We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and friendly!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Mission Inn

Save Saved
You added Carmel Mission Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carmel Mission Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Breakfast/Cocktails!
Ranked #12 of 21 hotels in Carmel
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Clean and friendly!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

A nice property a little away from downtown Carmel (5 min by car) but next to a large shopping area with a Safeway, Starbucks, gas stations and assorted shops and restaraunts. Pool and hot tub and nice staff make this a good place to stay. The rooms are large enough, clean and well furnished.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    342
    445
    149
    47
    38
See reviews for
286
468
28
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stopped here for 3 nights as a family of 4 and shared a room with 2 queen beds in. It is right by highway 1, so we found it very noisy. The air con was also very noisy, as was the drinks machine in the corridor outside. However the room was clean, beds quite comfy, shower good. There is a couple of outside malls right on the doorstep - with gas, a Safeway, some restaurants. The hotel have made a real effort with the outside communal areas, with lots of plants and flowers and good outdoor seating which makes it all look very attractive. The staff we dealt with were very helpful. There's a pool which we didn't have the chance to try out as we were so busy when there. The lift is a bit slow and we didn't have any trouble with the parking. I would eat elsewhere though, for the money.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Great welcome, sorted out our lost booking and honoured our rate (thankfully) Good standard of rooms, super beds, great shower, quiet even though ours was by the outside whirlpool no sound penetrated & hotel full the first night of our stay. Air Con efficient, Gym small and ok if no demand otherwise forget it! Superb array of restaurants & 2 big supermarkets nearby (several charity shops as well if you are looking to get holiday clothing/loose stuff you have to a good cause) and Carmel just down the road is chocolate box perfect and very Doris Day! Breakfast pre purchased at reception, fair and I suppose worth the $10 if you eat well if not don’t. Definitely stay again at the right rate.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taizhou, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

This hotel locates just besides the highway. So you need to drive several minutes to the heart of carmel. But it is definitely not a problem. And to some extent, it is much more convenient since there are supermarket and gas station around.

The hotel is very beautiful. The room is very well decorated. I enjoy the stay very much.

The breakfast costs 10USD/person. But I didn't purchase.

Since the hotel in the heart of carmel is really expensive, the hotel is a good choice for budget control.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Cannot wait to stay again but next time I will be bringing my pup. Staff was excellent. Buffett in the morning was great. Very fresh with a great variety. My only complaint, if it is even a complaint, was we went out for dinner on the Saturday night we stayed there and when we came back to the hotel parking was very limited. Wish 1 spot would have been marked for the room we were staying in.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We have been staying at this hotel off and on since the 1970's when the hotel opened. Through several changes it was always a little better. I think that what they are doing now has made an old location look and feel 'new'. We have enjoyed the stays there.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We love staying at this hotel. It has a lovely relaxing feel to it surrounded by lush green hills and the rooms are spacious and well maintained. The pool and jacuzzi is lovely to relax by and shops and restaurants are within walking distance. Monterrey is just a short drive and Carmel right at the doorstep. This location is superb for visiting Point Lobos State Park, Carmel Valley and even Santa Cruz is an easy and pleasant drive.

The hotel staff are very warm and friendly and I found them very responsive if I needed anything such as extra pillows etc. We have stayed at this facility for 15 plus years and it feels like coming home each and every time. It is one of the nicer places to stay in the area but the Central Coast is known for its beauty and the hotels are not 'City luxurious' but it offers all the comforts of a well run facility, is clean,maid service is very good and location is excellent. It is also in a quiet location and I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are visiting the area.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are nice and well situated. I prefer higher floors and there is elevator access to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Mission Inn

Address: 3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Carmel
#13 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Mission Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our Carmel Ca. hotel you will find a quaint, yet stylish setting with an array of gracious amenities that include a heated pool, fitness center and the "Fuse" restaurant. We’ve truly created a destination within a destination. Additionally, we offer fantastic facilities for weddings, business meetings, retreats and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Carmel Mission Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Mission Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Mission Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.