We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Little Town But Bring A Flashlight!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Junipero Street between Fifth and Sixth Street, PO Box 3715, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Quaint Little Town But Bring A Flashlight!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed here on my 7 week road trip across Canada & the U.S. Hadn't booked ahead so I was relieved when they had a room available when I asked at the front desk. Staff was very friendly and helpful with checking in and suggestions on where to dine. This place is built on the side of a hill with ample free parking on the premises...something that is rare in Carmel. My room was on the ground floor with a nice gas fireplace and spotless bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and I had no problem sleeping even though my room was close to the street. Negotiating the streets with your car is another matter entirely...there are no traffic lights in Carmel that I saw...only 4 way stop signs all over the place that everyone seems to get to at the same time...then inch your way forward once the pedestrians have crossed in front of you. It's worse at night because there are no street lights either that I could see! What there is everywhere are thousands of those miniature white Christmas tree lights around every bush, store front, and centre road divider. One of the locals told me to bring a flashlight with me for navigating back to my hotel at night and I thought he was just kidding at first but now I know he was serious. So I parked my car and just walked down to the beach the next morning and saw some of the most beautiful sights on my trip...especially the breaking waves and that B&B on the main drag that looked like something out of an English countryside...everybody including me was stopping and taking pictures of that B&B with it's incredible gardens on the corner lot! Carmel is a beautiful little town that is best enjoyed on a walking tour to take in the ambience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    309
    117
    33
    22
See reviews for
153
410
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch Harbor, Alaska
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

we Stayed here 2 nights had a great room with a nice relaxing veiw of the city and the ocean nice in room fireplace hotel was great .Only downsides i had was upon check in at 230 was told hot water would be off for a hour called back at 5 and was told the same in a hour went out to dinner (un-showered, un-shaved ) came back to room around 830 still no hot water called down to office was told the same finally around 930 hot water came on .But it was okay like i said still had a great time and room was nice.. Would recommend this hotel to everyone .The rooms and grounds was very clean

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Helpful & friendly staff. Wifi worked great for us. Had a great balcony overlooking the town with ocean view. Tremendous sunsets! Breakfast was great. Stayed in two different rooms as we liked Carmel so much we went back to the same hotel. The room with the fireplace was bigger and had a beautiful open gas fireplace!! and the balcony!!! Walked everywhere! Carmel is an amazing town to explore.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed in Nov at the Carmel Bay View Inn. We generally stay here about once a year and love the location. You are right in the heart of Carmel Village with easy walks to any shop or restaurant.That is especially nice, due to the high gas prices now, you can just park the car and walk! The rates in the off season are great, Carmel can be quite pricey, but we find from Nov thru Feb normally the rates are very affordable. The Inn's employees have always been very nice, knowledgeable about the area and accomodating to our needs. Landscaping is always pretty, the pool looks inviting and the fireplace is great on cold evenings. We will continue to use this inn for our future trips and have no problem referring it to our friends and family.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed one night in standard Queen size room. Older style but very clean, comfortable with gas fireplace in convenient location to explore town on foot. Loved all the flowers. Breakfast was a nice bonus for this reasonably priced property.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The only good thing about our suite (#70) was that the bathroom and bedrooms were very clean.This Best Western Plus was expensive and not as advertised. There was no wifi in room, the "hot" breakfast was inadequate,the front desk staff was surly and unhelpful, and we were kept waiting while they were on personal cell phones or talking to each other. The room had mismatched and old furniture and the rug was old and frayed. The only way out to the street from the room was through a narrow passageway with bags of mulch piled up, landscaping plants and a trash can partly blocking it, some stairs led to eroded and rocky hill side (dangerous) and should have been blocked off. The lobby was being cleaned at 8am when guests were trying to use wifi (since it only worked in the lobby). This complaint is my first in 23 years of travel and hotel stays. If we had a choice we would not have stayed, but with our arrival time on a Sat. that was booked full everywhere we stayed, we did not use the front room of our suite, preferring to sit outside, even with our view obstructed by the roof of the rooms below.

Room Tip: Do not choose #70 - it has an obstructed view, awlful common room and is too expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed on a Saturday night and were pleasantly surprised at how quiet the room was. Conveniently located and reasonably priced, considering it's Carmel! Not the place you'd chose for a splurge, but fine if you're just passing through.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#11 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,280 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 465 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#17 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#20 of 23 in Carmel
3.5 of 5 stars 330 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#7 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 372 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn

Address: Junipero Street between Fifth and Sixth Street, PO Box 3715, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Carmel
#12 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#13 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Hotel Carmel
Best Western Carmel
Carmel Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.