We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific hotel- Needs a Sign” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Mission Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Carmel Mission Inn to your Saves list
Carmel Mission Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast/Cocktails!
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Terrific hotel- Needs a Sign”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This is a terrific hotel and at the best price available, an absolute bargain. The check-in is excellent. The common amenities are in excellent order and service in the bar is very good.
The rooms are in excellent condition. My room this visit was in as good condition as remembered from four years ago.
I have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending the hotel.
One problem: the hotel is at the end of a very long driveway. At night, even with a GPS telling me I had reached my destination, it was very difficult to spot the driveway. Even during the day, it paid to know the hotel was there before looking for the driveway. Surely, a sign is necessary to help travellers locate the driveway and thus the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    531
    164
    49
    40
See reviews for
345
550
34
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I stayed at the hotel October 8 & 9, 2013. My room was on the fourth floor with a balcony overlooking the pool. It was extremely quiet. The bed was very comfortable (one of the most important things when you travel as far as I am concerned). The room had a fridge, safe, iron, coffee maker, blow dryer, shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, flat screen tv, and two queen beds (you can also get rooms with a king). There was no tub, but rooms with tubs are available. My favorite amenity was that there were two robes in the room. We used the Jacuzzi both nights there, and it is a pleasure to put on a robe and go down to the Jacuzzi (rather than having to wrap a towel around you or wear some sort of cover up).
The food was fine. The staff were very accommodating. Overall, this was a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 4th floor - no one walks on the floor above you and it had a balcony. Very qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

So convenient. The dog friendly rooms are spacious, clean, and newly renovated. This is our second stay here and we loved it. The beds are also super comfortable. Friendly helpful staff. Very convenient location too

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had driven up from LA along Big Sur, and were delightd with our stay in the Mission Inn. It was more than basic, but the price was good, and the location excellent. Carmel is beautiful, lovely beach, lovely mission - unfortunately we had no time for more, but if you are spending time in Carmel, you won't go wrong here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I was a little anxious given some of negative Trip Advisor reviews I had read previously but we would the rooms of Carmel Mission Inn to be pretty much as per the hotel's websites. Very nice bathrooms as well with high end fixtures and finish. The hotel has a lovely feel - they must have an excellent gardener as the multitude of colourful potted flowers all over the hotel and pool really transformed what could be a typical American motel into much more.

Probably not the poshest place one could stay in Carmel given the deeper pocketed clientele but we'd say Carmel Mission Inn was one of nicer hotels on our 2 week trip in the US.

PS: recommend dinner at Pacific Heights - amazing views - book ahead and get there well before sunset to enjoy the views.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed one night for a last minute birthday getaway with my husband and our pup. The property is located between 2 shopping centers and just off of Hwy 1. The property is not new, but is nicely landscaped and the rooms are large, even with a king-size bed and separate table and chairs. Rooms are very clean and the grounds are nice. Heated pool, which we didn't use and work out room (also didn't use). Steps from the parking lot is The Barnyard Shopping Center that is quaint and has many upscale shops if that's your thing. We had breakfast at From Scratch; a breakfast restaurant in the shopping center which I highly recommend. You can sit outside with your pooch and the food is abundant and great. There is also a walking trail that runs next to the Inn where you can exercise your dog. The hotel is centrally located and their rates are reasonable considering you're in Carmel. It's a short drive to downtown or to get to the beach. We didn't notice noise from the highway, even though it is quite close to Hwy 1.

Room Tip: If you're worried about highway noise, request a room away from the highway. Steps from the park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OC CA
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This hotel is outside of the "village" but only a few minutes away by car, and close to other shops and restaurants.
The rooms are small but functional, clean and bright.

My main complaint is that the music from the bar was very loud and continued almost until midnight.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Carmel Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Mission Inn

Address: 3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Carmel
#8 Business Hotel in Carmel
#11 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Mission Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our Carmel Ca. hotel you will find a quaint, yet stylish setting with an array of gracious amenities that include a heated pool, fitness center and the "Fuse" restaurant. We’ve truly created a destination within a destination. Additionally, we offer fantastic facilities for weddings, business meetings, retreats and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Otel, Odigeo and T4B so you can book your Carmel Mission Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Mission Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Mission Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.