We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfy bed, clean and nice bathroom, good location and excellent value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Mission Inn

Save Saved
You added Carmel Mission Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carmel Mission Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Breakfast/Cocktails!
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
Windsor, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very comfy bed, clean and nice bathroom, good location and excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This hotel represents excellent value in Carmel. The bathroom looked recently renovated. It was nice and clean. The bed was super comfortable and relaxing. The location is good if you are travelling by car. Overall we were very satisfied with our 2 night say at the Mission Inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    457
    150
    47
    38
See reviews for
296
472
28
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Carmel Mission Inn is a well-located, quiet,and convenient small hotel in Carmel, CA. Great picnic basket breakfast, knowledgeable staff, convenient, ample parking, and comfortable beds make this a good choice for stay in Carmel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We spent the night after exploring Point Lobos and 17 mile drive. Great property located close to several shops, and restaurants, although not close to beach and downton. Bathrooms were updated, and room was nice. The pillow though were all too tall, which were uncomfortable for a side sleeper, recommend that you check it before going to bed. They offer a discount if you sign up for breakfast upon checkin. Breakfast was good, with oatmeal, eggs, potatoes, sausages, yogurt, fruit, very complete.

Room Tip: check pillows before going to bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 1 night as part of a 7 stop California driving holiday and it was great, also the only hotel that gave free breakfast which is always a bonus. The rooms were clean, spacious with good in-room facilities and we had a great view. The staff at reception were friendly although the restaurant staff could do with a bit of training in customer service but the food was good. All in all a nice great value hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Great staff, check in/out was excellent. Had a voucher for free breakfast but was running behind so they offered to allow me to take it "to go". Nice rooms, newly updated room I had was a little cramped but overall it was good for the one night stay. Could use a bigger sign indicating the entrance to the property, road to hotel runs behind a gas station and is easy to miss the first time you visit.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This is a terrific hotel and at the best price available, an absolute bargain. The check-in is excellent. The common amenities are in excellent order and service in the bar is very good.
The rooms are in excellent condition. My room this visit was in as good condition as remembered from four years ago.
I have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending the hotel.
One problem: the hotel is at the end of a very long driveway. At night, even with a GPS telling me I had reached my destination, it was very difficult to spot the driveway. Even during the day, it paid to know the hotel was there before looking for the driveway. Surely, a sign is necessary to help travellers locate the driveway and thus the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I stayed at the hotel October 8 & 9, 2013. My room was on the fourth floor with a balcony overlooking the pool. It was extremely quiet. The bed was very comfortable (one of the most important things when you travel as far as I am concerned). The room had a fridge, safe, iron, coffee maker, blow dryer, shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, flat screen tv, and two queen beds (you can also get rooms with a king). There was no tub, but rooms with tubs are available. My favorite amenity was that there were two robes in the room. We used the Jacuzzi both nights there, and it is a pleasure to put on a robe and go down to the Jacuzzi (rather than having to wrap a towel around you or wear some sort of cover up).
The food was fine. The staff were very accommodating. Overall, this was a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 4th floor - no one walks on the floor above you and it had a balcony. Very qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Mission Inn

Address: 3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Carmel
#14 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Mission Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our Carmel Ca. hotel you will find a quaint, yet stylish setting with an array of gracious amenities that include a heated pool, fitness center and the "Fuse" restaurant. We’ve truly created a destination within a destination. Additionally, we offer fantastic facilities for weddings, business meetings, retreats and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Carmel Mission Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Mission Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Mission Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.