We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Mission Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Carmel Mission Inn to your Saves list
Carmel Mission Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast/Cocktails!
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We checked in for a couple of nights after long flight and then drive from San Francisco. Classic California hotel with nice grounds, pool and updated decor. Staff was quite helpful. Only complaint from my wife is that we were too far from central area of Carmel for easy walk so we needed to drive over for dinner that night. Very convenient to Monterey downtown too--maybe 15 minutes away. We didn't eat at the hotel, although one night they had nice band playing in lounge. It was immediately adjacent to Barnyard with the acclaimed From Scratch where we had breakfast.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
When someone makes a comment like “nice place” we are taken back to our simple yet humble beginnings. We are very proud of our hard-working, dedicated staff and honestly believe they are the best in our area. We thank you for your kind words and hope we will have the opportunity to serve you again. Please remember to contact the hotel direct or visit our website for exclusive rates and packages
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    481
    152
    46
    38
See reviews for
311
501
29
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middlewich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We only had one night here on our Californian road trip holiday, but found it to be most enjoyable.

Our room was large, light, with comfortable beds and an excellent shower. The restaurant was a real surprise, happy hour with half price drinks included a lovely free hot buffet too, one of the cheapest night's we've ever had. The two ladies on the bar and waiting on tables were lovely and friendly and very pleasant.

Breakfast was equally good, all in all, a good place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thanks for your great comments about our staff. You mention our happy hour offering which is somewhat of a secret in the Carmel area. Many consider it the best offering on the Monterey Peninsula. Great drink prices combined with a fabulous happy hour food offering makes it a great place to be for happy hour. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon. Please contact the hotel direct or visit our website for the best rates and packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Great find on trip advisor. Clean spacious rooms. Asked for exterior room for easy car unloading and got it but interior rooms overlooking the pool look nice. Great location convenient only a short drive downtown . Good service and breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about the Carmel Mission Inn. They will be shared with our hard-working and dedicated staff that truly enjoys hearing about the good things people have to say about their efforts. It sounds like you enjoyed our bed and breakfast package which is truly a great value. We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again. Please remember to contact the hotel direct or visit our website for the best rates and packages
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Carmel is really woth a visit, you can park the car and wander around street after street of wonderfull shops and gallery's.Restaurant's and eateries are on every cnr and the whole village has a positive buzz about it.
We had a nice room at the Inn and everything was as it should be.
We did however ignore the advice of the front desk to eat in the village, and we foud a fab restaurant and bar, right across the road in a small shopping village.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
I am pleased that you found our hotel "very comfy" and hope we will get the opportunity to serve you again. That great restaurant across the street you referred to must have been the Rio Grill. They do a fabulous job and are also one of our top recommendations. We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again. Please remember to contact the hotel direct for the best rates and packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We like staying here becaue of its proximity to the Barnyard and Crossroads Shopping Centers. Check in was a pain the two times we went there, but not because of a lack of customer service. The groups of people checking in just took a long time and were confused by how to reserve online. The rooms itself are nice, though overall the hotel feels like it was just refreshed---the newer paint is starting to fade and it feels like a motel from the 70s That being said, it's convenient to get to the ocean (we biked to Monterey one morning) and great restaurants are steps away (love the Rio Grill!). We had free coupons for the breakfast buffet, though next time I will skip the buffet and head to the yummy breakfast place at the Barnyard.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My wife and I came here to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We came up with a package that included breakfast for each night we stayed. The breakfast was excellent and the accommodations were also very good; a great value. The Inn give you a couple of complementary beverage tickets to the "happy hour" in their restaurant. However, it was not clear that the restaurant served dinner. This is unfortunate as the food, service, and value are outstanding for this restaurant. Thus the name for this posting.

A follow up - There is a pizza place directly behind the Inn - It is great and a good value as well. We ate there the first of the three nights we stayed at the CMI. Our anniversary was the next night and without the knowledge above we selected the Bahamas' island Steakhouse; it had good reviews on the Internet. That was a mistake. While the service was good the food was marginal and I would not recommend it to anyone. I love fried calamari as an appetizer, but over cooked calamari is like eating rubber bands and their "T bone special" was almost eatable.

If you are staying at the Carmel Mission inn (I would recommend that) then you should definitely try their restaurant early in your stay; the food is very good, the service is friendly and excellent, and the value is there; plus no driving or just a short walk back to your room.

Room Tip: Rooms that fact the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

They lost my credit card authorization form and treated me like a criminal when they couldn't find it, as if I was trying to commit fraud. They wound up having to hold the entire balance of my stay on two distinct credit cards. Very disorganized.

Room service stopped by my room randomly at 11pm to bring me an extra (uncomfortable) robe. Not sure what that was all about and why they felt the need to wake me for that. Good thing though, because...

The showers do not have doors. This makes for a very drafty shower, and a wet floor. Extra robe made for a wider bathmat than the towels.

Room was very cold and the heating/AC unit was broken.

Rooms get an inordinate amount of sunlight at 6:45 and the blackout curtains are not very blackout.

Walls are quite thin.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for room with a shower door. Otherwise you're in for a drafty shower. Make su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Mission Inn

Address: 3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Carmel
#12 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Mission Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our Carmel Ca. hotel you will find a quaint, yet stylish setting with an array of gracious amenities that include a heated pool, fitness center and the "Fuse" restaurant. We’ve truly created a destination within a destination. Additionally, we offer fantastic facilities for weddings, business meetings, retreats and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Carmel Mission Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Mission Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Mission Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.