We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Mission Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Carmel Mission Inn to your Saves list
Carmel Mission Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Breakfast/Cocktails!
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

We stayed for one night in early September on our way up the Pacific
Highway. Carmel is a good spot to stay over on your way up/down Highway
1. The Mission Inn is a good value hotel. The hotel is very smart, and
the rooms are extremely sizeable. However, this hotel is on a commercial
shopping estate a mile outside of central Carmel.....think travel lodge
on the edge of town. It serves a great practical purpose, but it is
never going to be a hotel to remember. Use this hotel as a fairly cheap
option to allow you to spend more on a lovely hotel somewhere else
along Highway 1.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    466
    150
    46
    38
See reviews for
304
486
29
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

We stayed at the Carmel Mission Inn last month and had a pleasant stay. The hotel was pretty much what you would expect from a 3 star. From the outside it really didn't look anything special, but the rooms were large and decorated nicely. Buffet breakfast was included, and there was a good choice of continental and hot food. One main downside was that the hotel was too far from the centre to walk so you had to drive or go to the restaurants near the hotel. There was a courtyard with a Fire Pit that looked very nice but I wouldn't say the hotel had much character, which was a bit dissappointing after seeing all the cosy little inns as you drive through Carmel. I probably wouldn't stay at the hotel again, as I would prefer something closer to the centre with more character, but it was nice none the less.

Room Tip: If you are staying as a couple, ask for a king bed as the decor is slightly nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011 via mobile

I absolutely adore this hotel. It was such a pleasant surprise. I booked online and when we arrived it exceeded our expectations. Amazing value, best buffet hot breakfast I have ever enjoyed, comfortable beds, the room was spotless and I adore the cute decor. The grounds had a heated pool and hot tub, well kept gardens and a outdoor furniture set with built-in fire-pit for late night visiting with friends. I would recommend this o everyone and am eager to plan a trip back.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
Thanks for reviewing the Carmel Mission inn. It is always good to hear you can't wait to return. We strive to offer the best value in the area and it seems in that regard you were pleased. The heated pool and hot tub are a big favorite. It seems like you enjoyed our bed & breakfast package also. Please rember to contact the hotel direct for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Stayed here for one night on trip down the coast. Traditional motel done up to a modern, and very high quality, standard.

The welcome at reception was not that friendly, but maybe we just caught them at a busy time, because they were really helpful on check-out.

Didn't eat in - went for dinner over the road at a nice fish restaurant ('Fish Market' or similar) in the shopping outlet! Bought breakfast at the Safeway as there was a fridge in the room. Enjoyed a drink in the nice hotel bar though.Carmel itself was a short drive away across the highway.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
We thank you for your review. We are glad you appreciate the quality of our renovation and we hope to see you again soon. Please remember to contact the hotel directly or book on our website for the best rates and packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We knew this hotel wasn't actually in Carmel town centre when we booked, and that was just fine - it is situated just off the main road, and the drive up to it might be a bit off putting, but it was a very quiet, lovely hotel. The interior decor is not as vivid as it appears on their website, but it was all clean and comfortable.

The bar & restaurant area was well decorated, and they offer a happy hour and buffet between 5-7pm I think, which we took advantage of, which was great. Breakfast was a huge buffet choice and all very tasty.

This was a good hotel in a good location, ideal for an overnight stay on our road trip.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
We thank you for your review. We are glad you appreciate the quality of our renovation and we hope to see you again soon. You mentioned our buffet which is a great value and part of our bed and breakfast package. Please remember to contact the hotel directly or book on our website for the best rates and packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen, Germany
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Friendly staff, nice pool, happy hour (5-7pm, buying a drink gives U access to some snack buffet ,,,)
Very close to the historic Spanish mission, and some 5 min with the car to Carmel centre.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
Thank you for your review and we appreciate your business. We are glad you recognized our friendly staff and appreciated some of our amenities - heated pool, spa and "Happy Hours". Our convenient location, friendly staff and great value makes us who we are. We hope to see you again and please remember to contact the hotel directly for the best rates and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

I own a hotel and was impressed with my stay at the Carmel Mission Inn. The rooms are nice and clean with lovely views of the Carmel Valley. Very comfortable. Nice restaurant. Pet friendly. Nice staff.

Room Tip: Higher floors have nice views -- rooms facing pool are sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
We are pleased that you appreciate our efforts and we thank you for your review. Our friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms and convenient location makes us a great choice when visiting our area. We appreciate your business and hope you will stay again. Please contact the hotel direct for the best rates and personal service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Mission Inn

Address: 3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Carmel
#12 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Mission Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our Carmel Ca. hotel you will find a quaint, yet stylish setting with an array of gracious amenities that include a heated pool, fitness center and the "Fuse" restaurant. We’ve truly created a destination within a destination. Additionally, we offer fantastic facilities for weddings, business meetings, retreats and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Carmel Mission Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Mission Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Mission Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.