We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got What We Asked For” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Mission Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Carmel Mission Inn to your Saves list
Carmel Mission Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Breakfast/Cocktails!
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Luis Obispo, CA
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Got What We Asked For”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The hubby and I always ask for a quiet room on the upper floor, and that was exactly what we got. The room also had a nice balcony.
We enjoyed soaking in the large jacuzzi and the peace and quiet of our room.
We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It sounds like we met your expectations and you enjoyed peace and quiet during your stay with us. When someone states that they would stay with us again it seems like our efforts are worthwhile. We truly appreciate your business and hope you will come again soon. Please remember to contact the hotel direct or visit our website for the best rates and packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    514
    162
    49
    38
See reviews for
337
526
33
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orangevale, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed here as a recommendation for son's wedding. At first we weren't sure but was told it is nice. We weren't disappointed !!! Had two rooms outside reminds me of the 70's retro maybe...
But inside newly remodeled and everything new or it seemed. decor reminds me of retro a bit but bright and cheery. Very comfortable no complaints...great price in Nov. too. Found out Nov is best time to go because it's clear no fog and was around 82 degrees on private beach on wedding day. Stayed an extra night and saw the sights. At the time price was crazy low. All around hotel was mini outdoor malls to check out and places to eat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for the review of our Carmel California hotel and by saying this is a “great place”. Your comfort is our top priority and our hard-working staff tries hard to make sure that you are pleased. We truly appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon. Please remember to contact the hotel direct for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed in a room with 2 queen beds. Room was clean and comfortable. Beds were good, shower was good. Location is conveniently off the 1. While you are not in the middle of Carmel, there are some advantages to the location to access the Penninsula. The Barnyard shopping is out the back of the hotel and Cross roads shopping center is out the front and across the street. Great breakfast at From Scratch in the Barnyard. We picked up some excellent fruit at a small farmers market in the Barnyard parking lot on Tues morning. I would recommend this hotel and stay again.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor which was fine. It looked like the forth floor had balconies off the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thanks for your review of our Carmel CA hotel. When someone states that they find the hotel clean and comfortable our staff is pleased that their hard work and dedication is recognized. We sincerely appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again. Please remember to contact the hotel direct or visit our website for the best rates and packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here while driving down the California coast. The hotel is older but it has modern touches. The beds are very comfortable and the robes provided for use during our stay were very nice. The hotel is located directly behind a gas. The parking lot is to the back of the hotel which is next to a restaurant. The hotel is nice but the location is ackward. The shops are nearby and so is a shopping center that includes a supermarket. Overall its a nice hotel except for its location.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for the review of the Carmel Mission Inn. We are pleased that you rated our operation as a “nice hotel”. A good night’s sleep is also important and I’m glad that you found our beds to be comfortable. We truly appreciate your business and hope you will choose to stay with us again. Please remember to contact the hotel direct for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The experience we had every time has been the same. The service, staff, the cleanliness of the rooms, decor,the pool and spa was fantastic and would love to stay here the next time we are in the area.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms looking south have great views. The corner suites are large and sunny. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our Carmel California hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed our service, friendly staff and clean guestrooms. We truly appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon. Please remember to contact the hotel direct for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The hotel was nice. The suite is equipped with a dining room, a living room, and a bedroom with king bed. The bathroom has a shower and a bath tub with shower. The hotel also has nice swimming pool and hot tub. Unfortunately, we were dissapointed with the service. We made a reservation for a room with a view with two double beds as we have two kids with us. When we arrived, we found out that our room had been given away, even though we had called in advance to let them know that we were coming. To compensate for it, we were given a suite with king size bed with a pull-out sofa bed, and free breakfast.
As we were preparing the pull-out sofa bed for the kids, we found some hair (maybe dog hair?) and some dark colour dirt (not sure what it was) on the pull-out sofa sheet (the sheet was already on the pull-out bed). I called the front desk to request for a fresh set of sheets, but was given two mattress covers and two blankets instead. As it was very late and we were very tired, we decided to pile on the king size bed although it was really tight.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thanks for your review of our hotel and by saying that this is a “nice hotel”. I am sorry that we were unable to accommodate your original room reservation but I hope the suite made your stay with us comfortable. Your comments about finding hair on the pullout sofa have been addressed with our executive housekeeper. As you will note from many of the reviews our hotel is generally rated very clean. We are truly sorry about our mistake and rest assured that this matter is being rectified. We truly appreciate your business and hope to see you again. Please remember to contact the hotel direct or visit our website for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is a good hotel especially if you have dogs. The decor is very mid-century modern reminding of a place in Mad Men season 6. The hotel is situated by two major shopping and restaurant strip malls. You can go to the Safeway at the Cross Roads shopping center across the road. You can walk to the BarnYard Shopping center which has many restaurants. We stayed and did day trips to Big Sur. This hotel is clean and the beds are comfortable. The only cons of this place is the lack of an elevator and many times the stair well was dark. The lights weren't turned on for some reason in the stair well. They had a pool but I didn't try it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We thank you for the review of our Carmel hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed our convenient location, our comfortable beds and our clean guestrooms. We are very proud of our housekeeping staff and they work very hard to make sure that cleanliness is a top priority. We appreciate your business and hope you will choose to stay with us again. Please remember to contact the hotel direct or visit our website for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Mission Inn

Address: 3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Carmel
#12 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Mission Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our Carmel Ca. hotel you will find a quaint, yet stylish setting with an array of gracious amenities that include a heated pool, fitness center and the "Fuse" restaurant. We’ve truly created a destination within a destination. Additionally, we offer fantastic facilities for weddings, business meetings, retreats and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel and Odigeo so you can book your Carmel Mission Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Mission Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Mission Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.