We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent bang for your $ in Carmel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Mission Inn

Save Saved
You added Carmel Mission Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Carmel Mission Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Breakfast/Cocktails!
Ranked #10 of 21 hotels in Carmel
Statesville, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent bang for your $ in Carmel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed at the Carmel Mission Inn Thanksgiving night through the weekend for a wedding. Upon check in we had to provide the ID for the person who's card held the room even though that wasn't the card that we were paying for the stay with. It wasn't a problem as we were both there however I've never been asked for this before and would have been quite put out had someone reserved the room and not been with us at check in. The room was clean. The beds were comfortable. The bathroom was very nice and well appointed, it even offered bathrobes. The grounds are overflowing with beautiful flowers which gives it a wonderful feel, not like a cookie cutter hotel. The pool was nice and there was a lovely fire pit in the courtyard that provided a nice place to gather and stay warm once the sun went down. Right off Hwy 1 and 5 mins into downtown Carmel and the beach. I slept well and would gladly go back. For the price you can't beat this in Carmel.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor and didn't have any hot water problems as another reviewer did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
We thank you for your comments and we are pleased that you enjoyed our clean rooms, comfortable beds, friendly staff and the garden areas. Knowing that you would return is a great vote of confidence. We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again. Please remember to contact the hotel direct or visit our website for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    315
    411
    122
    39
    35
See reviews for
238
430
26
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

For a roadside Motel/Hotel this place is really good. Situated just outside of Carmel center close to Highway 1, this place is a good base to explore the area if you don't want to spring for one of the more posher options around. The rooms seem recently renovated in a somewhat wacky, retro americana style. The staff is friendly and helpful. We stayed here on a very cold weekend and the heater didn't work in our room. Even though it was late at night, the maintenance came right by and figured out they couldn't fix it, So they switched us to another room with no hesitation. Would stay again, good option if you don't expect a super high end place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your kind words and your acknowledgement of our friendly staff. We appreciate your business and knowing that you would stay with us again. We hope to see you again soon and please remember to contact the hotel direct or visit our website for the best rates and packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed one night at the Mission Inn. Check in was smooth and front desk staff friendly and efficient. Room decor and furnishings were nice, room and bathroom were clean. On the surface it appeared the hotel was a well run operation with staff, rooms and grounds. However, I went to take a shower and my positive thoughts about the property went all downhill.

I turned the shower on and waited for the water to get warm, we were on the 4th floor and thought it may need a minute to get warm. Unfortunately, the water only went to luke warm at best and really stayed cold.

If the hotel could improve / fix the water heater that serves the 4th floor it would be a good little hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your comments and acknowledging our friendly staff. We apologize for the inconvenience with the hot water. We did have a roof leak impacting the hot water and it has been addressed and fixed. We hope you will stay with us again and please remember to contract the hotel direct for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Staff efficient and friendly on arrival with good knowledge of local area and restaurants.
Large contemporary quiet room, clean with good facilities, lovely bathroom. Very good complimentary breakfast, (only a tip required).
Plenty of free parking on site. Good restaurants within walking distance.
Short drive into Carmel.
Definately recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your comments and for specifically mentioning our friendly and efficient staff. We are very proud of them. I'm also pleased that your enjoyed our breakfast and I hope you took advantage of our bed & breakfast package which is our best deal. We hope to see you again and please remember to contact us directly or visit our website for that exclusive deal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is one of the original Holiday Inn's but now a WONDERFUL boutique hotel. The rooms are decorated very appealing and "Happy". The staff is helpful, breaksfast delicious and the fireplaces in the evening so inviting! Great Place to stay! We were in room 428!

Room Tip: Great location to downtown Carmel, Monterey, and Big Sur!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I was unsure what this hotel would be like, as it looked a little basic. I hadn't paid a lot for it so really wasn't expercting a lot, just a bed for the night. I was pleasantly surprised. At check in we got a free upgrade to a balcony room, which over looked the pool and the beautiful mountain view in the background. The receptionist was so helpful, and spent a lot of time recommending restaurants and places of interest. Behind the hotel is a place called the Barnyard. At night there are some lovely restaurants to chose from and shops to have a wonder around. Its located around a 5-10 minute drive into Carmel. This area is stunning, and has a quaint and quirky old English feel to it. The beach is beautiful!! This was our favourite hotel throughout the whole of our flydrive holiday. I would definitely go back and wished I'd spent more than 1 night here.

Room Tip: The Balcony rooms were lovely, I would definitely pay for one of these next time. Perfect location f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We had room 348, pretty quiet. It is a large room with a big table/desk, a patio that overlooks the pool and a big closet. The bathroom counter not great, kinda small, but ok. The shower has a half glass wall. Cool tile in shower ! Very nice ‘antica faracista’ pomelo grapefruit soaps and lotions provided. Hi-quality feel. To room except the toilet paper and Kleenex wasrough and scratchy! Blue light over bed lights up revealing a seascape image. Individual Reading lights over bed-love that! Big flat screen TV.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carmel Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Mission Inn

Also Known As:
Carmel Mission Hotel Carmel
Carmel Mission Hotel
Best Western Carmel
Address: 3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Mission Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our Carmel Ca. hotel you will find a quaint, yet stylish setting with an array of gracious amenities that include a heated pool, fitness center and the "Fuse" restaurant. We’ve truly created a destination within a destination. Additionally, we offer fantastic facilities for weddings, business meetings, retreats and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere, T4B, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Carmel Mission Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Mission Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.