We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable & Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5th And San Carlos, P.O. Box 3574, Carmel, CA 93921-3574   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable & Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Great little motel for a good value –clean, quiet rooms and great location. Check-in was easy and the person at the front desk was friendly and helpful. Once we parked, we never needed our car –the hotel is walking distance to everything in town (and it is a great little town).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    156
    59
    20
    7
See reviews for
125
167
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

The overall feeling of this place just wasn't good. It is a redone old motel. They seem to have tried -- but to us, room felt dark (walls, carpeting, furniture), not inviting. Room had unpleasant old/urine odor. Some sort of machinery sound all night (as if furnace or generator running or something). Only six seats in breakfast area. Insufficient parking (we parked on street). Great location, though.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Manager at BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

We are in a process of building a new breakfast area which will address the seating issue however it is necessary to prompt our staff if you experienced an incident like urine odor because none of our rooms smell a such and our past reviews evidently acknowledge that.

We sincerely hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel and found it to be a great value. The room was spacious and the bed comfortable. The location in town was great and we walked everywhere. The staff at the hotel was extremely friendly and went out of their way to help us with a few special requests. We had a great stay and will certainly return!

Room Tip: It can be a little chilly at night on the coast, so don't hesitate to ask for another blanket fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

You are paying top '"best western" dollars to stay at this one in Carmel. That being said, it was very clean, with modern rooms, free wifi and a basic breakfast where everything came out of a box. If you can get passed the fact that it's tight quarters(as everthing tends to be in Carmel), including the shower stall, then you'll probably be fine. You can even see the bay from their balcony...nice if the fog is gone. Very close to the "action" and free parking.

Room Tip: Hard to escape the noise level and the paper thin rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012 via mobile

We got a very nice surprise from this hotel.

It was fantastic, clean, homely, central to everything.

We like our 4-5 star hotels and we were not disappointed with this at all.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

For Carmel, the price was quite reasonable - and it's one of the few king-sized beds we have managed to find in that town. Like the other motels/hotels in town, this one is old and dated, and unlike the others in which we've stayed, it was utterly devoid of charm. Nothing about it said "Carmel." We could have been anywhere. But we've visited this area many times, so we didn't need that anyway! The rooms seem to have been recently renovated. Bathroom was spotless, granite countertop and absolutely no stains or mold in the shower tile grout - or anywhere. We appreciated the down pillows and the fact that there were plenty of them -- four on the bed and two more in the closet. Another nice touch was the oscillating fan, which provided a bit of white noise to help us sleep through the street noise. Bed was comfortable, but very firm. One thing we did not like was the faint smell of disinfectant or bug spray or possibly WD-40 in our room. It would also be nice if they would give you a clothespin or something to hold the drapes closed; a bright light was shining right through the crack in our drapes.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We love going to Carmel & Monterey! We reserve the two room suite for our family. It has a king in the bedroom and a sofabed in the living room. It has been completely uddated and features double french doors into the bedroom. They have a AAA discount on their website available.

Other pluses: The staff gave us extra towels when requested. The beds were comfortable. Everything was super clean. Restrooms are modern, clean and roomy.

This hotel is so cozy, and you can walk to Ocean Ave. We love taking a stroll down to the Carmel Beach. In the evenings, we walk up to the bakery on Ocean for coffee and a pastry. This hotel doesn't have the largest parking lot but there is no cost to park on the street close by. Carmel is remarkably safe, has the cleanest air, and is soooo beautiful!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge

Address: 5th And San Carlos, P.O. Box 3574, Carmel, CA 93921-3574
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Carmel
#11 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#13 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Motel located in the heart of village, 2 blocks from shops, galleries & Ocean Avenue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Carmel`s Town House Hotel Carmel
Carmel Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.