We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5th And San Carlos, P.O. Box 3574, Carmel, CA 93921-3574   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
Cork
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

We arrived at about 7pm having travelled from San Francisco. We were very tired and just wanted to relax in our room. However when we went to check in there was a problem with our credit card and Vic at the front desk could not contact our bank as they were closed. I began to get upset but Vic was so helpful and tried everything he could to sort the problem for us. He had other people to check in and he delt with them all efficently while still trying to sort our problem. He showed us to our room . It was lovely. Modern , good size and very clean. We began to relax. We went out for a meal to a lovely restaurant recommended by Vic. The following morning after a great sleep in very comfortable beds in a quiet room I rang the bank and sorted the problem with my credit card. Carmel is a beautiful place and I would recomend the Best Western without hesitation. Vic at the front desk was most pleasant and helpful and could not have done more for us. He even booked another Best Western hotel for us for the next part of our journey.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    145
    59
    19
    6
See reviews for
117
155
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berwyn, Illinois
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

We had a clean,nicely decorated room. The parking lot was crowded but we were able to secure a spot. The motel in a good location for walking to the downtown. We were disappointed that the lobby breakfast area was not open before 8:00 as we wanted to leave early and ended up spending too much money on breakfast in town. Not overly charmed by Carmel so probably won't be back....but I think this motel is a fairly good value....considering.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

This hotel was pretty both inside and out, but our room had many drawbacks.

We arrived at 7pm on a Sunday night and used our Best Western Rewards Points for our stay. I highly regret this decision. Upon arrival to our room, it was right between the office and a stairwell. We only had upstairs neighbors, but you could hear conversations in both the office and stairwell. The hotel is older with wooden floors under the carpet so you could hear when the people upstairs were moving around. Even our ground floor room squeaked. I was awoken at 4am by the upstairs neighbors moving around for over an hour. The room door and window were right on the parking lot so every noise in the parking area could be heard in our room.

There aren't enough parking spaces for all the hotel patrons as we had to park on the street in front of the hotel when we returned from dinner, which meant we had to be out an hour before check out time to avoid a ticket on the street.

The room decor was modern and pretty, but the room itself was quite small. We had to rearrange some of the smaller furniture to fit two portable cribs into the room for our two kids. There wasn't much space for all the furniture they shoved in this room, there was barely a pathway between the bed and TV cabinet.

We thought maybe this room was an afterthought because all the other patrons were raving about their stay at this hotel. There was just a stall shower, no tub for the kids to bathe. When I requested another room with a tub I was told we got the last available room and rooms that had tubs were an upgrade. I just wanted a shower/tub combo I'm not sure how that is an upgrade.

When checking out I noticed the continental breakfast was an expanded one for those who prefer to take advantage of the hotel breakfast options. There was juice, coffee, cereals, pastries and do-it-yourself waffles.

I will NOT stay at this hotel again because of the poor sleep I received due to the level of noise here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Otherwise I really hope you can find a more competitive lodging place in Carmel that may cater to your needs especially the noise which fortunately none of our other mutual customers experienced.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me.
Sincerely,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

I used Trip Advisor reviews to select this property and we are very happy. The location is perfect, two blocks from Ocean which is the main street in Carmel by the Sea. Our room (331) was on the back side of the property ; a very quiet large room on the end. The property does not have air conditioning, but as it is so quiet, opening the windows and/or using the fan provided makes the room completely comfortable. The breakfast is generous, including the delicious self-cooked waffles and served from 8-11 am. We loved walking down to the ocean in the morning, making the drive down scenic Highway 1 to Big Sur, and eating in the intimate restaurants in the evenings. We can highly recommend both Dametra and Aw Shucks Oyster Bar.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flitwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

We stayed at the Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge when passing through Carmel on the way to San Francisco. This is an excellent hotel in a fantastic location.

The rooms are spacious, modern, clean and well looked after. The hotel also has a pool which was great for a quick dip to cool down in.

My only criticism was that the breakfast buffet wasn't well stocked when we visited.

I'd highly recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the annex at the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

We were in Carmel for one night and just needed a clean, safe place to stay in with our family. We decided on this hotel as it was affordable. It turned out to be just what we needed. The room was spacious and the bathroom was clean. The best part was, it was only a short walk to the main road where the cafes and shops were. The only drawback was we saw a crate of apples, that they serve for breakfast, beside the toilet seat by the lobby restroom. Safe to say we stayed away from the free breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

This is a decent hotel. Nice managers, and they'll babysit. Very central and only a block away from Katy's Place (need I say more?) They have a small pool, but it's refreshing. The rooms are surpringly spacious compared to what you usually get in San Francisco. I noticed they had one or two suites with larger sitting areas as well. Last, the Chinese take out next door is very good.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge

Address: 5th And San Carlos, P.O. Box 3574, Carmel, CA 93921-3574
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Carmel
#15 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Motel located in the heart of village, 2 blocks from shops, galleries & Ocean Avenue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Carmel`s Town House Hotel Carmel
Carmel Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.