We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Mission Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bookmark
You added Carmel Mission Inn to your Saves list
Carmel Mission Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast/Cocktails!
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
Budd Lake, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Little Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stumbled upon this place without having any reservations. I was reluctant but my husband found us a room for the night. We were pleasantly surprised. The rooms were adequately sized and clean. Taking the pre-paid breakfast package was a plus. It was well worth the money for this delicious buffet. It included fresh baked breads, eggs, french toast, breakfast meats, danish and fresh fruit. There were many stores, restaurants and laundromat located within walking distance. We liked this place so much we booked a second night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
When someone refers to us as a “gem” or that they are “surprised” we are always a bit humbled. Our caring staff works hard to make sure your stay is enjoyable. It sounds like you took advantage of our bed and breakfast package which is truly our best value. We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again. Just remember to contact the hotel direct for exclusive rates and packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    479
    152
    46
    38
See reviews for
311
501
29
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Meriden, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We have stayed at the Mission Inn for several years now and enjoy the location. The staff is consistently helpful. Great bartender in restaurant/lounge. Recommend not staying on pool side if you want your windows open. Music from pool/lobby can be annoying and I had to close the window to fall asleep. Beds are comfortable and rooms are clean. I like the proximity to both the Barnyard shops and restaurants and the Crossroads shopping center across the street. Be very careful walking or driving out of the driveway as it is shared by a gas station and sometimes cars zip around the corner not aware that people or cars are exiting. Saw some reviews that said it was too far to walk to downtown Carmel. My sister and I did walk downtown every day for a week, and I'm in my 70's. Though it's uphill most of the way, after a nice day shopping and browsing and then a nice dinner in Carmel, the walk is all downhill. Be sure to bring a flashlight if you'll be walking in the dark. Another nice walk is to go left at the Mission. That will bring you past Clint Eastwood's Mission Ranch, and eventually you'll reach Scenic Drive with its fantastic scenery and houses. Of course if you don't enjoy walking, you can drive. The point is that Carmel Mission Inn is in a great location!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
As you noted we are not near the beach but are still pretty close. Our location provides a great vantage point to enjoy many of the things the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. Thanks for recognizing are helpful staff as we are very proud of their efforts. We appreciate your business and hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future. Please remember to contact the hotel direct or visit our website for the best rates and packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed for one night in October 2013, it was the first stop on our road trip down the coast.

Upon arrival the receptionist was really friendly, and even invited us to partake in some happy hour appetizers in the lounge, which were very welcome.

We had a room with a balcony, and happened to have the corner room, where you could've thrown and party for about 30 people on the balcony. The room itself was very spacious and clean.

We opted in to the $10pp breakfast and this was absolutely fine.

The hotel is a little out of the town but not far in a cab.

I would definitely recommend this place, just a shame I didn't get to try the pool out!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
We are glad that you chose us as a stop along your journey. Our hard-working and dedicated housekeeping staff strives to provide a clean guestroom for your comfort. Thanks for your recognition of their efforts. You also mentioned our friendly staff and we are very proud of them. We appreciate your business and hope you will choose to stay with us again. Please remember to contact the hotel direct or visit our website for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Make a U turn at the first light as you travel east on Rio Road from Route 1.
About 2 miles from downtown Ocean Ave, so you won't walk it. Good size room, clean, and well appointed. WiFi works well. A good buffet breakfast is offered for an additional $20 for the two of us. We had grown accustomed to at least a continental breakfast with the price of the room on our other stops during our trip. The room was quiet and we slept well. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Calder, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Enjoyed our 2 night stay here very much the rooms were very clean staff excellant would certainly recommend this hotel. The complimentary breakfast was very good and the meal at night was very nice. We were travelling by car which i would recommend if you are staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stromness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed for two nights as part of a fly drive holiday. Hotel easy to find with decent sized well appointed rooms. Complimentary continental breakfast included in our booking fee, but cooked breakfast readily accessible at no extra cost to us. Comfortable bed and very clean and bright. Room and bathroom looked recently decorated. Unfortunately the pool was out of order which was one reason we had chosen this hotel. The village shopping center was just behind the hotel, easily accessible and within walking distance, so no need to drive. Free parking available on site.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This hotel represents excellent value in Carmel. The bathroom looked recently renovated. It was nice and clean. The bed was super comfortable and relaxing. The location is good if you are travelling by car. Overall we were very satisfied with our 2 night say at the Mission Inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Mission Inn

Address: 3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Carmel
#11 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Mission Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our Carmel Ca. hotel you will find a quaint, yet stylish setting with an array of gracious amenities that include a heated pool, fitness center and the "Fuse" restaurant. We’ve truly created a destination within a destination. Additionally, we offer fantastic facilities for weddings, business meetings, retreats and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Carmel Mission Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Mission Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Mission Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.