We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Junipero Street between Fifth and Sixth Street, PO Box 3715, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great for the price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We were at Carmel Bay View Inn for 3 weeknights. We were on the "3rd floor" and our balcony was especially large, with a table and chairs for 4 and two chaise lounges with a view of the bay. The location was great, on the edge of the restaurant/shops area and across from two very good restaurants: Forage in the Forest and Yafa. The room was basic but clean and comfortable. Service and breakfast were okay. The parking lot for that part of the hotel was tight and could have been better lit. Like other hotels in that vicinity, it is built in different levels on a hillside - if you have trouble walking up or down hills, you will probably need to drive everywhere as we did.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    248
    88
    23
    19
See reviews for
116
311
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Modesto, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed here in '05 and came back for the memories. Gas fireplace in most rooms. From 7:30 to 10 or so, breakfast includes drinkable coffee (tea, envelope cocoa, milk, juices), bread/bagel/pastries, cold cereal/instant oatmeal, bacon or sausage (depending on the day), pancakes or waffles (depending on the day), freash fruit au naturel and something rather like scrambled eggs. We're talking convenient here--not gourmet. Pick up some cheese, smoked salmon, quiche--what-you-will--to suplement and you'll be good enough. The service was very good from all staff, both helpful and courteous. The room was clean, well lit and warm enough, though the little wall heater might bother light sleepers. No extra pillows or blanket in the closet, but then we had no need of them. The large louvers on our window opened to a view of rooftops below and the Pacific beyond. This is an older hotel, built up the hillside which results in a confusing layout and ground level access on the first and . . . ah . . . 3rd or 4th floor--I forget since we were on the 2nd. Also, being coastal, there is a little mustiness to the room which improves with airing out and does not improve coming back after spending the day gadding about. Getting all the cons out of the way: our room had no microwave or fridge, the bed was harder than we care for and the noise from the bathrooms next door and above could be alarming. A small coffee pot with drinkable coffee (tea, envelope cocoa) was in the bathroom--OK, not the best place for it, I agree. Location is very good with just enough parking on a November weekend and ample during the week. The Forge in the Forest is just across the street and Vesuvio is a few steps farther on the corner @ 6th. A convenient little market is almost next door. Honestly, if you can navigate the capricious sidewalks, you can't want for fine dining, wine tasting, unique shopping--whatever pleases you--within a half-dozen Carmel blocks. AAA rate weekdays made this a bargain for the location.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights which is just about long enough, thin walls and noisy plumbing, but room was clean and bed comfy, ideal location for Monterey whale watching ,17 mile drive and the big sur.lots of places to eat and great beach.

Room Tip: Ask for room on top floor for great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I've stayed in several Carmel motels, inns and hotels. This, hands down, was the very worst among them. In fairness, I have a suspicion that if you stay on the third, fourth or fifth floors which comprise the newer half of the property you will have a different experience. since I didn't, I can only guess.

Remember, this was our fourth stop on our "Coastal Tour of Best Westerns" which started in Ventura, then Santa Barbara, then Cambria and now Carmel. We paid $90, $170, $210 respectively, so I was really looking forward to Carmel at an all in price of about $225. Gosh, was I disappointed.

First the front desk: The gentlemen who greeted us (or, actually, did NOT greet us), could not have been more disengaged from a customer service aspect. There was no welcome, there was no smile, there wasn't even a hint of chit chat (do you have dinner plans? have you visited Carmel before?). Nothing. Just a "here's your room" and a slim explanation on how to find it.

Well, perhaps they knew they were giving me the stinky room on the 2nd floor. We decided that it was late in the day and we got last pick, because the room smelled like it hadn't been aired out in months. My fault, entirely, that I did not march back down to the desk and say "unacceptable." Yup, my fault entirely. Instead, we opened the windows to discover that we were only a few feet about the next door restaurant's exhaust fans. No sleeping with the windows open for us tonight! The room was small and oddly decorated with chairs pushed into small spaces between the tv armoire (which was off center of everything, so I'm not sure how they expected you to watch tv unless you stood in the middle of the room). But, and the experience was over for me at this point, the carpet was filthy: dirty and with huge stains. Folks, this is exactly when you retreat to the front desk and say "oh,no, not THAT room." My only excuse is that I wasn't interested in engaging the disengaged front desk staff. A poor excuse. Yes, I know it's Carmel -- been there lots and lots -- but if Santa Barbara and Cambria can pull off cleaner, better furnished rooms for less money, then somebody in Carmel is just -- oh, how shall i say it --"putting it" to the tourists. Ugh.

Thankfully Carmel delivers consistently on charm, shopping and food, so the rest of the night was a good balance to the (horrible/awful) room.

In the morning, I popped upstairs to check on the breakfast room. Eeek. I didn't make it to see the food because the overall ambiance of the room itself was so -- uh, depressing. Cold, bare, undecorated, so very unwelcoming. This after three delightful Best Western breakfast rooms in the prior three towns. Really, Carmel, if Ventura can put out a fabulous spread in an adorable spot, you can add some color and texture to make this feel less like a hospital canteen.

Guess what? I won't be staying there again.

[note: I will say that the bathroom was recently renovated and perfectly acceptable. the smallest of all the bathrooms and the least expensive of the renovations of the four best westerns I visited, but still cute in a cramped Carmel sort of way...]

Room Tip: The motel location is great. As noted, rooms on 3,4 and 5 are probably great -- the higher the floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We have stayed at this Best Western 3 times before. It has a great location, rooms with ocean views, which are hard to get in Carmel, and a friendly staff. Negative points are that the rooms are very dated with an eclectic group of furniture. The breakfast is mediocre and when we went down to breakfast on Friday morning, there were no eggs or bacon and after waiting about 5 minutes decided to go to a restaurant. But we would stay here again because of the location, rooms with views and clean rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Room 9 in the Best Western Plus in Carmel California is a very noisy room. The walls are paper thin in that you can hear the people all around you talking, slamming door and the television. You can also hear the people above walking back and forth on the squeaky floor.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The hotel was conveniently located in the center of Carmel, which made it very easy to walk to the shops and restaurants. The hotel was well maintained both inside and outside. The décor of the room, however, could have been updated a bit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn

Address: Junipero Street between Fifth and Sixth Street, PO Box 3715, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#13 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Hotel Carmel
Best Western Carmel
Carmel Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.