We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Mission Inn

Save Saved
You added Carmel Mission Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Carmel Mission Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Breakfast/Cocktails!
Ranked #10 of 21 hotels in Carmel
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on our honeymoon, the rooms were very nice and recently updated. The free breakfast was very good. There are shops, restaurants and petrol station right next to it and it is a short drive from Carmel and montery. There was also free wifi in the rooms and computers in the lobby to use. Our favorite bit was the fire pit outside where we chatted to other guests

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, June 9, 2011
We are glad you appreciated our bed & breakfast package. This can be booked only on our hotel website our by calling direct. Sitting by the fire-pit at night, enjoying a cocktail and speaking from people from all over the world is also great fun. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again. Please remember to contact the hotel or use our website for the best deals and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    315
    410
    122
    39
    35
See reviews for
238
429
26
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

Well we stayed in late April, 2011. It was hard to find as the hotel is behind a petrol station and you have to go around the back to find it. It sits in really nice gardens and has a pool and spa (although these were not able to be used as they were being renovated). The lobby had a nice open fire in it where you could sit and read or use the free internet. The breakfast came with the room rate and it was really good (BIG as well). The only minus being there was only one waiter and about 15 groups of people so while he did a good job the service was extremely slow. The less said about the room the better. Very small and decorated in a really interesting way. The bed though was very comfortable and the room itself was clean enough. The staff were efficient at the front desk although not really friendly. The phone was ringing off the hook and they were answering it instead of checking us in. It was okay for a quick stay but I wouldn't have wanted to stay there more than one night.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, May 23, 2011
Thank You for taking the time to review our Carmel Ca hotel. I'm glad you were please with the quality of the breakfast and we apologize for the slow service. On that day we were simply overwhelmed by the number of guests but tried our best to get through the situation. We thank you for your business and hope you will stay with us again. Please remember to contact the hotel directly for the best rates and service. For example our popular bed & Breakfast package is only available from the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

Stayed one night in April 11. Didn't explore the common areas, but the room was great - lots of space, nicely decorated, great bathroom, great bed.

The location is in the broader Carmel town, but a short drive into the main town centre shops and restaurants.

Good value for money. I would stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, May 23, 2011
The best endorsement is knowing you would stay with us again and we thank you for your kind words in recognition of our efforts. Our goal is to be known as "an outstanding value" in our area and we work hard at achieving that. Thanks for being our guest and remember to contact the hotel directly for the best rates, packages and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

We visit this hotel once annually for a weekend getaway. It has been recently remodeled and is very clean. The staff is always very friendly. This particular stay we had a promotional code that included a cooked to order breakfast AND two welcome cocktails from the bar. Very nice! We always enjoy using the spa in the evening. The water could've been a little warmer and the bath robes they give you were a little warn.
This hotel is very close to hwy access, the Carmel Mission and downtown Carmel.
This hotel is not walking distance to the beach or downtown Carmel, but maybe a 5 min. drive...well worth it. There is a nice shopping center located across the street as well.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, May 23, 2011
Thanks for reviewing our hotel and we are pleased that you recognized our friendly staff as well as the great value of our bed & breakfast package. This package is only available on the hotel's website or by contacting us directly. Thanks for staying with us and please remember to contact the hotel directly for the best rates, packages and service. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

We stayed here for 1 night en route to LA. The outside looks ordinary but the facilities, staff and service were first class. There is a shopping centre either side of the hotel so no need to walk too far. We didn't use the facilities but there was an outdoor pool along with a spa centre.
We ate in the Allegro and finished the evening off in the excellent Flanagan's Pub upstairs - both in the Barnyard shopping centre.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, May 23, 2011
Thank you rating us as first class regarding our staff, the service and our facility. Your thoughts will be shared with our employees in recognition of their efforts. We hope on any return visits to this wonderful area we will be your first choice for accommodation. Please remember to contact the hotel direct for the best rates, packages and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COOKEVILLE
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

Great location. Great price. Great room. My husband and I were on our honeymoon and the hotel was perfect for that!!!The beautiful flowers that lined the corridors and the romantic fire on the patio was a super plus. It is located right across a shopping center with neat little shops and restaurants. It is only about 2 miles from the Mission Ranch where we had the MOST romantic dinner overlooking the ocean and meadow with sheep.

Room Tip: Deal directly with hotel web site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, CA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

We spent 3 nights and found it to be ideal. The location is excellent. The wineries of Carmel Valley are just 5 minutes up the road, Carmel Village is also about 5 mins up the road, Pt. Lobos for ocean-front trails and picnicing is also about 5 mins down the road, and the Aquarium and Fishermans Wharf is a quick 15 mins. We thought the price of the room was very reasonable compared to other accomodations. Be sure to have breakfast in their comfy restaurant downstairs. The food was very fresh and creative. We enjoyed it much more than the typical boring breakfasts you get elsewhere. The only negative is the way the bathroom is laid out. There's no real counter space to put your personal items. But it was the only minor annoyance. You will need to get in your car and drive 5 mins to go over to the Carmel-by-the-Sea Village. But we didn't mind because the hotel was quiet and comfy. Very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestservicecarmel, Guest Relations Manager at Carmel Mission Inn, responded to this review, April 26, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our Carmel Ca Hotel. We pride ourselves in providing what many say is "an outstanding value". From you comments it seems that you must have enjoyed the bed and breakfast package which is our most popular offering. We thank you for your business and hope you return soon. Please remember to contact the hotel direct for the best rates, packages and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carmel Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Mission Inn

Also Known As:
Carmel Mission Hotel Carmel
Carmel Mission Hotel
Best Western Carmel
Address: 3665 Rio Road, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Mission Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our Carmel Ca. hotel you will find a quaint, yet stylish setting with an array of gracious amenities that include a heated pool, fitness center and the "Fuse" restaurant. We’ve truly created a destination within a destination. Additionally, we offer fantastic facilities for weddings, business meetings, retreats and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere, T4B, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Carmel Mission Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Mission Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.