We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Junipero Street between Fifth and Sixth Street, PO Box 3715, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BEST VALUE RATE BOOK NOW
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great views!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed here on a trip up the coast and "splurged" on an ocean view room- glad we did! We were on the top floor and had a great view of the bay. The room was clean and good-sized, had a mini fridge, but had no safe. Was in a great location, close to all the shops and restaurants but also easy access to Highway 1. The breakfast was good- enjoyed it on our terrace!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Although we've stayed at this motel several times over the past 10 years, it gets worse every year. Although the rates are fairly reasonable for Carmel, the rooms are showing their age. Our TV didn't work, there were no matches to light the fireplace, and only bare amenities. We'll stay elsewhere next trip.

Room Tip: Find lodging elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skylrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty Hawk, North Carolina
Level Contributor
176 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

You can walk to everything in Carmel from this hotel in about 5 min. There is a small store next to the hotel (I think it is the only one in town) for beer, wine, snacks,food and sandwiches... They have free parking, an elevator and free internet. The wireless internet in our room didn't work that great and we were in one of the rooms that was not hard wired for wired internet. The rooms are very clean and they have gas fireplaces. The free breakfast is good. In my opinon this is a 3 1/2 star out of 5 stars hotel, if you are looking for a good value this is the hotel for you. If you are looking for a 5 star hotel this is not the hotel for you and it was never intended to be but if you stay here you will get your moneys worth...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAPTRON83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This hotel EXCEEDED my expectations. The room was immaculate. It looked as though NO ONE had EVER stayed in it. The fireplace was an exciting unexpected bonus. There was a little market next door full of goodies. We were quoted a price over the phone, and when we got there, the price dropped by 30 dollars! I strongly suggest that if you are to visit Carmel, stay here.

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 18. PERFECT location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieRdmn0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Center
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Stayed at a busy time of year so slim pickin's on a value room. This is a cut above the other Best Western in town and close to restaurants and the main drag, but our room was quiet and comfortable. An older property that I'm sure has been remodeled more than once. Staff was friendly and there's a good store/deli right next door. Only disappointment was the breakfast... better to walk down the street for that. (Em-Lee's was excellent)

Room Tip: Maybe get a room with nobody upstairs from you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ynez, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Location is great, right on the edge of downtown, close to the park and a little deli-market next door. Room is average, fireplace a nice touch for atmosphere, not sure its helps when its cold. Staff was very friendly and professional.

We were next to pool with was noisy. Street sweepers started before 6 in the morning on the monday we were there

Room Tip: higher floors have a better view, we were next to pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bmcuscgr94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We are traveling with our nine year old twins. Booked this a little late. All they had were two rooms next to each other on the second floor. No connecting door. That wasn't a problem. My husband and I each took one of the twins, so there was just two of us in each room. We had booked for three nights. We arrived around 4-5pm and brought our things in. There was a bit of back and forth between rooms sorting and we were, of course, talking. The kids were excited but we were not making any unusual or very loud noises. No jumping, stomping, etc.
All of a sudden there was a loud pounding on the floor obviously from the ceiling below followed by a call from the front desk telling us the people below were complaining we were talking too loud. We were surprised but made every effort to be very quiet. We dressed for dinner, went out returning at about 8pm. Not late. There was virtually no conversation. Only my son and I were in the room. I was in the bathroom. He was working on his computer on the bed. Suddenly there was another loud pounding on the floor from below followed by the phone telling us we were making too much noise! But we weren't making any! At that point we were afraid to breathe. We tried whispering as we read a book together but felt too uncomfortable so we gave up and turned out the light. We then lay there listening to the people below talk and heard their TV. The sound level seemed normal so we did not complain. We also listened to plumbing, banging shower and other doors and the like.
The bed was uncomfortable. It seemed to be a very small queen. I awoke at 2am and was awake until 5 listening to snoring from all around! Plumbing too. The walls were absolutely paper thin!
We got uo early, packed and left. We are now at a "normal" hotel with some insulation in the walls. We travel a good deal and have never been anywhere that we could not have a normal conversation without being heard next door - or where we had to listen to everyone else in the building.
Some reviews refer to a smell. It seems to be very strong cleanser that they use. I didn't like it either. Room was clean, small but cute. No frig which we did not like. Great location OK parking if you grab a space early.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Hapitrails2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 562 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#11 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,392 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#17 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 483 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#8 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 399 reviews
4.1 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn

Address: Junipero Street between Fifth and Sixth Street, PO Box 3715, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Carmel
#13 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#14 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Hotel Carmel
Best Western Carmel
Carmel Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing