We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Mission Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Carmel Mission Inn to your Saves list
Carmel Mission Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Paoli, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Decent hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Nice , newly updated hotel. Modern room. It's not in downtown Carmel , but it's only a 3 min drive to shopping/ dining district. Room was clean, had nice view of pool. Not bad for he price. Adjacent to shopping center with restaurants and grocery store

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
We thank you for your positive review of the Carmel Mission Inn. Many find our location very convenient to explore all the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. I’m glad that you enjoyed our clean guestrooms and appreciate the value we offer. We hope to be able to serve you again and please remember to contact the hotel direct or visit our website for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    544
    166
    49
    40
See reviews for
355
557
34
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here during my birthday. I really liked it. Location is great, next to gas, mall and freeway. Irish pub within walking distance. The lounge was fun with stiff drinks and a live band. Rooms clean and bed.
Staff was so polite and helpful. We were upgraded to a suite. True, it is not in downtown, but it did not really matter because downtown is only few minutes away by car.
Great little gem of a place.
Dogs are aloud on first floor so be prepared for little barking every now and then.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed a relaxing stay at the Carmel Mission Inn. I’m also pleased that you enjoyed our convenient location, clean guestrooms and the personal service that the staff delivered. We truly appreciate your business and welcome the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Please remember to contact the hotel direct or visit our website for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Shores, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I booked this room last minute, like 7 o'clock on the night of my stay. I read that it wasn't near the water, which was more than fine, and was delighted by the rate I booked and extra special treatment at the front desk, including 2 free drinks and free breakfast from a special deal found at TripAdvisor. Really, a terrific deal all in all. The decor is sort of hip/modern. Right behind the hotel complex is a restaurant/bar/office complex called The Barnyard. Check that out for places to eat and drink (just a few steps out of the back of the hotel). I had breakfast in the hotel restaurant and really enjoyed the crepes with dungeness crab - yum! And terrific service there. My only lament is I checked in on a day of super cold temps and the heater in the room struggled to surpass 69 degrees, so a bit chilly, but not a deal killer. Probably just don't have heaters that normally have to work that hard.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
We are genuinely excited when someone states they had a great stay at the Carmel Mission Inn. We are very proud of our hard-working and dedicated staff and I’m glad they made you feel comfortable. You noted the Barnyard center which is a fun little shopping area adjacent to the hotel. We appreciate your business and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Please remember to contact the hotel direct or visit our website for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Yes, this is a slightly older property with the character of beautiful architecture in the secondary business centre of Carmel - but that truly is where the buts stop.
When we arrived the front desk the greeting was the best I have ever received. Great enthusiasm to attend to our needs and a good level of local information provided upfront ( Best place to park the car to access our room, location of room, breakfast time and locations, good local knowledge an d recommendations for dinner).
The decor in our room was certainly 'zanny' and eye catching with everything immaculately clean.All the staff we met during our stay were cheery and genuine. Complimentary buffet breakfast was a welcome surprise.
We were fortunate to be placed on the top floor at the rear of the property - which proved to be quiet with a pleasant view onto the hills of Carmel Valley.
Carmel and the surrounding area was great - we watched the sun come down on the beach in the company of a pod of dolphins frolicking in the surf as the tide turned, 17 mile drive with the coast, scenery, fantastic homes and world class golf courses was fine, Monteray Bay Aquarium truly deserves all of it accolades or and some great places to chill out and eat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Carmel hotel. When someone compliments our front desk to as you did it genuinely puts a smile on their faces. You also mentioned our breakfast buffet which is part of our bed and breakfast package and one of our best values. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again. Please contact the hotel direct or visit our website for the best rates and packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Relaxed with the complimentary glass of wine at happy hour. Staff was helpful and courteous, We were given discounts to various restaurants, shops and wine and food tasting events. Breakfast buffet was hot, and delicious with Fresh sliced fruit, Eggs, sausage and breakfast breads -very good. Our server kept our coffee cup filled! Loved our balcony with a breath taking view of the sunset. Slept great, so quiet.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for the review of our Carmel hotel and we are pleased that you felt relaxed and pampered. We have a friendly and outgoing staff that sincerely tries to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. It is also nice to know that you had a great night sleep. We appreciate your business and please come stay with us again in the future. Just remember to contact the hotel direct for the best rates and packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Stayed the night and it is in the perfect location. Not in Carmel by the sea, but in the shopping area of carmel valley. Across the street from Safeway and next to the Barn shopping area. Right off highway 1. Rooms were nice and great place to stay the night.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Carmel hotel and I’m pleased that you enjoyed our convenient location. I’m also happy that you enjoyed our comfortable guestrooms and we sincerely appreciate your business. We hope you will stay with us again in the future and please remember to contact the hotel direct for the best rates and packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

this hotel is not in the main part of Carmel it's on route 1, it's about 2 miles from Ocean Ave.
it's quiet and the beds they're pretty comfortable. no views except for other businesses or streets. but the worst part is the shower experience. The shower has no door, so the floor of the bathroom gets totally flooded with water, you are totally exposed and you freeze while showering since the steam isn't trapped in the shower. whoever designed this seriously needs to look for another line of employment.

Room Tip: ask for the top floor, you'll get a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Carmel hotel and I’m glad you enjoyed our quiet location and comfortable beds. You mentioned the shower design which is the open glass look. Some people prefer the traditional shower/tub combination so when you return simply mentioned that at check-in and will be glad to accommodate your request. We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again. Please remember to call the hotel direct or visit our website for the best rates and packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Carmel Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Mission Inn

Address: 3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Carmel
#7 Family Hotel in Carmel
#11 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Mission Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our Carmel Ca. hotel you will find a quaint, yet stylish setting with an array of gracious amenities that include a heated pool, fitness center and the "Fuse" restaurant. We’ve truly created a destination within a destination. Additionally, we offer fantastic facilities for weddings, business meetings, retreats and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Carmel Mission Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Mission Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Mission Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.