We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Mission Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Carmel Mission Inn to your Saves list
Carmel Mission Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast/Cocktails!
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Meadow Vista, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable and Convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed at the property on a crowded and busy Christmas holiday. Our check-in was handled with expediency, although there was a bit of a waiting line (it was 4 p.m. check-in time).
Our third floor room (there are four floors, I believe) was just as we hoped, but larger. Nicely appointed room, and clean. It faced the parking lot and the Barnyard shoping area. But, we weren't there for the view. Large double window lets in plenty of light, but when the shades are drawn, the room stays nice and dark to facilitate sleeping in.
Room is quiet.
Terrycloth robes!
3 minute walk to Starbuck's.
Didn't try the hotel restaurant, but "From Scratch" restaurant in the Barnyard serves up a tasty breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    507
    161
    49
    38
See reviews for
332
522
33
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Maria, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

My fiance and I took our infant on his first road trip - a winter getaway to Carmel. What a memorable and special time we had in the gorgeous Carmel Mission Inn! The room was spotless, beautifully appointed, comfortable and just totally wonderful - especially the patio which overlooked the pool area. A small refrigerator was provided, which was so helpful, in keeping bottles and baby food chilled until the baby was ready for them.

Surprisingly (or not, this is the Central Coast after all), the weather in late November was gorgeous and our baby enjoyed his first pool experience (using a swim diaper, of course), which we captured with our camcorder. The pool was beautiful and the staff thoughtfully provides a wicker trunk filled with clean, fluffy towels for easy access for guests. This hotel was super easy to find off Highway 101, and it is literally just off of Highway 1, easy access to explore Carmel - and Monterey. We (and a family we met at the hotel's pool) visited the Monterey Bay Aquarium, making our winter getaway a completely awesome experience.

I highly recommend this hotel for awesome staff - courteous and helpful with perfect follow-through, great food (room service rocks!), easy access from two roadways and a beautiful, modern hotel. We hope to stay again in the near future! See you soon, Carmel Mission Inn!

Room Tip: I think ours was room 341 - easy access from the elevator and the patio overlooks the pool - complet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you for the review of our Carmel CA hotel. I am pleased that you would stay with us again and you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable. We are very proud of our “awesome” staff and I am glad they took good care of you. We truly appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again. Please remember to contact the hotel directly for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The check-in was a great experience! Chris was professional, helpful and well informed. The rooms are spacious, though the whole building is rather odd looking. Great pool. The hotel is situated one block away from Highway 1 and offers easy access to downtown and beautiful Monterey. I wouldn't want to spend more than one night though.

Room Tip: All rooms face inwards towards the pool. There is parking all around the hotel, so other than haulin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our Carmel hotel. Thanks also for recognizing Chris who provides excellent guest service to our guests. It seems like you enjoyed our pool area and also found our location to be very convenient. We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again. Please remember to contact the hotel direct or visit our website for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Most aspects of this hotel are very good. Great service, clean quality rooms and helpful friendly staff. The location is really best for passing through as it is on a main road but there is remartkably little traffic noise in the rooms.

When we arrived in the evening you could have very good hot and cold snacks in the bar if you bought a drink there. For the price of a very generous drink you could virtually dine!

The let down is that in the winter, if the weather is cold, and it can get cold in Carmel, the structure is inadequately designed to cope with the cold. The heating in the rooms needs to run all the time and at night this is a little noisy. The windows are single glazed which comes as a shock to Europeans. The hotel is a collection of blocks and you have to go outside to the dining and breakfast facilities. We froze on the long march!

The only other adverse comment is that the pillows are very high and firm and the only choice is to use them or discard them. It doesn't make for a restful night if you prefer a flatter pillow.

Over all a great place to stay on a road trip in the summer and that I would recommend. In the winter you need to pack your thermal underwear, and that's just for walking down the hotel corridors!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you for the review of our hotel and the many fine features that you pointed out. It is our goal to provide a great value in the Carmel area and I’m glad you enjoyed our clean, quality rooms and helpful staff. I’m sorry the weather did not cooperate during your visit and yes you are right it can get a little chilly in the Carmel area. We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again soon. Please remember to contact the hotel directly for the best rates and service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, CA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We had a very nice two night stay here this month. The room was comfortable and had been renovated with a lovely bathroom. We slept very well in the king-sized bed. The staff was helpful. We enjoyed the hot tub. The hotel is close to Highway 1 and is only 5 minutes from downtown Carmel. You can easily explore the Monterey Peninsula and Big Sur from there. The Barnyard Shopping Center was right next door, an easy walk. There are several restaurants in the Barnyard and we were able to eat dinner there.
This good review does not extend to the restaurant. We ate breakfast there and did not like it. There is a breakfast restaurant in the Barnyard that we will try next time.
We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 434 was wonderful. It has a huge patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our Carmel hotel. We are always pleased when someone says our hotel is “very nice”. Thanks also for noting are helpful staff which we are very proud. I’m sorry that you did not like our breakfast and hope you gave us the opportunity to make it right for you. We truly appreciate your business and hope to see you again. Please remember to contact the hotel directly for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The check-in process was fast and smooth. The desk clerk was polite and informative. Our room was large and brightly decorated. The heat system was quiet and worked great. There was a large bench on one end of the room which was a wonderful space for our belongings..especially for a family of four. The beds and pillows were clean and comfortable and all the furniture was updated.
Regarding the location, as long as you are aware that it is not in the downtown area, then there will be no surprises. We were very pleased with the location and with the amount of money we saved by not staying in town. The drive was less than 5 minutes and we had no trouble finding parking when we went to dinner and shopping in town. Additionally, one purpose of our visit was to hike in Point Lobos State Reserve (which was incredible) and this property is very close to the reserve.
This is an incredible value and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and I’m pleased that you had a “fabulous experience” and recognized the value we offer. We are very proud of our staff and I am glad you found them to be polite and professional. From your comments I see you made it to nearby Point Lobos which is truly an incredible experience. We truly appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again. Please remember to contact the hotel direct or visit our website for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

On the plus side, this hotel/motel has well tended grounds, easy parking, with shops, restaurants and fuel very close by. However, it is a concrete block with metal staircases and a dubious taste in colour schemes; our room was green and brown. The whole place felt cold; was it due to the construction or the colour scheme? It was warmer outside than in. We did not expect to be charged an extra $4 for juice at breakfast, and wondered why Virgin Holidays could find nothing better in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Mission Inn

Address: 3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Carmel
#11 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Mission Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our Carmel Ca. hotel you will find a quaint, yet stylish setting with an array of gracious amenities that include a heated pool, fitness center and the "Fuse" restaurant. We’ve truly created a destination within a destination. Additionally, we offer fantastic facilities for weddings, business meetings, retreats and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Carmel Mission Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Mission Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Mission Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.