We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Junipero Street between Fifth and Sixth Street, PO Box 3715, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #14 of 21 hotels in Carmel
Folsom, California
2 reviews
“Lovely stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Spent the last two nights in Carmel at the Best Western. We enjoyed our stay. We had a king room with a view on 5 th floor. Beautiful view. Room was very clean and good size with updated & newly remodeled bathroom. Breakfast was adequate but needs improvement on the eggs & bacon. Staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    209
    77
    21
    18
See reviews for
101
268
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed in Carmel on Sept. 14 & 15. Our room had an ocean view but we were quite a distance from the ocean. We watched the sunset from our balcony and I was beautiful. The hotel was very clean. The only disappointment was that the rooms were a little tired. The beds/bedding and furniture need to be updated. The bathrooms have been updated. We paid around $200 a night, which was one of the most expensive hotel costs for our 11 day trip to California. The breakfast which was included is always nice. Carmel is a lovely town and we hope to visit there again.

Room Tip: I always ask for an upgrade at every hotel I visit at no extra cost. Sometimes you can get a room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, OH
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Our stay in Carmel was short however we enjoyed our stay at the Carmel Bay View Inn. The room was very spacious and the bedding was clean, the beds comfortable. The bath room was very large and had a granite counter top. Our room came with a mini fridge too. The breakfast room was very nice and large. There was also tables outside on a small patio. The breakfast was very good - we had eggs and sausage and a large assortment of breads, cereal and muffins. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want an ocean view you have to reserve a king suite. Our queen only had a view of the roof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillian, Alabama
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We just had one night in Carmel and limited time. Knowing we would not spend much time in a hotel room, we wanted to find a place with reasonable rates that was clean, comfortable and within walking distance to some good restaurants. This was a good find if these are your requirements. The check-in staff was very personable, the room clean, and the bed comfy. They even had a decent a la carte breakfast spread included in the rate. We opted for the cheaper room, but I think there are some that even have a view of the bay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. Check in and service was fine but the room is very outdated. We were in room 248 I believe so not sure if other rooms have been updated or not. Bed was a little too firm and sheets so so. View was fantastic (got the ocean view king suite) and it was clean but looks like original carpet and furnishings. Shower water pressure was very weak as well. Carmel is pricey so this was the only place that looked like a good walking location with a view that was in our budget ($245/night).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Have stayed at several Best Western Hotels and had good experiences in clean, well-appointed rooms. This was by far the worst - but cost the most. Good location, good staff, poorly appointed room. No mini-fridge ($200 per night!); poorly furnished room, huge bathroom with no counter space, non-functioning window (we like fresh air). It was expensive and really not worth it. We will stay elsewhere on our next visit to the Monterey Peninsula.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We have just enjoyed a very comfortable stay at this hotel. We had a 2 room suite (room 72) & a standard (room 10) for our party of 5 adults. Both bathrooms had obviously been recently replaced and were spotless. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. Both teams of front desk personnel we encountered were polite and professional. We do not understand the recent poor reviews condemning this hotel. Our only criticisms would be the small size of the breakfast room, the paper plates & the plastic cutlery. Breakfast itself was plentiful and adequate. We have stayed here before, and we will definitely stay again should we be visiting the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn

Address: Junipero Street between Fifth and Sixth Street, PO Box 3715, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#12 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Hotel Carmel
Best Western Carmel
Carmel Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.