We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Retreat in Carmel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea View Inn

Save Saved
You added Sea View Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sea View Inn
El Camino Real btwn 11th & 12th, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Spring Fling! 20% OFF!!
Ranked #6 of 31 Carmel B&B and Inns
Seattle
1 review
“Perfect Retreat in Carmel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2009

We stayed at the Sea View Inn during our honeymoon in January 2009 and had a fabulous time. The location was perfect for walking to the beach and walking into downtown Carmel. We got lucky and had 80 degree weather during our stay (outrageous for January!), and enjoyed sunsets on the beach, early morning walks, and the beautiful 17-mile Drive. Our hosts at the Sea View Inn were wonderful, providing us with delicious wine and appetizers during our stay. We stayed in Room 9, which was absolutely charming and perfect for a romantic getaway. I will defnitely return to the Sea View Inn on subsequent visits to Carmel - We loved it!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    38
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
133
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

We thought the Sea View Inn was a quaint bed and breakfast establishment (some american inns are really hotels) with a friendly and homely Californian spin. Our room on the first night was on the top floor. It was a little narrow between the bed and the wall and didn't have a lot of storage. But it was more than adequate, very clean and comfortable. Our remaining nights were down a floor and the room there was terrific. The location is really good, we walked to the beach every morning before breakfast and what a beach!!!! It is walkable into the main boulevard as well, where the shops and restaurants are although you will need a torch if you are walking back after dark. Seaview does provide torches. Maybe we were lucky with our our fellow guests, or maybe it is the Seaview Inn and the cozy reception rooms and terrace that brings the best out of everyone but we really enjoyed the wine and cheese whilst chatting to people. Breakfast was a choice of juice, coffee cereals, fresh fruit, toast & muffins and coffee cake/banana bread. Ample help yourself portions. Margo and her team provide freshly toasted bread and muffins for you. Everyone at the Inn was extremely helpful and friendly. We would definitely return again and highly recommend this inn.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

We loved our stay at the Sea View inn. We had room 8 which has a private bathroom just across the hall . The room was very comfortable and Margot made us feel very welcome. It was an easy walk down to the beach whhere you coudl walk all the way to Pebble beach golf course, and not too far in theday to walk up into town.
Parking was easy outside.
Afternoon tea, evening cheese and wine and breakfast were all amazing - we loved every bit of it and only wish we coudldhave stayed longer.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

We really loved our 3 nights at the Sea View Inn. It was very difficult to drag myself away from the charming living room. All the small touches really added up. Afternoon tea or wine & cheese with the fire burning. Welcoming staff & owners passionate & helpful about the local area. Wonderful breakfast of fruit, yoghurt & special pastry of the day. Easy walk to the beach & about 15 minutes stroll to town. The Inn had the Aussie flag out for us the day we arrived, which was really lovely. Nothing was any trouble. Also very clean & a comfortable bed.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

My wife and I are frequent visitors to Carmel, having married at the historic Mission there. We have stayed at a number of different hotels and inns over the years (many of them very nice), but the Sea View Inn has been our overall favorite. It's just off the beaten path but still in the heart of Carmel, so you can enjoy a quieter location while remaining only 5 blocks off the main drag of Ocean Avenue. It's a small inn and doesn't have a lot of frills, but the price is right for the location and it's very comfortable. Only the smallest top-floor rooms have any view of the ocean, but you can hear it at night with your window open when it's warm enough. Breakfasts are delicious, the service is very friendly, and the house has a very cozy home-like feel to it. Highly recommended, but probably not for those looking for first-class amenities or who don't like a cozy, down-home sort of atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin, tx
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

My husband I stayed at the Sea View Inn for one night while travelling in California. It is located in a residential area within walking distance from the beach and shopping areas of Carmel. The inn was very comfortable with nice linens. A breakfast was provided in the morning with fruit, cereal, breads and pastries. In the evennig wine is available and cheese is set out for guests to enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

taken too long to do this review. what a beautiful place to stay. i was there on my birthday and i couldn't have picked a nicer place to stay. when we arrived at the guest house we were offered a cup of tea and directed to sit in the lovely front room.
the lady who owns the place was fantastic, very charming, friendly and helpful and genuine. it was genuine hospitality.
the room was one of the nicest we have ever stayed in, lots of character.
the location was great, only a minute from the beach and 5 mins to town, walking that is.
they even gave us torches for going out on the evening.
we will definately be back again to stay, hopefully next year.
forget staying anywhere else, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sea View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea View Inn

Also Known As:
Sea View Hotel Carmel
Sea View Hotel
Address: El Camino Real btwn 11th & 12th, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sea View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.