We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE Best B & B in Carmel!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea View Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sea View Inn to your Saves list
Sea View Inn
Camino Real Btwn 11th & 12th, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 28 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
seattle
1 review
“THE Best B & B in Carmel!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

We stayed at the Seaview Inn in Carmel and it was perfect! The inn is located a block from the beach and is so quiet, calming and a perfect get away. The inn is very clean too! What made the trip so special was the Inn keeper and staff. They were so accommodating especially helping us pick restaurants and things to do. They also made a perfect breakfast and made us eggs to order. Wonderful coffee and tea in the afternoon and wine and cheese at night. Can you say HEAVEN! We'll be back every year! Don't look anywhere else but the Seaview Inn. I've stayed at many places in Carmel and now call the Seaview Inn my home away from home!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    46
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
9
163
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

My Best Friend brought me to Carmel to celebrate my 40th Birthday and we were fortunate to stay at the Sea View Inn. We were only a few blocks from the beach and had a great time. Breakfast consisted of yogurt, eggs to order, english muffins, fresh fruit and granola - you couldn't ask for anything more. We sat in front of the fire having coffee every morning and was able to socialize with people from all over the world. The atmosphere is comfortable and feels just like home. We stayed in a queen size room at the very top of the stairs with a shared bathroom and found it to be perfect for all of our needs - kind of like sleeping in a tree house. We will be making the Sea View Inn our yearly trip and will be referring this lovely Inn to our friends.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2010

This was the best B&B of our trip. The inn is beautiful and the bedroom we booked was lovely - spacious and comfortable. The bathroom (soley for our use) was right across the passage and had been refurbished. Breakfast was excellent and HOT, strong coffee was offered. (Luke warm coffee had been a major feature of our trip up to this point). The inn is roughly a 10-15 minute stroll from the main town and we received good recommendations from the lady behind the desk for dinner reservations. They also have free WiFi thoughout the B&B. We wished we had booked to stay a little longer!
In the afternoon they offer coffee/tea with the most delicious cookies ever! In the evening they offer wine, cheese, cold meat as a pre-dinner option. This proved to be an ideal spot to use as a base for our exploration of the local area.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2010

Stayed for 1 night at start of May during our honeymoon as we used the sea view inn as our first stop over on our 3 day road trip after leaving San Fran for LA. We had stayed in San Fran for 3 nights prior and our other stop offs on the way were going to be Santa Barbara & Santa Monica.

Stayed in room 9 which was beautiful and had a real charming character. I was concerned it may be a bit poky having booked up some luxury hotels but there was plenty space and the bathroom was really nicely presented. Loved the big bay window and to hear the faint sound of the waves at night gave me one of my best sleeps on our trip.

The service was excellent, we were greated by Brenda who was orig from Glasgow which was kinda nice as you realise how small a world we live in when you travel so far to meet someone from down the road. The breakfast was lovely, selection of cereal, fruit, rolls and you could have toast or english muffin. We really enjoyed the cheese and wine in the evening as we sat downstairs reading through all the local restaurant menus and local things to do as well as using the wi-fi to check tripadvisor reviews of places to eat.

Stayed in 8 different hotels / motels during our honeymoon as we were 6 days in California, 3 days in Vegas and 4 days in Miami and the sea view inn was our 2nd favourite accomodation (beaten only by the viceroy, miami and we also stayed in some other 4/5 star places on the way) but Carmel was our favourite place to visit as its such a gorgeous wee town. Loved the walk into the town checking out all the houses (albeit walk home after dinner on ocean ave seemed a wee bit long and and with no street lights on this is why i knocked back a star on location)and as a golfer i couldnt think of anywhere better to live with some of the worlds best courses on your doorstop and the beach is picture book

Overall i couldnt praise this place higher, gorgeous wee inn that oozes everything authentic california has to offer.....would love to return some day

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010

We just returned from three nights at the Sea View Inn. I would recommend this inn and would go back. We stayed in Room 7 which was spacious, beautifully decorated and had a brand new bathroom with heated floors. The room was quiet and we slept great!

The staff was very nice and very helpful. Breakfast isn't anything fancy, but it was fresh, convenient and included with the room price. My husband has celiac disease and requires a gluten free diet. I emailed them ahead of time to see what was included in the breakfast and he decided to bring his own cereal along. He was satisfied and staff kept asking to make sure that he had enough to eat. They also talked to us about their attempts to cater to gluten free diners (probably because of the recent review on here that I just read!). Really, our only complaint about breakfast is that it is a little late. It is served from 9-10. If you want to get up and get going, or if you're on a different time zone, this is too late!

We enjoyed the tea and cookies in the afternoon and the wine and cheese in the evening. This was a nice touch as we were in and out of the inn while exploring Carmel.

The beach is three blocks away and downtown Carmel is just a little further. It is an easy walk and it was nice to leave the car at the inn and explore on foot. We enjoyed taking different streets back and forth to the Carmel so we could enjoy all of the different charming houses in the area. Also, street parking near the inn was never a problem.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

We were absolutely delighted with our stay at the Sea View Inn. Beautiful and imaginative decor, sensibly priced, and located in a residential area away from the busy center of Carmel, yet close enough to walk to the center and to the sea coast. Staff were extremely friendly, wine and cheese and breakfast were excellent, with good opportunities to chat with other guests, who were diverse and interesting. Our visit was topped off by going dancing (no cover charge) to the sounds of "Wally's Swing World" at Clint Eastwood's place not far away, and during the course of the evening, Clint actually stopped by for a drink!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

We checked into Room 7 and had a perfect stay from start to finish. The room was immaculately clean. The bed was inviting and comfortable. The decor was cozy and charming. The breakfast was plentiful and Margot's service was impeccable. The room was better than the photos on the inn's website and we'd go back in a flash. The location was wonderfully residential - a few blocks from the crowds of Ocean Avenue. Go!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea View Inn

Address: Camino Real Btwn 11th & 12th, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Sea View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea View Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.