We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Mission Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Carmel Mission Inn to your Saves list
Carmel Mission Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Much better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We are frequent visitor to the area. During our last min trip we decided to stay here. Don't expect ocean front but the rooms are clean, modern and spacious. I also think they deserve an extra star as they had bathrobes and decent toiletries. The facility is at a great location with easy parking.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dralexmoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your many kind words about our Carmel hotel. We continue to upgrade the property with the pool area being our latest project. We also have recently gone through a major upgrade to our Wi-Fi system. Cleanliness is a very important issue and our hard-working, dedicated staff does an excellent job in that regard. We thank you for your business and hope to see you again soon. Please remember to contact the hotel direct or visit our website for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

My friend and I stayed here in July when we were driving from San Francisco down Highway 1. Our room was lovely and very clean. There was a large bathroom which was very clean and quite modern. The room was very spacious and there was plenty of space for two adults with large suitcases.

The hallway was nice and quiet for sleeping at night. There was a nice pool and we went out for dinner into the town. The bar area was nice for a drink in the evening.

The buffet breakfast was great and there were plenty of options. The only problem was that fruit juice had an extra charge.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bumblebee_bay86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our Carmel hotel. We are continually trying to upgrade our product offering and we hope you enjoyed our new pool area and upgraded Wi-Fi system. We are very proud of our hard-working, dedicated staff and we hope they made your stay even more enjoyable. I’m glad you enjoyed our breakfast offering but let me address the orange juice issue as I have in the past. We have not raised our prices for the buffet in more than two years. In an effort to keep the cost down we have made juice an ala carte purchase. We have also found that as more people stay away from sugary drinks it seems better to keep the price down and not include juice. We truly appreciate your business and hope you will choose to stay with us again. Please remember to contact the hotel direct for our exclusive rates and packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Me and my sisters did a road trip from L.A to San Francisco and decided on the way to spend the night at Carmel. We booked the room on the way and mention that we will be arriving at a very late hour... We arrived exhausted from the long drive at a very late hour as expected to find out there was a miss understanding with our booking so they didn't reserved us our room... LIO the receptionist was so nice! He helped us out and was kind enough to give us a suite with the same price as our reservation.... The room was BIG, very clean, very comfi with an extra bed, extra toom, two showers, kitchen, large tv... Too bad we had to spend there only one night..:) on the next morning, we had a nice breakfast and on before we checked out we got some amazing advices from RANA the receptionist and DAVE the tour guide! Both of them were super friendly and super helpful and they lifebelt saved our trip
with some great advices!!!! :-) If we ever gonna do this trip again, we are defiantly gonna come back!!! HIGHLY RECOMENDED ;)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elinorsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and in particular for mentioning Rana and Dave for the service they provided. In general we find our staff to be super friendly and super helpful as they try to enhance the overall guest experience. It seems like you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and I hope it was part of our exclusive bed and breakfast package which is a great value. We thank you for your business and hope you will stay with us again. Just remember to contact the hotel direct for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We decided on a last minute trip to Monterey/Carmel which meant we had to take our 85lb German Shepheard with us. We found this hotel online and grabbed the last dog friendly room on a busy weekend in the Monterey area (major motorcycling and dog show events going on). It's well located just off Highway 1 in Carmel, a short six miles from downtown Monterey and located next to a shopping center and a pub. We were right opposite the pub so with the windows open on a warm night it was a little noisy but not that bad.

From the outside the hotel looks a little dated but inside is a different story and the common areas are very nice. We had a room at the back of the hotel, which is convenient for access to some large grassy areas.

The room was clean and nicely appointed and we could see that the other, perhaps non-dog friendly were even nicer. The room also has a fridge and our only real complaint was that the bed was very soft and we woke up a little stiff in the morning.

The hotel offers an all-you-can eat buffet at $12 for over 12 years of age and $8 for under 12 at the time of check-in. It was well worth it and we were surprised that there was an outside patio area where dogs were welcome.

From the hotel it's a short 1/2 mile or so walk to the Mission, although you're walking on a very wide road with no sidewalks, and another mile or so beyond that to the super dog-friendly and beautiful city of Carmel. It was well worth the time to walk through the lovely houses and main street down to the beach, back to a dog-friendly restaurant and then back to the hotel. It was probably a 3 mile round-trip and the kids and dog really enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Unless you're traveling with a dog you may want to avoid a room on the back facing the pub or on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Si405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your kind words about our Carmel hotel. I’m glad you were able to enjoy one of our pet friendly rooms. We do offer a limited number of designated pet friendly rooms and we always suggest you call ahead to make sure that we can accommodate your needs. We are also pleased that you noted the cleanliness of our guestrooms as well as our convenient location. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again. Please remember to contact the hotel direct for exclusive rates, packages and pet friendly room availability.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stayed here for one night on the way from San Francisco to Los Angeles. The hotel is right by the Highway 1 but wasn't disturbed by traffic noise at all. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were very spacious and clean and the bathroom was fantastic (although the sliding bathroom door left gaps around the frame which could be awkward if not close to your room-mates. The pool was very nicely done and the breakfast in the morning was great too. There is an entire shopping/restaurant village right out the back of the hotel with great choices to eat at night. WiFi was complimentary everywhere and parking was free. Its only a short drive down to the fantastic Carmel beach also. Would highly recommend from stop-overs or long stays!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
We thank you for your “great hotel” comment and most importantly for recognizing our friendly and helpful staff. We recognize them as our most important asset and are very proud of the work they do. It also seems like you enjoyed our recent renovation to the pool area which we feel is very fun and enjoyable. You also noted the free Wi-Fi where we recently did a major upgrade on the system. We sincerely appreciate your business and hope to see you again in the future. Please remember to contact the hotel direct or visit our website for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We just stayed here en route and the hotel was fine but cam across to us as a fairly basic motel on a busy highway. Nice staff - room was OK. Pool was being 'fixed' so didn't use that or have time to see much more of the hotel. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AAVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and your positive comments about our “nice staff” and “excellent breakfast”. It seems like you were here during their pool renovation which may have provide some level of inconvenience. Let me say that we are sorry for that but hope you can come back and truly enjoyed the finished product. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon. Please remember to contact the hotel direct or visit our website for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haacht, Belgium
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

This is a well kept and well located hotel. It has all the comfort that a person needs after a day's driving. The rooms are very nice and comfy. Only (small) remark is that when you use the parking lot in the back, it is less fortunate that the customer is explicetely confronted with maintenance. But I suppose that's the difference between a *** and a **** or more hotel. Otherwise **** would be in their reach.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Wesp73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We strive to provide a great value and appreciate your comment that the hotel is well taken care of. We sincerely appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again whenever in the area. Please remember to contact the hotel direct or visit our website for exclusive rates and packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 562 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
3.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#20 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 377 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#8 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 399 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#17 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Mission Inn

Address: 3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Carmel
#11 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Mission Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our Carmel Ca. hotel you will find a quaint, yet stylish setting with an array of gracious amenities that include a heated pool, fitness center and the "Fuse" restaurant. We’ve truly created a destination within a destination. Additionally, we offer fantastic facilities for weddings, business meetings, retreats and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Carmel Mission Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Mission Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing