We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE this place!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Mission Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Carmel Mission Inn to your Saves list
Carmel Mission Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Palo Alto
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“LOVE this place!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

So convenient. The dog friendly rooms are spacious, clean, and newly renovated. This is our second stay here and we loved it. The beds are also super comfortable. Friendly helpful staff. Very convenient location too

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PAPoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had driven up from LA along Big Sur, and were delightd with our stay in the Mission Inn. It was more than basic, but the price was good, and the location excellent. Carmel is beautiful, lovely beach, lovely mission - unfortunately we had no time for more, but if you are spending time in Carmel, you won't go wrong here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rafaela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I was a little anxious given some of negative Trip Advisor reviews I had read previously but we would the rooms of Carmel Mission Inn to be pretty much as per the hotel's websites. Very nice bathrooms as well with high end fixtures and finish. The hotel has a lovely feel - they must have an excellent gardener as the multitude of colourful potted flowers all over the hotel and pool really transformed what could be a typical American motel into much more.

Probably not the poshest place one could stay in Carmel given the deeper pocketed clientele but we'd say Carmel Mission Inn was one of nicer hotels on our 2 week trip in the US.

PS: recommend dinner at Pacific Heights - amazing views - book ahead and get there well before sunset to enjoy the views.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed one night for a last minute birthday getaway with my husband and our pup. The property is located between 2 shopping centers and just off of Hwy 1. The property is not new, but is nicely landscaped and the rooms are large, even with a king-size bed and separate table and chairs. Rooms are very clean and the grounds are nice. Heated pool, which we didn't use and work out room (also didn't use). Steps from the parking lot is The Barnyard Shopping Center that is quaint and has many upscale shops if that's your thing. We had breakfast at From Scratch; a breakfast restaurant in the shopping center which I highly recommend. You can sit outside with your pooch and the food is abundant and great. There is also a walking trail that runs next to the Inn where you can exercise your dog. The hotel is centrally located and their rates are reasonable considering you're in Carmel. It's a short drive to downtown or to get to the beach. We didn't notice noise from the highway, even though it is quite close to Hwy 1.

Room Tip: If you're worried about highway noise, request a room away from the highway. Steps from the park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb_Mich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OC CA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This hotel is outside of the "village" but only a few minutes away by car, and close to other shops and restaurants.
The rooms are small but functional, clean and bright.

My main complaint is that the music from the bar was very loud and continued almost until midnight.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoCalJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinton, Virginia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

A great place to stay. The Inn has friendly and helpful staff. We will use this place as our go to spot for Carmel. I'm a hotel snob, a tad obsessive about maintenance upkeep, clean carpets etc. At 1st glance the rooms color scheme throws you back and then you see the bathroom and check out the updated beds, by then you start to relax and settle into the experience. Carmel by the sea is a place that you will want to linger for a few days, so kick off your shoes and relax here. Dinged them for lack of accessible outlets for our electronic devices.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesli D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed for two nights as part of our PCH road trip. First impressions were good, access from highway 1 is very easy and a shopping mall directly behind the hotel provide several eatery and drinking venues plus a very large supermarket. We arrived 4 hours before the check in time but were allowed to go straight in and found our room to be large, comfortable and airy with all of the usual fittings.

Breakfast was ok and plentiful and certainly sets you up for the day. One big issue was waking up after the first night sleep only to find all of the water had been shut off to our part of the hotel due to an issue downstairs. This in turn washed mud into what looked like a nice pool and rendered that out of use. We managed a wash but some sort of apology and explanation would have been appreciated. This is why we have rated the hotel 3 stars instead of 4.

Carmel is as beautiful as the photos BUT be aware, it's about an hours walk into the town, it's quite hilly and there are no paths. We intended to walk in, have a meal and glass(or two) of wine then catch a taxi back - there are no taxis in Carmel! It is a very pretty walk but a ride home would have been the icing on the cake.

Top tips, sunset on the beach is like a dream, 17 Mile Drive is a must but take a picnic, Pebble Beach golf club is a must visit for golfers (golf very expensive, shop is fab and lunch in cafe very reasonable), Monteray is beautiful and the aquarium must be one of the best in the world.

Room Tip: All rooms seem ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DMFTEF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 562 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
3.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#20 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 377 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#8 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 399 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#17 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Mission Inn

Address: 3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Carmel
#11 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Mission Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our Carmel Ca. hotel you will find a quaint, yet stylish setting with an array of gracious amenities that include a heated pool, fitness center and the "Fuse" restaurant. We’ve truly created a destination within a destination. Additionally, we offer fantastic facilities for weddings, business meetings, retreats and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Carmel Mission Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Mission Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing