We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small hotel, big on service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Mission Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Carmel Mission Inn to your Saves list
Carmel Mission Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Small hotel, big on service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I was unsure what this hotel would be like, as it looked a little basic. I hadn't paid a lot for it so really wasn't expercting a lot, just a bed for the night. I was pleasantly surprised. At check in we got a free upgrade to a balcony room, which over looked the pool and the beautiful mountain view in the background. The receptionist was so helpful, and spent a lot of time recommending restaurants and places of interest. Behind the hotel is a place called the Barnyard. At night there are some lovely restaurants to chose from and shops to have a wonder around. Its located around a 5-10 minute drive into Carmel. This area is stunning, and has a quaint and quirky old English feel to it. The beach is beautiful!! This was our favourite hotel throughout the whole of our flydrive holiday. I would definitely go back and wished I'd spent more than 1 night here.

Room Tip: The Balcony rooms were lovely, I would definitely pay for one of these next time. Perfect location f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    556
    168
    49
    41
See reviews for
364
563
35
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
Level Contributor
120 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We had room 348, pretty quiet. It is a large room with a big table/desk, a patio that overlooks the pool and a big closet. The bathroom counter not great, kinda small, but ok. The shower has a half glass wall. Cool tile in shower ! Very nice ‘antica faracista’ pomelo grapefruit soaps and lotions provided. Hi-quality feel. To room except the toilet paper and Kleenex wasrough and scratchy! Blue light over bed lights up revealing a seascape image. Individual Reading lights over bed-love that! Big flat screen TV.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willits, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The Carmel Mission Inn is a nice place to stay. We were there for two nights and the staff was very attentive. This is an old holiday inn. We stayed on the 4th floor with a balcony that faced the sunset,that was beautiful. The price was right and it was close to the coast for hiking. We did not use the pool or hot tub, but they looked very nice. No complaints.

Room Tip: Get room with a bacony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Very comfortable homey place with nice rooms and good simple food. When we were there, there were great sheep in the meadow - not sure they're still there. Rooms vary so make sure you get all the particulars. Good solid American place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This was a very comfortable hotel. I loved the hot tub, especially after a day of hiking in nearby Point Lobos. Easy access to lots of great sight seeing and hiking, walking distance to cafes for breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Caring helpful staff, great rooms, beautiful gardens and excellent breakfast.

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Can't praise this hotel enough.

P.S. don't forget to take a look at the Barnyard shops and restaurants at the rear.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We said in Carmel itself for 2 days, which was very nice and had passed the Mission Inn on our way to Big Sur. Motel is adjacent to the Crossways shopping and centre and at first does not appear o appealing compare with the Carmel centre location, however looks can be deceptive ad we found the Inn very comfortable and a great place to stay either if you can not find a location in town or you want a bigger bang for your buck. We loved the welcome from the front desk, we liked our room which was large, clean and had all the facilities we wanted. The pool and the jacuzzi was a lovely surprise as was happy hour, complimentary horse d'oeuvre and our cocktail drink. We were celebrating my birthday so all these nice touches made of stay even more special. We had the full buffet breakfast option as well which finished or one night stay here at the Mission Inn. We ate at Barnyards, Bahamas Steakhouse, situated just behind the Inn, that was great, try the rice bowls great vle for money at $15 dollars and very filling.

Room Tip: Try to get a pool view and staying on the fourth floor these rooms have balconies too
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 452 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.3 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#19 of 23 in Carmel
3.5 of 5 stars 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
1.4 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#16 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 451 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#7 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Mission Inn

Address: 3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Carmel
#12 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Mission Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our Carmel Ca. hotel you will find a quaint, yet stylish setting with an array of gracious amenities that include a heated pool, fitness center and the "Fuse" restaurant. We’ve truly created a destination within a destination. Additionally, we offer fantastic facilities for weddings, business meetings, retreats and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Carmel Mission Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Mission Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Mission Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.