We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“solid place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Mission Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Carmel Mission Inn to your Saves list
Carmel Mission Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast/Cocktails!
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“solid place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

For a roadside Motel/Hotel this place is really good. Situated just outside of Carmel center close to Highway 1, this place is a good base to explore the area if you don't want to spring for one of the more posher options around. The rooms seem recently renovated in a somewhat wacky, retro americana style. The staff is friendly and helpful. We stayed here on a very cold weekend and the heater didn't work in our room. Even though it was late at night, the maintenance came right by and figured out they couldn't fix it, So they switched us to another room with no hesitation. Would stay again, good option if you don't expect a super high end place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your kind words and your acknowledgement of our friendly staff. We appreciate your business and knowing that you would stay with us again. We hope to see you again soon and please remember to contact the hotel direct or visit our website for the best rates and packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    480
    152
    46
    38
See reviews for
311
501
29
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed one night at the Mission Inn. Check in was smooth and front desk staff friendly and efficient. Room decor and furnishings were nice, room and bathroom were clean. On the surface it appeared the hotel was a well run operation with staff, rooms and grounds. However, I went to take a shower and my positive thoughts about the property went all downhill.

I turned the shower on and waited for the water to get warm, we were on the 4th floor and thought it may need a minute to get warm. Unfortunately, the water only went to luke warm at best and really stayed cold.

If the hotel could improve / fix the water heater that serves the 4th floor it would be a good little hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your comments and acknowledging our friendly staff. We apologize for the inconvenience with the hot water. We did have a roof leak impacting the hot water and it has been addressed and fixed. We hope you will stay with us again and please remember to contract the hotel direct for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Staff efficient and friendly on arrival with good knowledge of local area and restaurants.
Large contemporary quiet room, clean with good facilities, lovely bathroom. Very good complimentary breakfast, (only a tip required).
Plenty of free parking on site. Good restaurants within walking distance.
Short drive into Carmel.
Definately recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your comments and for specifically mentioning our friendly and efficient staff. We are very proud of them. I'm also pleased that your enjoyed our breakfast and I hope you took advantage of our bed & breakfast package which is our best deal. We hope to see you again and please remember to contact us directly or visit our website for that exclusive deal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is one of the original Holiday Inn's but now a WONDERFUL boutique hotel. The rooms are decorated very appealing and "Happy". The staff is helpful, breaksfast delicious and the fireplaces in the evening so inviting! Great Place to stay! We were in room 428!

Room Tip: Great location to downtown Carmel, Monterey, and Big Sur!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I was unsure what this hotel would be like, as it looked a little basic. I hadn't paid a lot for it so really wasn't expercting a lot, just a bed for the night. I was pleasantly surprised. At check in we got a free upgrade to a balcony room, which over looked the pool and the beautiful mountain view in the background. The receptionist was so helpful, and spent a lot of time recommending restaurants and places of interest. Behind the hotel is a place called the Barnyard. At night there are some lovely restaurants to chose from and shops to have a wonder around. Its located around a 5-10 minute drive into Carmel. This area is stunning, and has a quaint and quirky old English feel to it. The beach is beautiful!! This was our favourite hotel throughout the whole of our flydrive holiday. I would definitely go back and wished I'd spent more than 1 night here.

Room Tip: The Balcony rooms were lovely, I would definitely pay for one of these next time. Perfect location f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We had room 348, pretty quiet. It is a large room with a big table/desk, a patio that overlooks the pool and a big closet. The bathroom counter not great, kinda small, but ok. The shower has a half glass wall. Cool tile in shower ! Very nice ‘antica faracista’ pomelo grapefruit soaps and lotions provided. Hi-quality feel. To room except the toilet paper and Kleenex wasrough and scratchy! Blue light over bed lights up revealing a seascape image. Individual Reading lights over bed-love that! Big flat screen TV.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willits, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The Carmel Mission Inn is a nice place to stay. We were there for two nights and the staff was very attentive. This is an old holiday inn. We stayed on the 4th floor with a balcony that faced the sunset,that was beautiful. The price was right and it was close to the coast for hiking. We did not use the pool or hot tub, but they looked very nice. No complaints.

Room Tip: Get room with a bacony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Mission Inn

Address: 3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Carmel
#12 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Mission Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our Carmel Ca. hotel you will find a quaint, yet stylish setting with an array of gracious amenities that include a heated pool, fitness center and the "Fuse" restaurant. We’ve truly created a destination within a destination. Additionally, we offer fantastic facilities for weddings, business meetings, retreats and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Carmel Mission Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Mission Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Mission Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.