We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“will stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Mission Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Carmel Mission Inn to your Saves list
Carmel Mission Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Breakfast/Cocktails!
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
Grass Valley, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“will stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Clean and quiet rooms, pleasant staff, well located, with easy access to town and the mission. Breakfast was not included, but there are several restaurants nearby, within walking distance, as well as a pharmacy and grocery store. Pleasant public spaces, lobby, pool area and patio.

Room Tip: 4th floor, balcony, corner suite, quiet and comfortable. No counter room in the bath was awkward.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
For us the greatest vote of confidence is someone’s intention to “stay with us again”. We are glad that you found our guestrooms to be clean and quiet. We are also very proud of our staff and it seems like they took good care of you. You mentioned that breakfast was not included. We do offer a bed and breakfast plan which is a great value. We hope you will choose to stay with us again and take advantage of this exclusive offer which is only available on our website or by calling the hotel direct. We sincerely thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    466
    150
    46
    38
See reviews for
304
486
29
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

As others have said, it looks a little tired on the outside, but perfectly fine on the inside. Not quite in the heart of Carmel, but only a couple of miles away, so you pay lower rates. Rooms were spacious and reasonably well appointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thanks for reviewing our Carmel hotel and we are glad you took a look inside and were pleasantly surprised. Many people have commented that the ordinary exterior somewhat hides our remodeled interior, friendly staff and excellent service. We truly appreciate your business and hope to see you again. Please contact us directly for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had an enjoyable stay here, the room was nicely decorated and comfortable. The buffet breakfast was the best that we had in a hotel throughout our two weeks in California- a lovely fresh fruit salad each day, good choice of bacon, sausage etc in the hot section and a range of cakes and pastries. Pool area was nice and surrounded by beautiful shrubs and plants. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We walked to the Mission from here but you need a car to see anything else of the area which we felt was the only drawback of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Have to be honest, I booked this hotel by mistake. The name was similar with another in Carmel, but due to the 48 hour cancellation policy, we stayed the required two nights, but checked out early and did not stay the additional time. The first time we knew we were in trouble was when we saw the age of the hotel from the outside, and saw the busy road and commercial areas surrounding the hotel. The hotel appeared to be what I would characterize as a motor lodge. We like hotels with scenic views--even if it's of the hotel gardens, which this did not have. The choices were the busy road and the noisy pool with the hills as a back drop, or the parking lot and strip mall, with the hills as a back drop. My chief complaints were that the bedroom (double queen) was pretty standard, but the room had a dank and mildewy odor, and the carpet had ground-in dirt that would require replacement, rather than shampooing and vacuuming. I assume that the smell of the room probably stems from the carpet: age and/or dirt that has become one with the carpet. The worst part was that for the price of the room, we could have stayed at a hotel right in the village, as we have done before, or in one of the hotels surrounding the scenic areas of Carmel and the ocean. Thus, the value wasn't even there. And oh yeah, I have to mention that at the rear main parking area of the hotel, the housekeepers were openly doing laundry, with the laundry room doors wide open, and had bins of towels part way into the parking lot, as though this was an attraction to see. That was my second red flag, before entering the building to go to our room. Oh, to be fair, one nice thing, the bathrooms were updated, but it's pretty sad when you wish you could sleep in the bathroom, because it's the nicest part of the room. There is no circumstance where we would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This hotel is deceptive it is much nicer on the inside we had two rooms next door to each other both were bright, clean and spacious. The restaurant was very nice, breakfast was include, the food was good with plenty of choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my family for 3 nights as we came last year and really enjoyed our stay, however this year wasn't as good as we had expected. The room was nicely designed however around the window wasn't too clean. The room did though, however the beds weren't overalls comfy and there was a lot of outside noise going on when you were trying to sleep. The actual bedding was a bit annoying and it all separated when I slept, but that may just be me! The pool area is nice and the location is very handy. Having the included breakfast was lovely however the first morning was extremely busy and we had to wait 20 minutes to get a table, aswell on the second morning it wasn't very busy at all compared to the morning before and we had to ask 5 times to get a glass of tap water which in my opinion is not on considering you have to pay extra to get jucie.
All round it was a good base to look round near by towns.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Very spacious and comfortable room with fridge and balcony. Great band on SA night. Fitness room and hot tub were just right. Service in restaurant and bar was excellent. Many shops and restaurants within walking distance of hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Mission Inn

Address: 3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Carmel
#12 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Mission Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our Carmel Ca. hotel you will find a quaint, yet stylish setting with an array of gracious amenities that include a heated pool, fitness center and the "Fuse" restaurant. We’ve truly created a destination within a destination. Additionally, we offer fantastic facilities for weddings, business meetings, retreats and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Carmel Mission Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Mission Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Mission Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.