We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Party at the CMI” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Mission Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Carmel Mission Inn to your Saves list
Carmel Mission Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast/Cocktails!
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Party at the CMI”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We booked the Carmel Mission Inn to attend a wedding. The reservation process was smooth and without any problems. Since the wedding was early in the afternoon, we called to request an early check in. They granted our request for 2pm. We actually arrived at 12:00 noon, and to our delight, the room was ready. The check in process was great and we were off to our room. The hotel is dated, but it is obvious that it has been through a few remodels. The staff members we encountered were friendly and courteous. The room was clean and well decorated, however the bathroom was very small. We had brunch in the Fuse lounge and it was average at best. The usual bacon, sausage, eggs with some fruit and yogurt. Nothing spectacular, but appropriate for the $12.00 per person charge. This hotel is not close to the ocean, but just a short drive to downtown Carmel. All in all, we would recommend it to anyone visiting the area for a short stay.

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    480
    152
    46
    38
See reviews for
311
501
29
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I have stayed at the Mission several short and longer times. Each time we return to the Carmel area we make it our home. Facilities are immaculate,beautiful,safe and very convenient location to everything in the area AND they are DOG FRIENDLY. Excellent choice.

Room Tip: never happen.they may be too full to accommodate us. Best kept secret in Carmel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Fun atmosphere and great staff. We stayed there for a friend's wedding that was in Big Sure.They took care the wedding guests and made sure we had everything we needed. Comfortable, clean, quiet rooms and a great fire pit!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We were in the Carmel/Monterey area for the BSIM Half Marathon and selected this hotel because we were traveling with our dogs and it was priced lower than some of the other dog-friendly properties in Carmel-by-the-Sea and Monterey. We were pleased with how quiet the room was (which we were a little concerned about because we were right near the pool). Check-in took a bit longer than I would have liked, but the desk agents were helping other people so that's not to say they were standing around. Also, we hung up our towels to signal we didn't need them changed (per the little card in the room), yet they were changed anyway. This annoys be when it happens at any hotel. With that said, we were happy overall. The fee for our two small dogs was reasonable and the hotel was conveniently located right off of highway 1, so we could easily get to Monterey for the race and down to Big Sur the day after the race for some amazing views.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Stayed here for one night on a travelzoo deal which included the buffet breakfast.

The hotel is a few blocks from downtown and just off highway 1.

Rooms have clearly been renovated recently and were clean and very comfortable.

Carmel is a very expensive place to stay and this hotel provided good value

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The inn is conveniently located literally 10 meters from highway 1 in Carmel. It’s across from the main shopping center too. That means you won’t get seaside views but aside from this, the inn is pretty good. The rooms are spacious and clean, the bathrooms are especially nice with stone showers and unlimited high quality toiletries, instead of disposable bottles. the wifi works well. The entire property is very well kept. There is also a gym and a decent sized swimming pool.

Only complaint is that the breakfast service is dreadfully slow. There are six or seven staff including the hostess , but only one chef and they only offer individually cooked breakfast, no buffet. So, when the breakfast room is only half full, your order takes around 25 minutes to appear. The hostess, meanwhile is awol, and spent at least 10 minutes having a leisurely chat with one table of customers rather than doing her job. Yes I know her job is customer interaction, but this was extreme.

My advice: skip the breakfast in the hotel, and head across the road to find a coffee shop or diner with a more normal service culture. Alternatively, the hotel should consider getting another line chef in the mornings or just go with a simple buffet.

Breakfast aside, I did have a pretty good visit, and can recommend this place based on its facilities and pricing.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our hotel selection for this weekend getaway was based on being able to bring my partners service dog along. We ended up at the Carmel Mission Inn. I'd definitely recommend this property, although they seem to put all the dog owners on the same ground floor wing of the property so you can't get a nicer higher up room. The front desk staff was wonderful as well as the maid staff. The only real complaint I have is that that hot tub becomes a kiddie pool during the day so you can't enjoy it, on the two days I was there kids were in it most of the time and often without parents around. I'll stay here again though it was close enough to everything in Carmel, theres a great coffee shop in the "barn" mini shopping area behind the hotel, also a good amount of food choices in that same area.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Mission Inn

Address: 3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Carmel
#12 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Mission Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our Carmel Ca. hotel you will find a quaint, yet stylish setting with an array of gracious amenities that include a heated pool, fitness center and the "Fuse" restaurant. We’ve truly created a destination within a destination. Additionally, we offer fantastic facilities for weddings, business meetings, retreats and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Carmel Mission Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Mission Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Mission Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.