We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were surprised and delighted by this little gem.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Mission Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Carmel Mission Inn to your Saves list
Carmel Mission Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast/Cocktails!
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We were surprised and delighted by this little gem.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

Because I made the reservation on-line I was skeptical. I thought, for the price, it would never live up to the photos. But to our delight, upon arrival it looked exactly as it did in the pictures. The decor was lovely in colors of the sea.
We arrived around 5:30pm and were famished. After check-in which was simple and took only moments Britt directed us to a wonderful local bar/restaurant for a delicious dinner.
Our room was clean, beautifully decorated and had a Spa Hotel feel. The bed was so comfortable I did not want to get out of it in the morning.
During our stayhad a minor maintenance issue that was immediately addressed by a very polite maintenance person.
The only complaint I could make is that it was a little noisy but I would definitely go back and stay longer next time. Compared to surrounding hotels this was a terrific bargain.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2010
I appreciate your taking the time to review our hotel. It is always delightful to hear that someone is surprised about our place. We offer many amenities and conveniences at a fair price. Many think we are an outstanding value and during these somewhat difficult times that will remain our goal. We appreciate your business and please remember to contact the hotel directly for the best rates and service should you visit our area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    518
    162
    49
    39
See reviews for
341
532
33
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Bermuda
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

My boyfriend and I recently spent 10 days on the West Coast. Having never been before we had no idea how this hotel would be, but we were very impressed. Out of the 4 hotels we stayed in through the West Coast, Carmel Mission was one of our top ones. As we had a car we were able to drive into Carmel by the Sea in less than 2 mins and Monterey/17 Mile Drive in about 5 mins. The hotel was very modern/funky, clean and overall quiet,even though it’s close to the road. The hotel is surrounded by two great shopping complexes which was great for us to grab a coffee or a light dinner away from the hustle and touristy places. Over our two night stay we were able to have sushi one night and Chinese another and grab a bottle of wine for the store and sit on the balcony. Staff were very friendly and free internet in the lobby was a bonus. We will defiantly be back and look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2010
Thank you for the review of our Carmel Ca hotel. We pride ourselves in providing a modern, clean and convenient location in our beautiful area. One of the best compliments we can receive is in knowing your intent to return. We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again. Please remember to contact the hotel directly for the best rates, packages and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

We love this hotel and plan to return for frequent mini-vacations from San Jose. Not in downtown but also not in all the congestion. Love the river beach just over the road. A great place to escape with little ones too as it's next to family friendly restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2010
We appreciate your review of our hotel and your stated intention to return. We hope you and your family will have great memories about visiting the Carmel area and we enjoy being part of that. We have a great staff, a convenient location and a goal to be an outstanding value on the Monterey Peninsula. We look forward to your return and please remember to contact the hotel directly for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

I read about the CMI in Sunset magazine and was not disappointed. Even my (very) picky husband was thrilled. We arrived late Sunday night after driving 12 hours up the 1. Yes, the location isn't in the middle of Carmel, but that's not a bad thing! You're right across from Point Lobos & convenient shops within walking distance (and a great seafood restaurant, too). I used to travel to Carmel to work and always stayed in town with the noise, traffic and difficult parking. Now I've learned! Give me the pleasantly-staffed CMI any day. Even the on-site restaurant wasn't over-priced and we really liked the food. The rooms all have windows that open, amazingly cozy beds, a microwave and fridge. We especially enjoyed the retro decor and the European vibe. Stay!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2010
Wow! The best sleep in Carmel. I'm glad you visited near by Point Lobos which is a fantastic park. Our goal is to provide an outstanding value in a modern, convenient and friendly environment. It seems like you took advantage of our bed and breakfast package. A great value. We appreciate your business and hope you will return soon. Please remember to contact the hotel directly for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

We stayed here in July 2010 on a road trip vacation. We arrived slightly early for check in and the desk staff could not have been nicer or more helpful, making sure that we could get to our room straight away.
The room was lovely - airy, clean and well-appointed, with a restful decor. The bathroom was particularly impressive and the range of complimentary L'Occitane products is a lovely touch.
We didn't eat dinner in the hotel as it is close to the Barnyard Shopping Centre, which had a nice Italian restaurant, but did have hot breakfast (which was complimentary for 2 out of the 3 of us, which was a little odd).
The public areas are restful and well furnished and decorated, with fireplaces to ward off the chill. We enjoyed the pool, spa pool and fitness room facilities too.
Two computers with free internet access are available in the lobby area.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2010
I appreciate your review of our Carmel Ca Hotel. When someone recognizes the hard work and dedication of our truly outstanding staff it is a good feeling. While not perfect we strive to provide memorable experiences for our guests. I thank you for your business and hope we will have the opportunity to serve you again. Please remember to contact the hotel directly for the best rates ans service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

We had been travelling through California and had prebooked most of our accommodation but we were unsure if and how long to stay in Carmel hence we left it too late to get a reservation in our first choice of hotel so we looked at what was available, read the reviews on Trip advisor and booked the Carmel Mission Inn.
On approaching the hotel, we were dissappointed and thought we had made a mistake......It looks really dreary from outside...... but on entering, we were plesantly surprised as the interior is very nice and the reception staff very obliging.
We were allocated a good room on the 3rd floor with a view of the pool. We did have to go outside and across a bridge to access the room from the lift but this wasnt a problem at all, even with all our cases!
The rooms look like they have been recently modernised. They were very clean and spacious with all amenities provided including a refrigerator.
Has mentioned in other reviews, you cannot walk into Carmel from the Inn but its only a couple of minutes drive and parking in Carmel is readily available.
If you dont want to use the car however there are places to eat and drink next to the hotel and lots of shops around to buy provisions.
We didnt eat in the hotel so cant comment on the food.
On the Friday night we were there, they had live music and dancing which you are welcome to join in but it didnt provide any noise disturbance in our room.
Overall a good choice, don't let the exterior of the hotel put you off staying here.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

Booked this hotel for two nights as a halfway break point on our trip up Highway 1 on the basis of reasonable reviews and a competitive price. Greeted by a friendly receptionist our initial impression was of a slightly above average tourist hotel. We were pleasantly surprised was on reaching our room which, although not the largest of hotel rooms, was a respectable size and beautifully decorated. We had originally decided to go out for breakfast but decided to try the restaurant and were very impressed by the service, quality and good value. Although you do need a car, the hotel is well placed to visit Carmel, Pebble Beach and Monterey. We wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2010
Thank you for reviewing our Carmel Ca. hotel. We are glad you had the opportunity to enjoy our breakfast package which is very well received. Many of our visitors say that we provide an "outstanding value" and that remains our goal. We hope you will visit us again soon and also recommend our hotel with confidence. Remember to contact us directly for the best rates, packages and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Mission Inn

Address: 3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Carmel
#11 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Mission Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our Carmel Ca. hotel you will find a quaint, yet stylish setting with an array of gracious amenities that include a heated pool, fitness center and the "Fuse" restaurant. We’ve truly created a destination within a destination. Additionally, we offer fantastic facilities for weddings, business meetings, retreats and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Otel, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and T4B so you can book your Carmel Mission Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Mission Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Mission Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.