We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT hotel - especially for the price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Junipero Street between Fifth and Sixth Street, PO Box 3715, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
Dallas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“GREAT hotel - especially for the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

Great hotel, clean and very comfy beds. Location is great for shopping/dining. Our room had a "beach view" which was essentially a little bit of ocean you could see past the trees. But considering how tight the area is and how inexpensive this hotel was compared to others with the same view (a couple hundred cheaper) it was a great deal.

Use the 15% off coupon from the hotel to go to Portabella's - great food, rated well by NY Times. Can't lose! (discount also applies to alcohol!)

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    233
    83
    23
    19
See reviews for
113
290
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Petaluma
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2009

Carmel is so lovely. Bay View is Perfect for the experience.
We are down town Carmel what a treat .Their is so much to experience with the proper preparation . The hotel doesnt have alot of amenities but serve the purpose perfectly.

Would stay again.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, CA
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

When we checked in, our room was so cold we could see our breath. We had intended to work before dinner, but when we also discovered that the DSL didn't work, we turned up the thermostat (it had been set below 40 degrees), went out, and found a place with WiFi where we could sit. When we returned at 9:30pm, the room was still frigid--someone had left a window open behind the curtain in 35-degree weather. The desk clerk was utterly uninterested in helping with Net access. He argued with us and denied that the reservations clerk could have promised us Internet connections--I had asked particularly because I knew we were going to need to use it for work that night, and I had been told that the hotel provided free broadband in all rooms. No manager was available; the DSL helpline said the problem was the hotel's, which the day clerk confirmed the next morning. Breakfast was minimal--bad coffee, watery orange juice, cold muffins, and cold cereal. In summer, the pleasant view would be an attraction, but it doesn't add much in the dark.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2009

We only had the one night in this hotel in early November. When booking in Carmel this was one of the most reasonable hotels we found. Location-wise it's great, Carmel seems pretty small anyway, but this is one block from the main street.

The check in was good and the room was a good size. There's a small swimming pool on site and complimentary breakfast is included in the price. My only criticism was that our room was drafty. You could see daylight around the door and as the night we stayed there was chilly, we woke up cold. I guess in the summer this wouldn't pose a problem.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayre, PA
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2009

We enjoyed our stay and the breakfast was very good but don't often see the server placing a tip jar alongside the food. There was only one public computer in a very bare uninviting front office and it was there I heard the desk clerk quote a room price that was clearly below mine. I questioned my internet rate at check-out and was told oh well, that was the rate then. My persistance got my amount due lowered so always call anonymously right before you arrive and re-verify the going rate. You might save a few bucks.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2009

We stayed here in September 2009 while in town for a wedding and ended up in a room right over the office. There was no soundproofing at all and we could hear everything from downstairs and other guests walking around the parking lot. Barely got any sleep. Only after checking in did we find that this hotel sits right on a truck route (so if you like listening to trucks this is the place for you). After complaining we were relocated to a room on the back side of the hotel (major improvement). On the plus side the hotel was very clean.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
249 helpful votes 249 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

Carmel is expensive and this Best Western is consequently higher priced than a comparable property in Bakersfield!

What this property offers are nice touches of colorful flowers adorning the railings, creatively folded towels in the bathrooms which for some reason is a nice touch, a tasty continental breakfast with bagels, cereal, hard boiled eggs, juice, coffee and a swimming pool which needs to be cooled down from its bathtub temperature. The stairwell's are old and a bit on the miniature golf (carpet) cheap side. You drive around the block to reach the balcony room parking lot. There is only slow elevator access to the upper floor and breakfast room. One guest who was claustrophobic had to walk around the block because she could not handle the confines of the elevator!

Four of us stayed in 2 rooms on the fourth floor in the "balcony" building. We enjoyed an evening bottle of champagne and hors' d'oeuvres for a toast to Mr Sun Ball for providing a beautiful day as he set over the Pacific. We were in rooms 53 (balcony) and 54 (no balcony) for about $200 inclusive of tax per night. There is a premium for the balconies, so we suggest the other rooms if you do not take advantage of them. Request, first rooms 46 & 47, then 58 & 59, for the larger balconies.

The location is terrific, just off the beginning of Ocean Avenue. Next door is Bruno's Market & Deli (room provisions, picnic, hiking supplies) and it is a very short stroll through the park to the shops and galleries starting on Ocean Avenue or restaurants like Casanova's (highly recommend the interior patio for lunch) or Christopher's On Lincoln for a nice simple dining experience.

So "comparatively" we saved on sunset cocktails at Traps in the Inn At Spanish Bay, breakfast at The Cottage Restaurant and we thoroughly enjoyed a more than adequate stay in this wonderful location called Carmel-By-The Sea!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn

Address: Junipero Street between Fifth and Sixth Street, PO Box 3715, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#12 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Hotel Carmel
Best Western Carmel
Carmel Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.