We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value in Carmel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5th And San Carlos, P.O. Box 3574, Carmel, CA 93921-3574   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good Value in Carmel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Carmel is an expensive place to stay, but this was a great place to safe some money. Our room was clean and centrally located in Carmel, and they must have done some recent updating because the decor looked pretty nice. Don't get me wrong, it was still a budget hotel, but really good for that category.

There was a nice continental breakfast, though don't expect to eat in the lobby. They lobby is extremely small. There were only a couple of tables, so we had to take our stuff back to our room. The other minor negative was that parking was a little tight when everyone was in there. I had to do some serious manuevering to manage to get out of our spot when we left early in the morning, but did finally manage. Staff all seemed quite nice, especially the guy who checked us in. All in all, these place was a good value for the area, as long as you're just looking for a base to explore.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    156
    59
    20
    7
See reviews for
125
167
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

This is an excellent motel. The room was really really good. It was even better than lots of hotels. All was brand new, the furniture, the TV, the carpet...
The breakfast was very good as well. And the family who runs it very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We booked this hotel via prepaid though Travelocity. Once we realized that we weren't going to make this hotel before nightfall, so my wife calls Travelocity at 5 PM to cancel the room. Little did we realize that Travelocity had to call the Hotel to see if we could cancel. After 20+ minutes on the phone with agent, they tell us the manager wasn't the hotel and to call back tomorrow. We call Travelocity again the next day with another 20 minute wait, and manager said tough luck and wasn't flexible enough understand our situation and wouldn't cancel our reservation. So the moral of the lesson here is do not book prepaid via Travelocity if you can't make this reservation. We're out $190 because of insensitive manager.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your review on Trip Advisor; also we would like to thank you for sharing your experience in our Best Western Carmel's Townhouse Lodge with our future guests.

Our guests’ observations are very important for us, because thanks to your notes we can learn, know about your experience and improve our service, your comments have been sent to the departments involved in order to verify our process and take the proper measures.

We regret if we did not impressed you with some of our services, we assure you this is not a common situation at our hotel, and in no way represents the commitment with our valuable guests.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you again, to change your first impression and make you live the Best Western Carmel's Townhouse Lodge Experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

In my research of places to stay in Carmel, I had actually wanted to stay in one of the inns but the 2 that I called told me that they had a 2-night minimum over the weekend so I decided to switch to Best Western instead. Booked a suite (room 326) which was on the same level as the swimming pool (down the stairs from the ground level rooms). Room was spacious with a sitting room and a bedroom with a king bed. The sofa in the sitting room opens up to a queen bed. The room was alright but what was a little strange was that the windows in the sitting room and the bedroom facing out had sheer curtains which covered the windows but the draperies were just for show and didn't pull close. This meant that anyone walking past the windows could see in past the sheer curtains - and in the morning, the hotel staff were walking past the windows. Granted none of them stopped to look in but the fact that they could was a little unnerving.
Given that we were quite used to having wireless internet access in our previous hotels, this one only provided wireless access in the common areas but in the rooms, the access was wired. A little limiting since we had iPads and iPhones which we didn't bring any cables to use the data ports!
Previous reviews complain about the breakfast area at the check-in office but really, the breakfast choices provided were pretty extensive for the breakfast space - cereals, oatmeal, toast, pastries, jams and spreads and coffee/tea. The manager suggested that if the breakfast table (yes, only 1 table) was occupied, that we could take a tray of our breakfast back to the room if we wished.
All in all, I'd still recommend this place if your stay is pretty short. Otherwise, I would've still loved to try one of the more quaint inns/hotels available in Carmel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Best Western Carmel’s Town House Lodge

We stayed two nights here in early January. On arrival, we were greeted very pleasantly and checked in efficiently. The clerk also recommended several restaurants and told us he would be available to answer any questions we might have during our stay. He also explained about the breakfast that was served in the office area.

This is a typical older motel like so many others in Carmel. It is being upgraded with bath remodeling, new carpets and updated furniture. Ours was a king room in the rear building beyond the swimming pool. It was comfortable except for the wall furnace that kept turning on and off all night, but never quite got the room warm. The room was larger than many others we have stayed in at other places. The bed was good, but only had one blanket and it did not keep us warm enough during the cool January nights. I looked for an additional blanket, but did not find one in the room. Had we asked, I assume that another one would have been furnished, but we were busy and never got around to asking. The sink was in the sleeping area and the toilet and bath were in a separate room. We like this configuration. The water temperature in the shower was a little difficult to adjust and the hot water was set at a scalding temperature. Care was necessary to get it properly adjusted.

The breakfast room had only three tables for guest use and filled up as soon as the room opened at 8 am. We decided to go out to local restaurants for breakfast. We did notice that hot waffles were available. Not all motels in Carmel offer anything more than cold cereal, pastries and fruit. The coffee was good.

There seemed to be enough parking for all the units. This is not always the case in Carmel. The parking for our unit was accessed from the street behind the motel and was directly under our unit. Parking is tight and getting in and out of the carport may have been a little difficult if other stalls were full, but we had a three car area all to ourselves and could maneuver our truck into a stall without too much trouble.

The motel in about 2 ½ blocks from the main street of Ocean Ave. so it is a short walk to most of the shops. There are also several galleries and other shops between the motel and Ocean Ave. Not a lot of restaurants in Carmel serve breakfast. Two of them are a short distance from this motel, Friar Tuck’s and Em Le’s are just a short walk from the motel on Dolores St.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Manager at BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing a review regarding your recent stay at our property.
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.
Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We were very pleasantly surpised by the view of the sunset over the ocean as we entered the room and the up-market look to the decor. The outside of the hotel made me think the rooms might be a little shabby, but this was not the case at all. Two queen beds in a normal sized room despite from the outside the rooms appearing small. A good selection at the self service breakfast saved us paying for breakfasts as well. Carmel is a lovely town with lots of good restaurants and shops. It was the perfect place for a couple days exploring the magnificent coast. The beach in Carmel is really gorgeous too. Excellent hotel for $100 a night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ocean view (over the other buildings).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
480 reviews 480 reviews
329 hotel reviews
Reviews in 291 cities Reviews in 291 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

Checkin was fine and we were given a ground floor room. Parking was a bit tight, room was fine and a reasonable size although closet and bathroom were pretty cramped. Closet would also have benefited from a light. Breakfast was pretty limited and not too healthy so we skipped it. Coffee was available in the room which also had a fridge. Wifi and Lan access were fine. Price was on the high side for Friday and Saturday but was about half the price on Sunday. Would probably stay here again if price was better.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge

Address: 5th And San Carlos, P.O. Box 3574, Carmel, CA 93921-3574
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Carmel
#11 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#13 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Motel located in the heart of village, 2 blocks from shops, galleries & Ocean Avenue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Carmel`s Town House Hotel Carmel
Carmel Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.