We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overall!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Mission Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Carmel Mission Inn to your Saves list
Carmel Mission Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Breakfast/Cocktails!
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
1 review
“Great overall!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011 via mobile

This hotel was a really a great place to stay. The location is also great. The room was very clean and nicely decorated. We got the bed and breakfast deal and the food was really good and it was at a really affordable price. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    490
    156
    46
    38
See reviews for
314
507
32
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

We've stayed at this inn probably a dozen times. It has been renovated but in spite of that has gone down hill since losing or giving up the Best Western affiliation. Previously the beds seemed almost new but lately they are sagging a bit. This seems to be a common problem though so maybe I shouldn't be so critical. Our solution is that my wife sleeps on the least sagging side and I sleep in the middle where the sag is minimal (in a king size bed). Another issue is virtually unusable wireless internet service. Again, a common problem so maybe not a fair complaint. My biggest complaint though is no temporary parking near the rear entrance (where the elevators are) making for a long hike with bags from the car to the room. I've suggested they reserve a couple of spaces there for loading but no luck yet. There is an extra charge for breakfast, but it is modest and the breakfast is excellent. There is usually a wait to be seated at breakfast but it is worth it. The location of this inn, near Hwy 1 and across from the excellent Rio Grill Cafe is perfect for a stop on your drive up or down the coast.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

We booked on line the day before our arrival, and we were not disappointed lovely clean rooms nice breakfast no complaints.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Beautiful grounds. Lots of greenery and nice a patio. Room was decorated very nicely. It was in close proximity to several shopping centers. 5-10 minute drive to Monterey or Downtown Carmel. We actually got sent to a different hotel in downtown because the Inn had guests unexpectedly extend their stay. Carmel Mission Inn paid for the room in downtown, and we were able to check in early the next day. I actually preferred this hotel to the Best Western downtown. Although the other was convenient, it did not offer the amenities the Inn did, and it would have cost us $55 more for that one night. Breakfast buffet in the morning was delicious. Just $15 for my husband and I because we paid for it at check-in. Highly recommend the Carmel Mission Inn.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have patios
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Stayed at CMI for two nights in September 2011. Excellent location, rooms very adequate, grounds are very nice, green, clean, plenty of parking. Breakfast consists of cereal, hot & cold, fruit, muffins, eggs, potatoes, bacon, sausage, coffee, tea, yogurt. Enough to get you started for the day. There is a pool, hot tub, and a fire pit. We were there on a weekend where many outside activities were going on. Rates were high, but there are deals to be had if you are there during the week. It is situated between two shopping centers, which have many outstanding restaurants, shops, and easy access to a major highway. Carmel is five minutes away, Monterey is ten minutes. A very enjoyable stay, made more so by the attentive front office personnel and wait staff in the breakfast room. There is also free use of internet.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilroy, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

This venue was originally a Holiday Inn when it was first built years ago. The outside hasn't changed much, though the addition of a lovely patio just in front of the check-in desk is a pretty spot to wait for the room to be ready. Check-in clerks were not especially helpful or friendly and early check-in, we were told, would cost $35 extra, so we spent time wandering through the Barnyard shopping complex up a pathway behind the hotel til the room was ready. Lots of spots to nosh, have a glass of wine or yummy breakfast, as well as shop til you drop. By the time our room was ready (4-ish) we were ready for a nap. Room updated to a mid-century mod. feeling. Nothing special, but the bed was comfy. The window overlooking the Barnyard/parking lot, only opened a few inches but let in enough fresh air so aircon wasn't needed...after looking at the room service options, we chose the pizza place for a glass of wine, an Asian restaurant for Vietnamese take-out, and the Mexican spot for a flan dessert all located in the Barnyard, literally steps away from our room. The Crossroads shopping center is in the other direction and you can easily walk to Safeway and CVS as well as tasty places to eat. Would I stay here again? Only if everything else was full. Location is not in the town of Carmel, so unless you want to walk ALOT, you need a car to get to downtown.

Room Tip: Top floors seem quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milpitas, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

We (my two toddler boys and I) stayed here for one night as part of a block of rooms reserved for a wedding. Our experience here was wonderful. The hotel itself was a good size, clean, and had a good lay-out.

Our experience checking in was easy and quick. We were originally booked in building that was perpendicular to the main building but when i found out that most of the family was staying in the main building I requested a room in the main building also - and my request was granted quickly, professionally and without fuss or attitude. That was very much appreciated. The check-in lady saw that i had 2 young boys and said she had put me a room far from the cafe because she knew there would be a party that night and didn't want the noise to disturb the boys' sleep. Now that is exceptional service! The room itself was clean and spacious. The only thing i didn't like about the room was that the door to the bathroom was a sliding door and even when completely closed there was still a one inch gap where you could still see in. But other than that, the room was great.

While there i took the boys to the "heated" pool. The "heated" pool - did not feel heated at all. It was really quite cold (or really cool) and considering the sun did not come out till 2pm... the pool should have been heated much much more.

We also enjoyed the free buffet breakfast. The food was decent and typical for a free buffet breakfast (sausage, bacon, eggs, oatmeal, muffins and fresh fruit). I ordered a glass of orange juice for the boys and was told it was an additional and did not come with the buffet... okay... then was shocked when the 2 glasses of OJ cost almost $10!! That was almost ridiculous (the cost and the fact that OJ did not come with the buffet).

Other that the above two incidents, our stay was nice. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the hotel itself was nice and kid friendly.

Room Tip: if you have kids ask if your room is near the lounge and if there is a party that night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Mission Inn

Address: 3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Carmel
#12 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Mission Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our Carmel Ca. hotel you will find a quaint, yet stylish setting with an array of gracious amenities that include a heated pool, fitness center and the "Fuse" restaurant. We’ve truly created a destination within a destination. Additionally, we offer fantastic facilities for weddings, business meetings, retreats and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Carmel Mission Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Mission Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Mission Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.