We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Mission Inn

Save Saved
You added Carmel Mission Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carmel Mission Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Breakfast/Cocktails!
Ranked #12 of 21 hotels in Carmel
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

The staff here were lovely and really helpful, we were on our honeymoon and received a free upgrade to a room with a balcony which we loved! It had lovely views of the mountains. The pool and hot tub were lovely and we had a nice time sat out in the sun. We went for dinner at the Rio Grill opposite the hotel, the happy hour was great! Sadly we missed the hotel happy hour but as Safeway is opposite the hotel we stocked up on snacks for the balcony! And finally the breakfast is delicious and plentiful, highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    342
    450
    149
    47
    38
See reviews for
288
469
28
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La Quinta, Ca
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed three nights in a corner suite with our two dogs. This was our first stay in a suite although we had stayed there several times previously. It was perfect for us and having the extra space and frig and microwave was great. The staff is excellent and housekeeping keeps the rooms immaculate. The location is perfect and a short walk to the Barnyard. Will definitely be coming back. Carmel is very dog friendly and the town is filled with fabulous restaurants

Room Tip: pet rooms are on the first floor and there are plenty of areas to walk your pets away from the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed in the Carmel Mission Inn for two nights. We had a great time: nice and spacious rooms, delicious breakfast, and helpful staff. Front desk staff recommended trips in the area and gave us hints to avoid "tourist traps". We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

If your thinking of doing a road trip down CA Hwy 1, then don't miss out the delights of the little town of Carmel. during our visit we stayed at the Carmel Mission Inn. It everything it's says it is and a little more too. The location would suggest otherwise, but in reality it's a great location, close the the Mission, the town itself and the highway itself. The staff are awesome, very helpful and full of helpful hints and tips. Whilst I'd say the original inn was built in the 60's it has been well maintained and regularly updated. The grounds and gardens are so well kept its untrue. The lobby and public areas are very smart and give a relaxed yet very professional approach. The room we had, which was part of a package deal, was clear, well furnished and decorated in a very upbeat yet not garish way. The bathroom was one of the best I ever come across in any hotel. Each room has a safe, flat screen TV and complimentary WiFi.

The bar is very relaxing and you can get a good choice of meals if you'd rather not go out to eat. The food we tried, mainly the breakfast was very good considering ours was complimentary and we had the same buffet bar as every other guest.

They had a band playing in the bar the evening we stayed and it was great all local musicians, great fun.

The staff really go out of the way to make sure that your stay if as comfortable as possible.

All round a really great hotel, that is an ideal base to explore the area, We will certainly be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Everything has been redone so very clean, even the hallways. I was happy with the bathroom except the silly sliding door which does not close all the way and there is no fan! Otherwise, the bathroom was clean and the room was cheerfully decorated. There was a lovely sitting area outside with a fire pit and fountain and lots of seating with fencing and flowering vines for some privacy. The breakfast was just okay, but reasonably priced. Carmel is a nice place to stay, away from busy Monterey, but close enough for an easy drive, but the pictures on the internet give the impression that this hotel is really secluded. We had to drive through a gas station to get there! The wonders of photography! Once we got over the shock that we had really arrived at the right hotel, we did enjoy our stay.

Room Tip: Make sure your fan works. Ours didn't and it would have helped to drown out the noise. It wasn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thanks for your comments about our “great hotel” and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Our housekeeping staff works hard to make sure our rooms are very clean. The garden area and the fire pit truly are enjoyable. We truly appreciate your business and hope to be able to serve you again. Please remember to contact the hotel direct or visit our website for the best rates and packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Someone with vision and creativity took this sleeper of a property and made it into a VERY comfortable place.

The staff made our 5 night stay most enjoyable. My husband and I travel often on business and have developed certain hotel requests at every property we check-in to: extra wash cloths, extra bath mat, an extra luggage rack, extra decaf coffee, light blanket to replace the heavy bedspread ... and although two of those things are one time deliveries - the others needed to be attended to daily and their housekeeping staff handled those requests daily and without fail.

The morning restaurant staff was attentive, cheerful and accommodating.

Although the staff deserves primary accolades, the grounds were something to write home about, too. The property is an older building - likely constructed in the 60s (Mom enjoyed it way back when) ... with a slow elevator and parking just enough for hotel capacity ... but the landscaping is creative and beautiful - lushly and thoughtfully planted. Pleasantly surprised and accommodated!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about our Carmel hotel and especially for commenting on our staff. We are very proud of our team and they do work very hard to enhance the guest experience at our hotel. We truly appreciate your business and hope to see you again. Please remember to contact the hotel direct or visit our website for exclusive rates and packages
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was our second stay at the Carmel Mission Inn. We were as pleased this time as we were the first time. We had a room overlooking the pool which was very nice. The pool is a nice added bonus to this property as there are not a lot of hotels in Carmel with pools. The restaurant was good as was the lounge and entertainment. Overall a very pleasant stay and we will return on our next trip to Carmel.

Room Tip: I particularly like the rooms with a balcony as you can sit outside and look over into the pool area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
We are always thankful for repeat guests and we truly appreciate your business. I’m glad you enjoyed the heated pool and hot tub area which are very popular with both couples and traveling families. It sounds like you took advantage of our bed and breakfast package and enjoyed our restaurant. We hope to see you again soon and please remember to contact the hotel direct for the best rates and packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Mission Inn

Address: 3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Carmel
#12 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Mission Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our Carmel Ca. hotel you will find a quaint, yet stylish setting with an array of gracious amenities that include a heated pool, fitness center and the "Fuse" restaurant. We’ve truly created a destination within a destination. Additionally, we offer fantastic facilities for weddings, business meetings, retreats and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Carmel Mission Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Mission Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Mission Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.