We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE this place!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Mission Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Carmel Mission Inn to your Saves list
Carmel Mission Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Breakfast/Cocktails!
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Palo Alto
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“LOVE this place!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

So convenient. The dog friendly rooms are spacious, clean, and newly renovated. This is our second stay here and we loved it. The beds are also super comfortable. Friendly helpful staff. Very convenient location too

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    489
    155
    46
    38
See reviews for
314
506
31
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had driven up from LA along Big Sur, and were delightd with our stay in the Mission Inn. It was more than basic, but the price was good, and the location excellent. Carmel is beautiful, lovely beach, lovely mission - unfortunately we had no time for more, but if you are spending time in Carmel, you won't go wrong here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I was a little anxious given some of negative Trip Advisor reviews I had read previously but we would the rooms of Carmel Mission Inn to be pretty much as per the hotel's websites. Very nice bathrooms as well with high end fixtures and finish. The hotel has a lovely feel - they must have an excellent gardener as the multitude of colourful potted flowers all over the hotel and pool really transformed what could be a typical American motel into much more.

Probably not the poshest place one could stay in Carmel given the deeper pocketed clientele but we'd say Carmel Mission Inn was one of nicer hotels on our 2 week trip in the US.

PS: recommend dinner at Pacific Heights - amazing views - book ahead and get there well before sunset to enjoy the views.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed one night for a last minute birthday getaway with my husband and our pup. The property is located between 2 shopping centers and just off of Hwy 1. The property is not new, but is nicely landscaped and the rooms are large, even with a king-size bed and separate table and chairs. Rooms are very clean and the grounds are nice. Heated pool, which we didn't use and work out room (also didn't use). Steps from the parking lot is The Barnyard Shopping Center that is quaint and has many upscale shops if that's your thing. We had breakfast at From Scratch; a breakfast restaurant in the shopping center which I highly recommend. You can sit outside with your pooch and the food is abundant and great. There is also a walking trail that runs next to the Inn where you can exercise your dog. The hotel is centrally located and their rates are reasonable considering you're in Carmel. It's a short drive to downtown or to get to the beach. We didn't notice noise from the highway, even though it is quite close to Hwy 1.

Room Tip: If you're worried about highway noise, request a room away from the highway. Steps from the park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OC CA
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This hotel is outside of the "village" but only a few minutes away by car, and close to other shops and restaurants.
The rooms are small but functional, clean and bright.

My main complaint is that the music from the bar was very loud and continued almost until midnight.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinton, Virginia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

A great place to stay. The Inn has friendly and helpful staff. We will use this place as our go to spot for Carmel. I'm a hotel snob, a tad obsessive about maintenance upkeep, clean carpets etc. At 1st glance the rooms color scheme throws you back and then you see the bathroom and check out the updated beds, by then you start to relax and settle into the experience. Carmel by the sea is a place that you will want to linger for a few days, so kick off your shoes and relax here. Dinged them for lack of accessible outlets for our electronic devices.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed for two nights as part of our PCH road trip. First impressions were good, access from highway 1 is very easy and a shopping mall directly behind the hotel provide several eatery and drinking venues plus a very large supermarket. We arrived 4 hours before the check in time but were allowed to go straight in and found our room to be large, comfortable and airy with all of the usual fittings.

Breakfast was ok and plentiful and certainly sets you up for the day. One big issue was waking up after the first night sleep only to find all of the water had been shut off to our part of the hotel due to an issue downstairs. This in turn washed mud into what looked like a nice pool and rendered that out of use. We managed a wash but some sort of apology and explanation would have been appreciated. This is why we have rated the hotel 3 stars instead of 4.

Carmel is as beautiful as the photos BUT be aware, it's about an hours walk into the town, it's quite hilly and there are no paths. We intended to walk in, have a meal and glass(or two) of wine then catch a taxi back - there are no taxis in Carmel! It is a very pretty walk but a ride home would have been the icing on the cake.

Top tips, sunset on the beach is like a dream, 17 Mile Drive is a must but take a picnic, Pebble Beach golf club is a must visit for golfers (golf very expensive, shop is fab and lunch in cafe very reasonable), Monteray is beautiful and the aquarium must be one of the best in the world.

Room Tip: All rooms seem ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Mission Inn

Address: 3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Carmel
#12 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Mission Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our Carmel Ca. hotel you will find a quaint, yet stylish setting with an array of gracious amenities that include a heated pool, fitness center and the "Fuse" restaurant. We’ve truly created a destination within a destination. Additionally, we offer fantastic facilities for weddings, business meetings, retreats and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Carmel Mission Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Mission Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Mission Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.