We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frequent Guest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Mission Inn

Save Saved
You added Carmel Mission Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carmel Mission Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Breakfast/Cocktails!
Ranked #12 of 21 hotels in Carmel
Hillsborough, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Frequent Guest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My husband and I and friends have consistently returned to the Carmel Mission Inn for overnights, or weekends away. It is consistently good. The rooms are comfortable and well serviced. Staff is helpful and we always feel well accommodated. The breakfast, offered for a small extra charge with the room, is spectacular. Don't miss this place. It's a great place at a bargain rate.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    340
    443
    147
    47
    37
See reviews for
282
468
28
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burlingame, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

From arrival at the front desk to the rooms to the great wiait staff in the restaurant, this hotel succeeds in offering great customer service. It is a tremendous value for the price. The built in breakfasts for two are delicious and the two complimentary cocktails are a nice touch.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incline Village, Nevada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Excellent location, very nice rooms, free wifi,excellent staff and dog friendly
We have stayed there several times and it will continue to be our place to stay in Carmel
We highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbrae, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

If you are looking for a reasonably priced accommodation in the Carmel area, I highly recommend the Carmel Mission Inn. We needed 2 rooms for 2 nights and we didn't want to break the bank. The CMI was the perfect selection and here's why. We felt the room pricing was fair given a comparison of other properties. The location is not in the Carmel By The Sea district, but it is close enough to walk if you wanted to. The hotel backs up the Barnyard Shopping Center and is across the street from the Crossroads Shopping Center. We liked that we could walk to Starbucks. The hotel offers a pretty decent breakfast option for $9 per and there was live music on at least one of the nights we were there. Renovated lobby rooms, bathrooms, flat screen TV and good beds.

Room Tip: try to get a room facing into the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for the review of our Carmel CA hotel. I’m glad you found our hotel a good value and were able to take advantage of our bed and breakfast package. We feature live music on Friday and Saturday evenings from some of the top local talent. We truly appreciate your business and hope to serve you again soon. Please remember to contact the hotel direct or visit our website for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Our mattress was wonderful! It's located right off Hwy 1. Quick drive to the beach and the scenic rd. We love Carmel!!! We did the 17 mile drive to get here and it was well worth it. Brunch at Pebble Beach was delightful (super expensive). The hotel has a heated pool, fitness center, and a hot tub. We are only 8 minutes from point lobos.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments about the Carmel Mission Inn. We are very proud of our staff and feel they do an excellent job. We are conveniently located near Point Lobos and were glad you were able to see the park. We truly appreciate your business and hope you will choose to stay with us again. Please remember to contact the hotel direct or visit our website for those exclusive rates and packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My daughter was married in September 2012. We looked at many, many venues throughout the area until we were cross-eyed. My advise is: stop looking and go with the Carmel Mission Inn! The coordinator, Fran, was a tremendous help, coordinated things without problem, and provided many benefits that others charged extra for. What can I say. Ballroom, reception area, and dining area were set up impeccably, food was hot, very good, served at a good clip, beverages served constantly, and dishes for each course removed promptly. The staff also clearly enjoyed the celebration. Couldn't have been better! Many of our guests stayed in the hotel after the reception and had a great time! No...I don't work for them!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
We are truly pleased that your wedding reception was a huge success here at the Carmel Mission Inn. Thanks in particular for mentioning our hard-working staff. We truly appreciate your business and hope we will have the opportunity to serve you again. Please remember to contact the hotel directly for the best rates, packages and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend seminar and brought my husband and 2 dogs. Hotel is right across the street from the Crossroads shopping center where there are several restaurants a local coffee shop and the ever-present...Starbucks.

Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. They even gave us a late check out to 1 pm when asked! Cost per dog was $35 for the entire stay. That's a good deal - most places charge per dog per day. All doggie rooms are on the first floor only.

Free wi-fi, but our room, #139 didn't get access for some reason. So, before you unpack and get comfortable, see if you can get wi-fi in the room.

I was prepared for the room's color because I looked at the photos on their website. My husband wasn't and the first thing that came out of his mouth was..."Wow...green". Yep. All shades of aqua and green, but very tastefully "under the sea" kind of decor. The bed was a bit firm for me, but not rock solid. A nice surprise was the L'Occitane shampoo/conditioner/bath gel in the bathroom.

The hotel has an outdoor pool and spa my husband deemed acceptable. Nothing special.

Bathroom areas for doggies is a mixture of dirt and pine needles on the edge of the parking lot with doggie bags and waste cans nearby.

Overall, a good deal if you are traveling with your doggies. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment about the Carmel Mission Inn. We are very proud of our front office staff and your comments will be shared with them. We are also pleased that you found our hotel a good value and would stay with us again. We truly appreciate your business and hope you will choose the Carmel Mission Inn when visiting this lovely area. Please remember to contact the hotel direct for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Mission Inn

Address: 3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Carmel
#13 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Mission Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our Carmel Ca. hotel you will find a quaint, yet stylish setting with an array of gracious amenities that include a heated pool, fitness center and the "Fuse" restaurant. We’ve truly created a destination within a destination. Additionally, we offer fantastic facilities for weddings, business meetings, retreats and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Travelocity, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Carmel Mission Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Mission Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Mission Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.