We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Times to remember” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Mission Inn

Save Saved
You added Carmel Mission Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carmel Mission Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Breakfast/Cocktails!
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
Sacramento, California
1 review
“Times to remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The experience we had every time has been the same. The service, staff, the cleanliness of the rooms, decor,the pool and spa was fantastic and would love to stay here the next time we are in the area.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms looking south have great views. The corner suites are large and sunny. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our Carmel California hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed our service, friendly staff and clean guestrooms. We truly appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon. Please remember to contact the hotel direct for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    455
    149
    47
    38
See reviews for
293
470
28
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntersville, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The hotel was nice. The suite is equipped with a dining room, a living room, and a bedroom with king bed. The bathroom has a shower and a bath tub with shower. The hotel also has nice swimming pool and hot tub. Unfortunately, we were dissapointed with the service. We made a reservation for a room with a view with two double beds as we have two kids with us. When we arrived, we found out that our room had been given away, even though we had called in advance to let them know that we were coming. To compensate for it, we were given a suite with king size bed with a pull-out sofa bed, and free breakfast.
As we were preparing the pull-out sofa bed for the kids, we found some hair (maybe dog hair?) and some dark colour dirt (not sure what it was) on the pull-out sofa sheet (the sheet was already on the pull-out bed). I called the front desk to request for a fresh set of sheets, but was given two mattress covers and two blankets instead. As it was very late and we were very tired, we decided to pile on the king size bed although it was really tight.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thanks for your review of our hotel and by saying that this is a “nice hotel”. I am sorry that we were unable to accommodate your original room reservation but I hope the suite made your stay with us comfortable. Your comments about finding hair on the pullout sofa have been addressed with our executive housekeeper. As you will note from many of the reviews our hotel is generally rated very clean. We are truly sorry about our mistake and rest assured that this matter is being rectified. We truly appreciate your business and hope to see you again. Please remember to contact the hotel direct or visit our website for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is a good hotel especially if you have dogs. The decor is very mid-century modern reminding of a place in Mad Men season 6. The hotel is situated by two major shopping and restaurant strip malls. You can go to the Safeway at the Cross Roads shopping center across the road. You can walk to the BarnYard Shopping center which has many restaurants. We stayed and did day trips to Big Sur. This hotel is clean and the beds are comfortable. The only cons of this place is the lack of an elevator and many times the stair well was dark. The lights weren't turned on for some reason in the stair well. They had a pool but I didn't try it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We thank you for the review of our Carmel hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed our convenient location, our comfortable beds and our clean guestrooms. We are very proud of our housekeeping staff and they work very hard to make sure that cleanliness is a top priority. We appreciate your business and hope you will choose to stay with us again. Please remember to contact the hotel direct or visit our website for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I agree with my fellow reviewers about this Inn, its in a great location not far from Carmel River State Beach and Cabrillo Highway / Route 1 all local amenities are on your doorstep. The staff are very friendly and helpful, rooms are clean and tidy with plenty of room. A nice small pool in the centre of the inn. Unfortunately my stay was overshadowed by a poor nights sleep as my room was next to the car park and their was a wedding on during my stay. So I had to endure constant noise from the departing guests and banging of car doors etc: In the morning I went for breakfast as I had a voucher, the food was basic but was hot and tasty, plates a bit on the small side but overall food was quite nice. I found a local Subways in which to buy my lunch for the pleasant days trip down the Pacific coast highway.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the car park if you want a peaceful nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for the comments about our Carmel hotel. We are very pleased that you think we have a great location and an outstanding staff. They work extremely hard to make sure our guests have a good experience while visiting Carmel. We truly appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again. Please remember to contact the hotel direct or visit our website for the best rates, packages and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topsham, Maine
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

You will read that this is a refurbished hotel, and that is true, but what a great makeover it must have had! Rooms were spacious and quiet, nicely decorated in blues and greens. On checkin, you can lock in a daily breakfast buffet for $9.95, and we're glad we did! This was the perfect launching pad for exploring Carmel, Pebble Beach and 17-Mile Drive, Monterey, and Big Sur! The upscale shopping and dining of the Barnyard is right next door! We would stay here again!

Room Tip: If you are in the wing closest to the Barnyard, you will have a very short walk to some fine shops a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We thank you for your review and kind words about our hotel. I’m glad you enjoyed our hotel rooms and also your statement that you would stay with us again. We are very proud of our hard-working and dedicated staff and in our mind that is what makes this hotel a gem. We appreciate your business and hope you will come and stay with us again soon. Please remember to contact the hotel direct for our best rates and packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great location and great value. A newly updated interior of the hotel. The staff is excellent, especially Kemi and Rana. They could not have been more friendly or professional. For location, price and service, this property delivers on all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your review of our Carmel hotel and the comments about our friendly and professional staff. Your recognition of Kemi and Rana will be shared with them as they are true hard-working, industry professionals. We are also glad that you enjoyed our convenient location combined with our great value. We truly appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again. Please remember to contact the hotel direct or visit our website for the best rates and packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay area
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I chose this hotel based on the good reviews, and now I believe all good reviews are legit :)

Location is excellent! Easy access to Hwy 1, Ocean Ave and all major attractions. The only tricky part is the entrance sign is easy to miss on the Rio Road, it's actually next to Chervon gas station. The exterior of the inn doesn't look fancy at all, but the interior has been renovated nicely. I loved the ocean themed wall art and matching curtain, and even the beautiful table lamp.

We got there around 2pm but our room wasn't ready. The front desk lady was really nice and friendly, she spent time talking to me and gave me a map and some restaurant coupons, as well as the direction to Ocean Ave. When I came back later a gentleman gave me the room key, no lines at all. All staff I talked to were extremely friendly.

Our room was on the 2nd floor, Rm 243, the gentleman told me that I need to use stairs in the back, but still it took me a while to find the correct stairs. I'd suggest the hotel provide a simple drawing to help us locate the stairs.

The bed was very comfy, free wi-fi, and even an extra folding bed. Everything seems very new!

The breakfast was good. I've got complimentary breakfast since it's the room of 2. Otherwise it's $9 per person. Orange juice costs extra $3.50 sounds a bit strange.

Overall I had a fantastic stay here, and would recommend it to anyone visiting Carmel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We are pleased at your description of our cozy hotel. We are also glad that you enjoyed our convenient location and renovated guestrooms. As you have noted we have a very friendly staff that is mentioned throughout many reviews of our property. We are very proud of our staff and the job they do in representing our community. We truly appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again. Just remember to contact the hotel direct or visit our website for the best rates and service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Mission Inn

Address: 3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Carmel
#13 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Mission Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our Carmel Ca. hotel you will find a quaint, yet stylish setting with an array of gracious amenities that include a heated pool, fitness center and the "Fuse" restaurant. We’ve truly created a destination within a destination. Additionally, we offer fantastic facilities for weddings, business meetings, retreats and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Carmel Mission Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Mission Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Mission Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.