We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Mission Inn

Save Saved
You added Carmel Mission Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carmel Mission Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Breakfast/Cocktails!
Ranked #12 of 21 hotels in Carmel
UK
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We've stayed here twice now, and although 'out of the village' - it's a quick drive or taxi trip in.

The hotel is clean and the service is good.

There are also some dining options within walking distance.

This hotel offers value for money - so I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
It is always good to hear from one of our loyal guests and I’m glad you still enjoy the cleanliness, the good service and the value we provide in this area. We know we are not perfect but our hard-working and dedicated staff tries to ensure a great stay for all of our guests. We thank you for your business and hope to see you again soon. Please remember to contact the hotel direct for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    342
    445
    149
    47
    38
See reviews for
286
468
28
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Checkin was not smooth as was told the rate I would be paying, I did inform the girl that I had already paid for our stay and would check to make sure. It's didn't seem to phase her! Once in room I did check and them returned to show proof of having paid to be told that she had noticed this once we had left! A call to the room would have been nice to let me know. Room itself was clean and big so no problem there. The hotel is far for the town so need to drive if you wish to eat in town. There is a lovely restaurant across the road (Rio bar and grill) plus other restaurants. Only ate breakfast in the hotel which was nice with plenty of food. Had a bit of a wait the second morning and not sure why as the hotel was not busy. Pool area nice and clean and pool warm.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We thank you for taking the time to review our Carmel California hotel. It appears we got off to the wrong start by not having your prepaid information readily available. For that I truly apologize and I will speak to our front office manager as to how this could have occurred. On the positive side we thank you for noting the cleanliness of our guestrooms. We hope to be able to serve you again and we truly appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Quality place and nice off the beaten path location as it is away from all the other hotels and motels in Carmel. Wonderful rooms and comfortable beds. Pool looked great, but did not use. Great bar and bar tenders. Happy hour snacks pretty good but value of happy hour well drinks compared to call not so good but generous pours. Very good breakfast Buffet and recommend pre-paying to save money.Only problem we had was at check in they said I did not have a reservation. Then they said my reservation was for several days later, which I said was impossible as I would be at my son's wedding on the central coast on that day. I made the reservation online and made a print out of the confirmation. Also had a reply email and showed it to them via my smartphone. Place looked packed but they found us the type of room we had reserved and on the floor requested, however it was on the back side of the hotel not pool side. Other than that, great place and will stay here again.

Room Tip: Double check your reservation ahead of time!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
From your many fine comments it seems like you truly enjoyed your stay at the Carmel Mission Inn. It also seems like you took advantage of our bed and breakfast package which is a great value. We truly appreciate your business and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again. Please remember to contact the hotel direct or visit our website for those exclusive rates and packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Have stayed before............but this time, not so hot
Mold in bathroom was gross.
Service a bit lacking........(O.K. really lacking)
Still a great location, we walked to Carmel Beach. Lovely
The bar / restaurant was like a ghost town
Still a great location

Room Tip: Ask for one without mold
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
From your comments it appears that we did not meet your expectations and that is of concern to us. You noted that we had a good location but your room experience was somewhat subpar. Upon investigation the bathroom ceiling that you pointed out was in fact stained from a water leak in the room above. Apparently guests in the room above yours had flooded the bathroom by leaving the shower curtain outside the bathtub. It is our fault for not catching the damage to the room below and for that I truly apologize. We appreciate your business and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida, USA
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Good value for the money spent; this is a very expensive area of California, The rooms and common areas need to be updated. Beds were comfortable. The restaurant on site was not very good, but there are quite a few other much better dining choices within walking distance. I would not hesitate to stay there if I were to return to the area in the future, and it is a beautiful area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It seemed that you enjoyed our good location, comfortable beds and the value you received. When someone indicates they would stay with us again we believe our efforts are on the mark. We truly value your business and hope you will stay with us again. Please remember to contact us directly or visit our website for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Our check in process was easy and smooth. The room was great, comfy and clean. We had the breakfast vouchers and when we went to eat, our server, Anita, was just terrible. She asked if we wanted coffee as she was walking away. My husband then had to ask for a glass since she didnt offer any other beverage and he saw a water pitcher on the ledge, so he was just going to serve himself. It is a buffet, so we expected that we would get our own food, but the server did not smile, did not ask how we were, nothing. We waited and waited for our check (drinks are extra), and when we finally got the attention of another server, she said Anita was all over the place today. The hostess then brought us our check as Anita just watched in the back. Not once did she check up on us. I was relieved when we did NOT have her as our server the next day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I'm not a big fan of Carmel, but I really enjoyed the vibe at this place. Outstanding for tennis players and people who want to walk on the beach. Walking distance to the art galleries. Excellent restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Mission Inn

Address: 3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Carmel
#13 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Mission Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our Carmel Ca. hotel you will find a quaint, yet stylish setting with an array of gracious amenities that include a heated pool, fitness center and the "Fuse" restaurant. We’ve truly created a destination within a destination. Additionally, we offer fantastic facilities for weddings, business meetings, retreats and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, T4B, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Carmel Mission Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Mission Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Mission Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.