everything in town (and it is a great little town).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

The overall feeling of this place just wasn't good. It is a redone old motel. They seem to have tried -- but to us, room felt dark (walls, carpeting, furniture), not inviting. Room had unpleasant old/urine odor. Some sort of machinery sound all night (as if furnace or generator running or something). Only six seats in breakfast area. Insufficient parking (we parked on street). Great location, though.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Manager at BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

We are in a process of building a new breakfast area which will address the seating issue however it is necessary to prompt our staff if you experienced an incident like urine odor because none of our rooms smell a such and our past reviews evidently acknowledge that.

We sincerely hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel and found it to be a great value. The room was spacious and the bed comfortable. The location in town was great and we walked everywhere. The staff at the hotel was extremely friendly and went out of their way to help us with a few special requests. We had a great stay and will certainly return!

Room Tip: It can be a little chilly at night on the coast, so don't hesitate to ask for another blanket fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

You are paying top '"best western" dollars to stay at this one in Carmel. That being said, it was very clean, with modern rooms, free wifi and a basic breakfast where everything came out of a box. If you can get passed the fact that it's tight quarters(as everthing tends to be in Carmel), including the shower stall, then you'll probably be fine. You can even see the bay from their balcony...nice if the fog is gone. Very close to the "action" and free parking.

Room Tip: Hard to escape the noise level and the paper thin rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012 via mobile

We got a very nice surprise from this hotel.

It was fantastic, clean, homely, central to everything.

We like our 4-5 star hotels and we were not disappointed with this at all.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
1.4 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#11 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,285 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#17 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 466 reviews
1.5 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#20 of 23 in Carmel
3.5 of 5 stars 332 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#7 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge

Address: 5th And San Carlos, P.O. Box 3574, Carmel, CA 93921-3574
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Carmel
#16 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Motel located in the heart of village, 2 blocks from shops, galleries & Ocean Avenue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Carmel`s Town House Hotel Carmel
Carmel Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.