We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Mission Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Carmel Mission Inn to your Saves list
Carmel Mission Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Breakfast/Cocktails!
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
Hampton, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

A friend told us about the Carmel Mission Inn. He was right! A great place to stay. Very easy to reach by car. Perfect if you have been driving PCH north for the entire day. Shopping and dining within walking distance. A little bit of a walk to the mission and Carmel itself.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2010
Thank you for reviewing our Carmel Ca Hotel. Our convenient location provides an outstanding vantage point to enjoy our beautiful area. Nearby shopping and dining also provide great alternatives. We thank for for your business and we look forward to seeing you again. Please remember to contact the hotel directly for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    459
    150
    47
    38
See reviews for
298
474
28
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

My sister lives just up the road from the Carmel Mission Inn, so we have stayed there several times over the years. I have noticed the quality of facility starting to slip, but the prices remain higher than average. Since this hotel does not boast the best of views or any beachfront location, I think it's beginning to be somewhat overpriced. That being said, we continue to stay there because of convenience and because of the breakfast package. Can't beat that.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2010
We appreciate your review of our Carmel Ca hotel. We strive to provide a great value to our guests and I'm glad you enjoyed our bed and breakfast package. I noticed you are a repeat guest and wed thank you for your business. Please remember to contact the hotel directly for the best rates, packages and service,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

Only stayed one night but wish we could have stayed longer. Rooms were beautiful, spacious and stylish, bathroom gorgeous. Pool small but two lovely warm jacuzzis. Very breezy, whilst we were there. Very friendly front desk staff, especially Yung Ai who was so kind and very helpful and welcoming. We ate at Rio Grill but found it to be over priced and not particularly good quality. There is a group of shops just over the way from the hotel including a safeway, with a Starbucks and a CVS.
Carmel itself is very pretty but busy, however, the best thing about our stay in Carmel was the hotel

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2010
I thank you for taking the time to review of Carmel Ca hotel. Our friendly, caring staff strives to make your stay truly enjoyable and yes Yung Ai is truly a gem with many outstanding qualities. It is our goal to provide an "outstanding value" in the Carmel area. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon. Please remember to contact the hotel directly for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

Because I made the reservation on-line I was skeptical. I thought, for the price, it would never live up to the photos. But to our delight, upon arrival it looked exactly as it did in the pictures. The decor was lovely in colors of the sea.
We arrived around 5:30pm and were famished. After check-in which was simple and took only moments Britt directed us to a wonderful local bar/restaurant for a delicious dinner.
Our room was clean, beautifully decorated and had a Spa Hotel feel. The bed was so comfortable I did not want to get out of it in the morning.
During our stayhad a minor maintenance issue that was immediately addressed by a very polite maintenance person.
The only complaint I could make is that it was a little noisy but I would definitely go back and stay longer next time. Compared to surrounding hotels this was a terrific bargain.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2010
I appreciate your taking the time to review our hotel. It is always delightful to hear that someone is surprised about our place. We offer many amenities and conveniences at a fair price. Many think we are an outstanding value and during these somewhat difficult times that will remain our goal. We appreciate your business and please remember to contact the hotel directly for the best rates and service should you visit our area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

My boyfriend and I recently spent 10 days on the West Coast. Having never been before we had no idea how this hotel would be, but we were very impressed. Out of the 4 hotels we stayed in through the West Coast, Carmel Mission was one of our top ones. As we had a car we were able to drive into Carmel by the Sea in less than 2 mins and Monterey/17 Mile Drive in about 5 mins. The hotel was very modern/funky, clean and overall quiet,even though it’s close to the road. The hotel is surrounded by two great shopping complexes which was great for us to grab a coffee or a light dinner away from the hustle and touristy places. Over our two night stay we were able to have sushi one night and Chinese another and grab a bottle of wine for the store and sit on the balcony. Staff were very friendly and free internet in the lobby was a bonus. We will defiantly be back and look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2010
Thank you for the review of our Carmel Ca hotel. We pride ourselves in providing a modern, clean and convenient location in our beautiful area. One of the best compliments we can receive is in knowing your intent to return. We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again. Please remember to contact the hotel directly for the best rates, packages and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010 via mobile

We love this hotel and plan to return for frequent mini-vacations from San Jose. Not in downtown but also not in all the congestion. Love the river beach just over the road. A great place to escape with little ones too as it's next to family friendly restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2010
We appreciate your review of our hotel and your stated intention to return. We hope you and your family will have great memories about visiting the Carmel area and we enjoy being part of that. We have a great staff, a convenient location and a goal to be an outstanding value on the Monterey Peninsula. We look forward to your return and please remember to contact the hotel directly for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

I read about the CMI in Sunset magazine and was not disappointed. Even my (very) picky husband was thrilled. We arrived late Sunday night after driving 12 hours up the 1. Yes, the location isn't in the middle of Carmel, but that's not a bad thing! You're right across from Point Lobos & convenient shops within walking distance (and a great seafood restaurant, too). I used to travel to Carmel to work and always stayed in town with the noise, traffic and difficult parking. Now I've learned! Give me the pleasantly-staffed CMI any day. Even the on-site restaurant wasn't over-priced and we really liked the food. The rooms all have windows that open, amazingly cozy beds, a microwave and fridge. We especially enjoyed the retro decor and the European vibe. Stay!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2010
Wow! The best sleep in Carmel. I'm glad you visited near by Point Lobos which is a fantastic park. Our goal is to provide an outstanding value in a modern, convenient and friendly environment. It seems like you took advantage of our bed and breakfast package. A great value. We appreciate your business and hope you will return soon. Please remember to contact the hotel directly for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Mission Inn

Address: 3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Carmel
#15 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Mission Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our Carmel Ca. hotel you will find a quaint, yet stylish setting with an array of gracious amenities that include a heated pool, fitness center and the "Fuse" restaurant. We’ve truly created a destination within a destination. Additionally, we offer fantastic facilities for weddings, business meetings, retreats and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, T4B, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Carmel Mission Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Mission Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Mission Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.