We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take the Breakfast Offer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Mission Inn

Save Saved
You added Carmel Mission Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 8 more sites!
Carmel Mission Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Breakfast/Cocktails!
Ranked #10 of 21 hotels in Carmel
Harrisburg, PA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Take the Breakfast Offer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is a fairly large hotel with free parking and very clean comfortable rooms. Our room was in the back of the hotel in a quiet area. When you check in, a breakfast is offered at a discounted price. Take the offer. It’s a good value for the money and very convenient. The hotel staff was great and assisted us with a problem we had with our rental car. We would stay here again if ever in the area.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for the many kind words about the Carmel Mission Inn. We are very proud of our hard-working and dedicated staff. Your recognition of their efforts will be shared with them. Stating that you would stay with us again is greatly appreciated and we thank you for your business. Please remember to contact the hotel direct or visit our website for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    315
    412
    124
    39
    35
See reviews for
240
430
26
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is a big hotel located by the highway and a retail park. Spacious, welll equipped and spotlessly clean rooms, a bit international in style for our taste. Rooms at the back are quieter. Excellent location to visit the Carmel Valley vineyards and for San Juan Bautista.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We appreciate your business as well as the many kind words written about our hotel. Our hard-working housekeeping staff does an extraordinary job in keeping our guestrooms clean and we thank you for recognizing their efforts. We hope you will choose to stay with us again whenever in the area and please remember to contact the hotel directly for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

My wife & I stayed at the Mission Inn as part of our 2nd leg along Highway 1. we only stayed 1 night but the hotel is very nice. It is right off Highway 1 so for anyone travelling on that route it's very handy. Bedrooms are very nice and spacious, and a good breakfast is a great start to the day. There is a complex next door which has places to eat, shops etc which is also nice. We ate at the italian restaurant and it was good. You need transport to go into Carmel town but it's only 5 mins away. We didn't get much time to look around but we did go to Monterey Pier which was great. Not as good as Fishermans Wharf in San Francisco but good anyway. There is a pool if the weather is good and overall wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: All the rooms appear spacious and clean. King beds as well. Very impressed with tihs hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We appreciate you sharing the experience as one of our valued guests and we are glad you would choose to stay with us again. It sounds like you took advantage of our bed and breakfast package which is truly our best value. We look forward to seeing you again and please remember to contact the hotel direct or visit our website for exclusive rates and packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Had a wonderful stay on a Friday night during the Monterey Jazz Festival. Room was spacious and clean, mattress and pillows were just right (a good sleep is the basic thing, right?) and the breakfast was simple but amazing (good coffee, great omelette, potatoes, bacon and chocolate cake). If it were also included in the price it would have been perfect!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
From your comments it sounds like you got a great night sleep at the Carmel Mission Inn. Mattresses can sometimes be a very subjective experience but it sounds like you enjoyed ours. You mentioned the good breakfasts which hopefully was part of our bed and breakfast package. We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again. Please remember to contact the hotel direct or visit our website for the best rates and packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

What a little gem , a very clean professionally run hotel , free wifi and lovely rooms. , a nice pool too , free parking and a lovely breakfast was a bonus , your only minutes from everything here , I would stay here again and again .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Intend to return is always very important to us and it seems like you truly enjoyed your stay at the Carmel Mission Inn. Our housekeeping staff works very hard to provide clean and comfortable guestrooms and as such we are very proud of them. It sounds like you took advantage of our bed and breakfast package which is a great value. We appreciate your business and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again. Please remember to contact the hotel direct for our best rates and packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

this hotel is an excellant place to stay in carmel. The rooms are clean and very comfortable. I cant say enough about the staff, from the time we checked in the entire staff was extremly friendly and helpfull. I didnt have any issues at all and would recommend this hotel to everyone. The location was perfect and the bar and restaurant was very nice. it just happened to be my birthday and they even recognized that and upgraded my room. Thank You all for a wonderfull experience and 5 star service, i will be back.

Room Tip: if you smoke get a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We truly appreciate your comments about friendly and helpful staff. We are very proud of their efforts and we thank you for your recognition. We also thank you for your stating you would stay with us again. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon. Please remember to contact the hotel direct for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a 2 night stop over in Carmel. Rooms were really clean and well equipped with things you might need. Staff were friendly and helpful. Located in between 2 shopping areas that were nice for a meander round and also with good and varied places to eat. Short hop down into town and the beaches so all in all a good place to stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We truly appreciate the many kind words you wrote about our hotel. We truly believe what separates us from the others is our great staff, who we are very proud of. We thank you for your business and hope to be able to serve you again. Please contact us directly or visit our websites for the best rates and packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carmel Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Mission Inn

Also Known As:
Carmel Mission Hotel Carmel
Carmel Mission Hotel
Best Western Carmel
Address: 3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Carmel
#10 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Mission Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our Carmel Ca. hotel you will find a quaint, yet stylish setting with an array of gracious amenities that include a heated pool, fitness center and the "Fuse" restaurant. We’ve truly created a destination within a destination. Additionally, we offer fantastic facilities for weddings, business meetings, retreats and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, T4B and Otel so you can book your Carmel Mission Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Mission Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.