We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value and staff; less ideal location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Mission Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Carmel Mission Inn to your Saves list
Carmel Mission Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Breakfast/Cocktails!
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“great value and staff; less ideal location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I spent two nights of Memorial Day weekend at the Carmel Mission Inn with my dog Charlie and my mom and sister in one of their pet friendly rooms by the pool. Overall, our stay met my expectations - staff was very friendly, our room was nicely decorated with comfortable beds and a modern bathroom, and the pool, lobby and restaurant areas were nicely maintained - think a (very) updated version of an old Motel 8 with staff trained in hospitality.

Only downside, as you can see from the map and in other reviews - is the location - you need to drive to access the beach or town. Since it was a holiday weekend, finding an affordable pet friendly room in the area was a challenge, so we booked Carmel Mission Inn knowing we would have to drive to access the area, and were happy with how things ended up, but were a bit jealous of the more conveniently located properties. For a budget minded traveller (if there is such a thing in the ritzy area of Carmel!) who wants a comfortable place to stay and is willing to sacrifice on location, this is highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    489
    155
    46
    38
See reviews for
314
506
31
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed one night at this hotel/motel. Easy to find beside the highway 101. It had the motel feel about it. Our room was located on the second floor of an annexe building overlooking the car park. Not a nice view at all. No lift in this building so beware when checking in to ask about this especially if you have large suit cases. We had to lump 4 cases up and down two flights of stairs to reach the room. No bell hop or assistance offered by hotel staff. The room was clean and comfortable. The hotel itself is outside the main town of Carmel and certainly not within walking distance even for the most fittest person so must use a car. Taxis were had to find especially at night. Parking in Carmel is a nightmare and pot luck to find one near the Main Street.
We had breakfast included in the room rate which was self service and very good. Had a couple of drinks in the bar at night, very expensive so beware.
More negatives than positives with this hotel/motel.
There are plenty of other b and b's in the centre of Carmel with certainly more charm and better located than Mission Hills. Carmel itself is a charming place with plenty of good restaurants, cafés and shopping. Lovely place to visit. Make sure to do the 17 mile drive around Cyprus point and Peeble Beach GC. Break taking views etc. 10 dollars to pay at gate but can claim this back if you have lunch at Peeble beach cafe. Well worth it!

Room Tip: Ask for room in building with lift. We weren't asked or given the option especially with large c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Thank you for the review of our Carmel hotel. I’m glad you found our hotel to be clean and comfortable. Sounds like you took advantage of our bed and breakfast package which is truly a great value. You mentioned the fact that you were not offered bell service and I will certainly address this with my staff. This service is offered from 7 AM to 11 PM so I’m not sure why the misunderstanding occurred. We truly appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again soon. Please remember to contact the hotel direct or visit our website for those exclusive rates and packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We read the reviews, tossed out the High and Low ones and decided to stay here. Especially because they are Pet Friendly. The Hotel isn't exactly walking distance from downtown Carmel proper, so have a car handy. It is freeway close though, right behind a gas station as you get off it.

If I travelled across the globe and stayed here , I would be really upset. But since I live about 100 miles south I can chose to leave.

The shower looks awesome but was not very friendly to a full size man. The water pressure was weak and it was luke warm in the morning, it wasn't nice on this cold drizzling morning.

I do have to say this. The staff was very friendly

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Thank you for your kind words about our Carmel hotel. We are very proud of our friendly staff and consider them to be one of our greatest assets. We are approximately 1 ¼ miles from the center of Carmel by the Sea and consider our location to be very convenient for all that the area has to offer. We truly appreciate your business and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again. Please contact the hotel direct for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

To be fair the $40 it cost for the two of us for breakfast when I thought it was included might be my fault for not reading the small print. We got a voucher for buffet breakfast when we checked in. 2nd morning we decided to have it in room, didn't check, just assumed that we'd pay room service charge and tip. So after we'd had the breakfast restaurant phoned and said full cost payable as voucher only applied to restaurant. Having eaten it we were not exactly in a position to check!! I checked out and expressed surprise, at which the receptionist apologised, but said the voucher was for the buffet.
That said, apart from the fact that the place is all straight lines so a bit lacking in charm, the setting on the ranch is wonderful, trees and shrubs and flowers outside the building. The inn is set round a quadrangle with exotic plants and a small pool. Very pretty. However when we were there they were doing something to one side of the pool paving. There was a lot of noise from a power hammer so I hope no one was given the rooms closest to the pool!
Our room itself was light and airy, beautifully decorated and the soft furnishings were nice quality if a little tired. Some of the plastering in the room on repairs was evidently done by a DIY enthusiast.
Nice bathroom. Evidently people tend to steal the fluffy(NOT) bathrobes as there is a note that if you uplift you will be charged $65, but you can buy a new one at reception. Quite why you would want to is beyond me.
We had very good sleeps and woke refreshed, which was a change from the heat of the city.
To be honest the breakfast on both days was not impressive. The menu said toast, and there may have been a toaster in the restaurant somewhere, but the waitress didn't point us to it. We should have had eggs fried hard/soft, but what was on the buffet was scrambled. The potatoes were undercooked. The bacon whilst tasty was overcooked and therefore difficult to eat. Not worth the printed price either in the restaurant or in room
The staff were all friendly and courteous.
Would I go back? Only if I couldn't find something in a similar price in the area

Room Tip: Our room, 131 overlooked the carpark and towards the shopping area. Nice and quiet, very little exte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It seems like your overall experience was good but somewhat tainted by your room service experience. First I would like to apologize for the misunderstanding. We take great pride in our operational integrity and honesty and for this I will respectfully disagree with your comments about these charges. You took advantage of our bed and breakfast package which is truly a great value. The explanation to our guests is quite clear as to what this offering covers. The voucher we provide to redeem this special does not include any small print but to the contrary the room service exclusion is printed in bold and underlined to avoid any confusion. We sincerely appreciate your business and hope this misunderstanding will not keep you from staying with us in the future. Please remember to contact the hotel direct for our exclusive rates and packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

love the property..old carmel at its best...terrific staff.everyone was so helpful and at our service..best location in town..breakfast in the lobby bar area is superb! we would definitely recommend.We will also return!

Room Tip: you want the rooms facing the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our Carmel hotel. Your kind words and comments will be shared with our hard-working and dedicated staff. We genuinely appreciate your business and hope you will choose to stay with us again. Please contact us directly or visit our website for the very best rates and packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

During a busy weekend, we booked a corner first floor room since we have a dog. Because this was a special get away, we decided to splurge and pay over $300/night for something with lots of space. The room's furnishings looked dated while very spacious. It seemed best suited for families or as a room to meet for business as there is a separate dining room. Unfortunately, the amenities and experience do not add up to the cost. We were connected to an adjoining room and due to a huge party on Saturday night, the guests next door talked loudly until 4:30AM. The next set of guests on Sunday night were equally boisterous (not their fault). Since our room was on the pathway to the restaurant, there was an endless parade of guests walking by and peering into our room. The shower was mediocre and bathroom amenities subpar, The front desk never asked us if we enjoyed our stay so we let them know. I found this to be disappointing and shared my feedback via a survey. I never heard back from the hotel manager which is usually par for the course when a guest expresses dissatisfaction or a positive experience.

I've stayed at the Carmel Mission Inn (not to be confused with the Mission Inn...a great place) before on business. The top floors are better choices. There is a quaint shopping village behind the hotel with odd shops that never seem open including a pizzeria and a place to get coffee. The French bakery is worth a visit but going over to the Crossroads shopping center across Rio Road is worthwhile especially eating at the Rio Grill, the fabulous Spencer's stationery store, and Lula's chocolates.

I'd stay at this inn again but only if there are no other better options in Carmel.

Room Tip: If you have a dog, choices are limited to bottom floors based on availability. Corner rooms are larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our Carmel hotel. I am truly sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We are very popular hotel on weekends particularly amongst wedding groups coming to the area. At times the celebrations can be disruptive to our other guests and we tried to keep these inconveniences to a minimum. I’m glad you were able to take advantage of one of our limited pet friendly rooms. We sincerely appreciate your business and hope you will choose to stay with us again. Please remember to contact us directly or visit our website for exclusive rates and packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pismo Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

When we can arrange a getaway to Carmel, our favorite destination, we always check with the Carmel Mission Inn for accommodations. They have always been able to reserve excellent space for us at a value price. CMI's staff is top shelf with a ready smile and quick answers to our questions and requests. The restaurant on the premises is one of our favorites as well with a very pleasing staff and excellent food. We recommend Carmel Mission Inn to family and friends whenever they are headed to the Monterey peninsula, and keep it top of our list of the best places to stay in the area.

Room Tip: Top floor with a patio and view of the pool and garden area is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Thank you for your review of our Carmel hotel. We are very proud of our hard-working and dedicated staff and we are quite pleased that you recognized their efforts. In today’s world often times the efforts made by the service staff goes unappreciated. We are pleased that you chose to stay with us and hope we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Just remember to contact the hotel direct or visit our website for the best rates and packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Mission Inn

Address: 3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Carmel
#12 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Mission Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our Carmel Ca. hotel you will find a quaint, yet stylish setting with an array of gracious amenities that include a heated pool, fitness center and the "Fuse" restaurant. We’ve truly created a destination within a destination. Additionally, we offer fantastic facilities for weddings, business meetings, retreats and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Carmel Mission Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Mission Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Mission Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.