We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good deal for Carmel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Junipero Street between Fifth and Sixth Street, PO Box 3715, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
fairfax, va
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good deal for Carmel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

It's an older property (as are many properties in Carmel), but it's attractive and very nicely maintained. Our room was comfortable had everything we needed including free wi fi. The location is convenient and within easy walking distance to shops and restaurants. Despite the name it isn't close enough to the beach to have much of a "bay" view so don't count on that. Off street parking is provided. Breakfast was more than adequate. Overall a very good value.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    286
    110
    28
    21
See reviews for
130
379
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We arrived late in the evening and quickly realised that the lack of street lighting didn't help in our quest to find the hotel. After stopping to ask directions we arrived at the hotel, which even in the dark had a welcoming appearance. The man on reception was quick to check us in and asked if we were planning on having dinner as a lot of the restaurants closed early. He pointed us in the direction of 'The Forge' which was just opposite. (Reminding me of an English country pub).
We'd drove round to the other side of the hotel and parked the car, luckily our room was ground level as we had a lot of luggage which we wanted to move into the room.
The room was very big with more than enough space to move around. Tea/coffee making facilities were hidden away in a cupboard. There was also a corner fireplace which luckily we didn't need to use but am sure is a welcome addition in the winter months.
The balcony was one of the largest I've ever had when staying in a hotel. It wrapped around the room and had a wooden table with 4 chairs and 2 sunbeds. I can imagine this is perfect if visiting in the summer.
Breakfast was provided in the cost of the room and was served buffet style. Plenty of hot/cold options available with fresh pastries provided and fresh fruit to hand. There was a woman on hand to replenish items and ensure that tables were kept clean. In the time we were there she was a constant presence.
We checked out early and were advised that though the room had been prepaid we had to pay a $1 tax per person which we were more than happy to pay.
As the title of the review suggests, I wish I'd had the opportunity to spend more time in this lovely hotel and this charming town. If I'm ever lucky enough to pass through again I'll definitely make sure I stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed here for Veteran's day weekend and had a wonderful time. The room was really nice and even had a fireplace. The breakfast was small but satisfying. It was an ideal location, within walking distance of shops in Carmel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We were at Carmel Bay View Inn for 3 weeknights. We were on the "3rd floor" and our balcony was especially large, with a table and chairs for 4 and two chaise lounges with a view of the bay. The location was great, on the edge of the restaurant/shops area and across from two very good restaurants: Forage in the Forest and Yafa. The room was basic but clean and comfortable. Service and breakfast were okay. The parking lot for that part of the hotel was tight and could have been better lit. Like other hotels in that vicinity, it is built in different levels on a hillside - if you have trouble walking up or down hills, you will probably need to drive everywhere as we did.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed here in '05 and came back for the memories. Gas fireplace in most rooms. From 7:30 to 10 or so, breakfast includes drinkable coffee (tea, envelope cocoa, milk, juices), bread/bagel/pastries, cold cereal/instant oatmeal, bacon or sausage (depending on the day), pancakes or waffles (depending on the day), freash fruit au naturel and something rather like scrambled eggs. We're talking convenient here--not gourmet. Pick up some cheese, smoked salmon, quiche--what-you-will--to suplement and you'll be good enough. The service was very good from all staff, both helpful and courteous. The room was clean, well lit and warm enough, though the little wall heater might bother light sleepers. No extra pillows or blanket in the closet, but then we had no need of them. The large louvers on our window opened to a view of rooftops below and the Pacific beyond. This is an older hotel, built up the hillside which results in a confusing layout and ground level access on the first and . . . ah . . . 3rd or 4th floor--I forget since we were on the 2nd. Also, being coastal, there is a little mustiness to the room which improves with airing out and does not improve coming back after spending the day gadding about. Getting all the cons out of the way: our room had no microwave or fridge, the bed was harder than we care for and the noise from the bathrooms next door and above could be alarming. A small coffee pot with drinkable coffee (tea, envelope cocoa) was in the bathroom--OK, not the best place for it, I agree. Location is very good with just enough parking on a November weekend and ample during the week. The Forge in the Forest is just across the street and Vesuvio is a few steps farther on the corner @ 6th. A convenient little market is almost next door. Honestly, if you can navigate the capricious sidewalks, you can't want for fine dining, wine tasting, unique shopping--whatever pleases you--within a half-dozen Carmel blocks. AAA rate weekdays made this a bargain for the location.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights which is just about long enough, thin walls and noisy plumbing, but room was clean and bed comfy, ideal location for Monterey whale watching ,17 mile drive and the big sur.lots of places to eat and great beach.

Room Tip: Ask for room on top floor for great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I've stayed in several Carmel motels, inns and hotels. This, hands down, was the very worst among them. In fairness, I have a suspicion that if you stay on the third, fourth or fifth floors which comprise the newer half of the property you will have a different experience. since I didn't, I can only guess.

Remember, this was our fourth stop on our "Coastal Tour of Best Westerns" which started in Ventura, then Santa Barbara, then Cambria and now Carmel. We paid $90, $170, $210 respectively, so I was really looking forward to Carmel at an all in price of about $225. Gosh, was I disappointed.

First the front desk: The gentlemen who greeted us (or, actually, did NOT greet us), could not have been more disengaged from a customer service aspect. There was no welcome, there was no smile, there wasn't even a hint of chit chat (do you have dinner plans? have you visited Carmel before?). Nothing. Just a "here's your room" and a slim explanation on how to find it.

Well, perhaps they knew they were giving me the stinky room on the 2nd floor. We decided that it was late in the day and we got last pick, because the room smelled like it hadn't been aired out in months. My fault, entirely, that I did not march back down to the desk and say "unacceptable." Yup, my fault entirely. Instead, we opened the windows to discover that we were only a few feet about the next door restaurant's exhaust fans. No sleeping with the windows open for us tonight! The room was small and oddly decorated with chairs pushed into small spaces between the tv armoire (which was off center of everything, so I'm not sure how they expected you to watch tv unless you stood in the middle of the room). But, and the experience was over for me at this point, the carpet was filthy: dirty and with huge stains. Folks, this is exactly when you retreat to the front desk and say "oh,no, not THAT room." My only excuse is that I wasn't interested in engaging the disengaged front desk staff. A poor excuse. Yes, I know it's Carmel -- been there lots and lots -- but if Santa Barbara and Cambria can pull off cleaner, better furnished rooms for less money, then somebody in Carmel is just -- oh, how shall i say it --"putting it" to the tourists. Ugh.

Thankfully Carmel delivers consistently on charm, shopping and food, so the rest of the night was a good balance to the (horrible/awful) room.

In the morning, I popped upstairs to check on the breakfast room. Eeek. I didn't make it to see the food because the overall ambiance of the room itself was so -- uh, depressing. Cold, bare, undecorated, so very unwelcoming. This after three delightful Best Western breakfast rooms in the prior three towns. Really, Carmel, if Ventura can put out a fabulous spread in an adorable spot, you can add some color and texture to make this feel less like a hospital canteen.

Guess what? I won't be staying there again.

[note: I will say that the bathroom was recently renovated and perfectly acceptable. the smallest of all the bathrooms and the least expensive of the renovations of the four best westerns I visited, but still cute in a cramped Carmel sort of way...]

Room Tip: The motel location is great. As noted, rooms on 3,4 and 5 are probably great -- the higher the floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn

Address: Junipero Street between Fifth and Sixth Street, PO Box 3715, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Carmel
#11 Family Hotel in Carmel
#12 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Hotel Carmel
Best Western Carmel
Carmel Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.