We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Other than the view and location to town just average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Junipero Street between Fifth and Sixth Street, PO Box 3715, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
Carlsbad, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Other than the view and location to town just average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. Check in and service was fine but the room is very outdated. We were in room 248 I believe so not sure if other rooms have been updated or not. Bed was a little too firm and sheets so so. View was fantastic (got the ocean view king suite) and it was clean but looks like original carpet and furnishings. Shower water pressure was very weak as well. Carmel is pricey so this was the only place that looked like a good walking location with a view that was in our budget ($245/night).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    222
    80
    22
    18
See reviews for
111
277
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Napa, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Have stayed at several Best Western Hotels and had good experiences in clean, well-appointed rooms. This was by far the worst - but cost the most. Good location, good staff, poorly appointed room. No mini-fridge ($200 per night!); poorly furnished room, huge bathroom with no counter space, non-functioning window (we like fresh air). It was expensive and really not worth it. We will stay elsewhere on our next visit to the Monterey Peninsula.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We have just enjoyed a very comfortable stay at this hotel. We had a 2 room suite (room 72) & a standard (room 10) for our party of 5 adults. Both bathrooms had obviously been recently replaced and were spotless. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. Both teams of front desk personnel we encountered were polite and professional. We do not understand the recent poor reviews condemning this hotel. Our only criticisms would be the small size of the breakfast room, the paper plates & the plastic cutlery. Breakfast itself was plentiful and adequate. We have stayed here before, and we will definitely stay again should we be visiting the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We were only in Carmel briefly as an overnight stop on our drive down the coast. We turned up quite late but check in was quick and easy. The room was really comfortable and well presented - the bed was so cosy! It was a shame that we didn't stay here longer. The breakfast was good. The hotel was located near to restaurants and the shops and wasn't too far from the beach.

My one moan would be that we weren't able to park in the hotel when we arrived but the member of staff on reception was helpful in saying that it would be ok to park until 10 am the next day on the road and since we were leaving the next day it didn't really matter. Other than that I would highly recommend here as a place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cerritos, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Beautiful hotel in excellent location. Within easy walking distance of all the stores and eateries. Great service. Breakfast needs an upgrade. Sausage and eggs were not tasty. Not enough food available for the large crowd of guests.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taos
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

good location. soom rooms very noisy by street. Try to reserve a room in the back. Reserved very late and was happy with location, but too bad about room too close to street. This is all I have to say, but can't post with less than 200 characters. Is this good enough?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Hotel staff was very friendly. Great room with a fireplace and large bathroom. Clean comfortable bed sheets and blanket. Bed was also comfortable. Was in walking distance of all the Ocean Ave shopping that I love. Very quiet, didn't have any noisy hotel guests or traffic noise. Close enough to the beach to enjoy it but far enough so it wasn't terribly cold or windy. Was definitely the best hotel I have stayed in in quite a while and I will definitely be coming back soon to enjoy another stay at this location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn

Address: Junipero Street between Fifth and Sixth Street, PO Box 3715, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#11 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Hotel Carmel
Best Western Carmel
Carmel Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.