We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Mission Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Carmel Mission Inn to your Saves list
Carmel Mission Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Northern California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Loved our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We spent two nights here the weekend between Christmas and New Year. We had a fourth floor room at the end of the hall, which was very quiet until the last morning, when we had somewhat noisy neighbors on the other side of a connecting door. We enjoyed the hot tub, the outdoor fire pit, and the fireplace in the dining room. The swimming pool was pretty cold, but that's not surprising at the end of December. We loved the aquatic decor in our room, with lots of blues and greens.
Breakfast was not included in our package, but we were offered it for half the price we would have paid walking in off the street. The food was good, especially the spicy fried potatoes, the cranberry bread, and fresh fruit. The atmosphere in the dining-room was more like a lounge - big easy chairs instead of standard restaurant chairs. The service in the hotel and restaurant was great except for the bartender in the lounge. We had coupons for a drink apiece, and were treated like the money was coming out of the bartender's pocket. We always tip based on what the price would have been, and probably would have stayed for another drink if the reception hadn't been so chilly. There were complementary hot hors d'oeuvres, but we did not know this until we talked to another family outside by the fire pit. Oh, well, that meant we had a good appetite when we went out to dinner in downtown Carmel.
The hotel is very close to the Mission, and not far from Point Lobos, one of the most beautiful places on earth. There's a supermarket right across the street, so pick up some goodies, and find a gorgeous spot in either Point Lobos or one of the beaches in Carmel to have a romantic picnic (or a family picnic, if that's your style).

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have a lot of foot traffic or parking lot traffic going by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwheatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Pleasant Hill, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

This was our second time at Carmel Mission Inn. This time it seamed even nicer. We came with our dog Katy and everything was perfect. Very large rooms that are nicely decorated with a Miami Beach vibe. Ask for the Trip-advisor rate and they may throw in a buffet breakfast. We got two cocktails included, nice. The location is right off highway one and next to a couple of nice shopping centers with good restaurants. Try Lugano in the Barnyard if you like Swiss food.
Very friendly staff and a great place to stay if you travel with dogs.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces the pool area for a nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rpperkins1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

As a discerning traveler I research extensively before I book and the reviews of this place are nothing less than accurate. It was a last minute booking for one night only but was surprised by the ambiance, special offers of free drinks, free breakfast, complimentary bath products, quality, blackout curtains. We did not have the chance to try the food as the restaurant was closed on the day we were there, but there is nothing in the area in this price for what you get - did I mention the heated pool and hot tub? Breakfast includes hot and cold food, from fruit to meats and oatmeal, even though we chose to eat the only breakfast of our stay in the famous breakfast place. It is 10 min away from central Carmel, but if you have a car, it's definitely worth it as you get a lot for your money.

Room Tip: any room is equally good, quiet and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank opium77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

This is an excellent hotel, good value for money, great clean, spacious rooms and an ideal locatiion to explore Carmel and Monterey.

Great Opool and hot tubs only add to a pleasurable experience, this is our second visit to the hotel and it has been fabulous both times.

Thank you for the great customer service and the extra attention you gave us, very much appreciated.

Room Tip: Go for a room on the second floor in the main hotel block
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Berkshire_Ben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galloway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

This was a great place for my family and I to stay and considering the quality of the staff and the room, the double digit price per night rate was a pleasant surprise. This was the best bed I slept in as well in our entire 7 day trip up the PCH. There is also a pretty interesting plaza within walking distance behind the hotel with shops and restaurants. I will be staying here again if I am ever in the area.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, December 29, 2011
Thank you for the review of our Carmel CA hotel. We are pleased that you recognized our courteous staff and the quality of our guestrooms. We strive to provide an "outstabding value" in our area. We are most pleased that you would stay again and we sincerely appreciate your business. Please remember to contact the hotel direct for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

Rooms are clean and high quality, we overlooked the pool area and although it's located just outside Carmel the local cabs are quite reasonable for dining out and enjoying the location. I would recommend taking the 5 minute car trip into Carmel to dine rather than the restaurant in the park opposite the hotel, despite the discount offered by the hotel - we found the service there appalling.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arnofio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, December 29, 2011
Thanks for the review of our Carmel CA hotel and your kind words about our friendly, helpful and courteous staff. In our opinion they are the best in our area. We are also pleased that you enjoyed our convenient location and the value we offer. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon. Please remember to contact the hotel direct for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

great location to visit Carmel, Big Sur and Monterey. Rooms are well appointed, clean and quiet. Restaurant is excellent and swimming pool is perfect after a day spent to visit all the attractions of the area. More than a comfortable accomodation at a reasonable price. We definetly come back again!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ricmino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
Thank you for the review of our Carmel CA hotel. It seems you truly enjoyed our convenient location. Our goal is to provide an outstanding value in our area. I see you liked our restaurant and I hope you took advantage of our bed and breakfast package. We hope to see you again soon and we thank you for your business. Please remember to contact the hotel direct for the best rates and packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.3 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 562 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
3.2 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#20 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 377 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#8 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 399 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#17 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Mission Inn

Address: 3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Carmel
#11 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Mission Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our Carmel Ca. hotel you will find a quaint, yet stylish setting with an array of gracious amenities that include a heated pool, fitness center and the "Fuse" restaurant. We’ve truly created a destination within a destination. Additionally, we offer fantastic facilities for weddings, business meetings, retreats and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Carmel Mission Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Mission Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing