We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Junipero Street between Fifth and Sixth Street, PO Box 3715, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
england
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Our room had a lovely view of Carmel Bay and was in a good location close to shops and restaurants.
Comfortable room and good value for this expensive town.
I could not fault the hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    248
    88
    23
    19
See reviews for
116
311
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is in the middle of it all. The rooms on the 5th floor have sea views and have been redone to include a gas fireplace. The bathrooms which are new are a bit small but clean and new.
Next door is Bruno's - a stop n shop with fresh sandwiches and beer/ wine. The location is great, very convienient to the shops and great restaurants!
Parking is tight as it is everywhere in Carmel. Breakfast is provided, it is basic but wil get you going.

Carmel is not to be missed, a little town that really lives up to the hype!!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The Carmel Bay View is conveniently located at the edge of of the charming shopping/gallery area of Carmel by the Sea. Perched on the side of a hill, it has easy parking, an elevator, and a variety of accommodations. The musty smell as soon as I opened the door was distressing but I opened the windows and left them open while I was out around town and out for dinner. The decor is very dated. The room and bathroom were spotless but occasioned one of my pet peeves in "Green" hotels. Despite following the rules of NOT putting the little notice on my sheets and hanging up my towels, I returned to find fresh sheets and towels--as well as soap. Someone needs to have a talk with housekeeping!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel by the sea
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The place is good value for Carmel as this place is expensive central, but it is a great little village that I will visit again. The views from the floor are suppost to be good, and you would only get noise from the rooms next to you. The main downside with the place is very thin walls, someone sneezed in the room on our left and a bless you came from the room on our right. The room did not have a fridge and the TV was small, it did have good bathroom layout and the shower did not flood the floor as other places we have stayed.
The breakfast was really good and they let me take a tray to wife who was not well.
The staff recommended the forge resturant across from the motel and it was great but did not have a handle on golf cost or when you might get a round at pebble beach, but they did have a number to cal.
If visiting Carmel again, I would book direct and get a top floor or pool level room, or check out a couple of the small B&B

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed here on a trip up the coast and "splurged" on an ocean view room- glad we did! We were on the top floor and had a great view of the bay. The room was clean and good-sized, had a mini fridge, but had no safe. Was in a great location, close to all the shops and restaurants but also easy access to Highway 1. The breakfast was good- enjoyed it on our terrace!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Although we've stayed at this motel several times over the past 10 years, it gets worse every year. Although the rates are fairly reasonable for Carmel, the rooms are showing their age. Our TV didn't work, there were no matches to light the fireplace, and only bare amenities. We'll stay elsewhere next trip.

Room Tip: Find lodging elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty Hawk, North Carolina
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

You can walk to everything in Carmel from this hotel in about 5 min. There is a small store next to the hotel (I think it is the only one in town) for beer, wine, snacks,food and sandwiches... They have free parking, an elevator and free internet. The wireless internet in our room didn't work that great and we were in one of the rooms that was not hard wired for wired internet. The rooms are very clean and they have gas fireplaces. The free breakfast is good. In my opinon this is a 3 1/2 star out of 5 stars hotel, if you are looking for a good value this is the hotel for you. If you are looking for a 5 star hotel this is not the hotel for you and it was never intended to be but if you stay here you will get your moneys worth...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn

Address: Junipero Street between Fifth and Sixth Street, PO Box 3715, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#13 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Hotel Carmel
Best Western Carmel
Carmel Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.