We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT CHOICE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Junipero Street between Fifth and Sixth Street, PO Box 3715, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“PERFECT CHOICE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

This was an excellent choice, We asked for a large quiet room and stayed four nights, using the hotel for walking tours in Point Lobos State Park (remarkable) and visits to nearby places. Monterey is hardly worth the visit, ALTHOUGH, to be fair, we are not aquarium or zoo lovers.
Joanna Napolito runs a iafd back and exemplary small hotel. The cleanliness is unmatched, even the towels had that pure white color I find only in Europe. The breakfasts are not really for me, my breaking fast meal is quite different, but it seemed adequate or even good by the lights of the other guests, We can recommend this highly and were lucky and happy to have found it.

Room Tip: ASk for large room with bay view, we aere in room 67, I assume thos along side are similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    255
    92
    24
    19
See reviews for
120
326
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Ga
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Chose this hotel based on reviews. I should have paid more attention to
the bad reviews. Stayed in room 54 and the odor was terrible. Left windows
open for several hours and still did not help. My traveling companion did not want to
ask for another room, but I would have.

This is a very old property. I would advise you look somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, AZ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Good location to walk around Carmel, one block off Ocean Ave. The room was clean with a comfortable bed. We loved the fireplace as it was chilly. The extra money for an ocean view not advised. Oceanview was a stretch, if I stood on the balcony and leaned to the left on my tip toes I might have a peak of the ocean. Linens on the bed a little worn, with small hole. Would have liked more towels also. Bathroom clean and has been updated. We appreciated breakfast being included, as everything in Carmel is pricey.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I have no idea why this place isn't rated higher. It was clean, had a cozy fireplace, and was within walking distance to shopping, restaurants, and the beautiful white beach. I hope I can return to this "fairy tale" community again soon. If you need a place to relax, this is it! It is the perfect mix for folks who love the mountains and the water. Aaahhhh!!!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, CA
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Book a top floor room. Room 60 is one of the best but near it will do. Great view of the ocean over the tree tops. From room 60 you can see Point Lobos. Nice continental breakfast plus rare off street parking. We used to stay at Carmel Sands but not anymore. Bay View in is our Carmel choice every time.

Room Tip: Ask for room 60 it's the best. Two bathrooms, two balconies, two TVs, plus a wet bar, fire plac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We attend the Pebble Beach Concours week of events every August and for the last 15 years we have stayed at the Bay View. The manager Joanna is so helpful and always takes care of the 20+ of us who stay there as a group. We always stay in Room 22, overlooking the pool. Love that room. We went this last weekend and stayed in rooms 46 & 47 which I have to say have the nicest views and a lovely patio for each. The central location of this property make walking to wherever you may want to go in town a breeze. Breakfast included.

Room Tip: Room 22-25 are awesome and overlook the pool. Rooms 46 & 47 have a great view and patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We made the fun trip to Carmel to surprise a friend for his 40th birthday. We thought about staying in the hotel where he and his wife were staying, but we didn't want to bump into him too early and ruin his surprise. So, we did the next best thing - and picked a hotel that was steps away from Casanova's, the restaurant where we were all meeting for dinner. Carmel is hilly and generally commands lots of walking and so forth, so since I wanted to be able to wear a pair of heels to dinner, this worked out great. We didn't have overly high expectations for the hotel, but as it turned out they exceeded our expectations tremendously. Our room was spacious, with a cozy gas fireplace, a large private deck and a gorgeous view of the beach as well as the quaint little town. It was perfect!
Even with all of those nice features, the one thing that still stands out in my mind for that hotel was how beautifully clean and polished they kept their glass. From the shower door to the sliding glass door, there was not one single spot in sight. Needless to say, with standards like that, the rest of the room was spotless as well, but the way they kept their glass - I will never forget.
Before we checked out, we stopped to chat with the head of housekeeping, to find out how they accomplished such sparkling glass. I was quite honored when she shared her special secret with us!
All in all, it was a superb weekend that of course, ended too quickly. Jason was very surprised.
We would happily stay at the Carmel Bay View Inn again.

Room Tip: Rooms on a higher floor, toward the back of the hotel that face the ocean and have a deck are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn

Address: Junipero Street between Fifth and Sixth Street, PO Box 3715, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#12 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Hotel Carmel
Best Western Carmel
Carmel Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.